We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Lou Bequet

Lou Bequet
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Cogne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kilchberg, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

On short notice we asked at our hotel for a restaurant recommendation - it was Lou Bequet where we ended up. In every respect it was top - the food was outstanding - the service very friendly and capable to fulfill all our needs - the Chef, besides being an excellent cook has a good sense of humour and he helps to create a positiv athmospere. Wie will be back!

Helpful?
Thank luchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    181
    35
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best food within 200km of Chamonix”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This little roadside, mountain-homely restaurant is a total find; an absolute gem. Friendly, knowledgable service and good views...but the reason we went was for the food. It was gob-smacking, mind-blowing, fantastic; intricate presentation, generous portions and magnificent flavour.

Highlights were the salmon & pineapple starter, venison carpaccio with figs, cheese ravioli with potato sauce, blueberry with venison, hot fruit soup and crema de Cogne.

Top marks; I've rarely ever visited a restaurant where I've left wanting for nothing more.

105€ for three people, three courses each and a bottle of Prosecco.

Go!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomw_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The food is outstanding! This was one of the best meals we've ever had, worldwide! My family and I were so impressed, we cant wait to return!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LivMckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“My wife's favorite”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We ate in 3 restaurants during our stay in Cogne and this was my wife's favorite. We had the risotto and filet with a wonderful bottle of Sicilian red wine. The proprietor/owner spoke perfect English and did an excellent job of describing the menu and making some well targeted suggestions. For us it was a truly enjoyable 3 hour meal. As it is about 1 mile from the Hotel Bellevue you may find a car helpful, although in the summer it would also be a beautiful walk.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Lou Bequet is unremarkable to drive by, but the food is anything but. It was one of the best meals we've ever had, really outstanding. The food is creative in a simple way and the flavors are beautiful. The chef, whom we spoke with, was a finalist in an Italian cooking show at the time. This is a wonderful restaurant.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank BDPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Bequet also viewed

La Thuile, Valle d'Aosta
Avise, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to Lou Bequet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing