We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tonnellerie

La Tonnellerie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Hiersac, France
1 review
“Beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

I am surprised by some of the comments, I am often at La Tonnellerie, It's very nice in and especially out when the sun is out its lovely on the terrace!
I also went to a themed night it was elvis and beatles and it was BRILLIANT, the food was great and the portion size were more than enough, Stewart Hull is a brilliant singer and really knows how to get the crowd going!
Even the english lunches are lovely it's nice to have some real english food in france, its just a shame they have stopped it now, but then again they are right there isn't many good english summer foods :(
If you havent been there your mising out!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GemmaA16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    57
    21
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruffec
1 review
“Below average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Lots of people talked about this place, we went to a theme evening with a singer, the food was overpriced, service poor and spent a lot of money for frankly a disappointing evening. No free wine was given as per the menu and we left hungry.
Music also far too loud.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peakyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch out.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

This was our first visit to this restaurant. The setting is absolutly stunning along the Charente RIver. We went with friends for the "English Tuesday 12 euros menu" The starter was a scotch egg salad followed by chicken and ham pie and sherry trifle. The salad was ample and very nice. The pie was gorgeous and could not be faulted, however it was served with a spoonful of carrots and that was it..... What if you don't like carrots??? The sherry trifle was lovely. We did have to ask for wine glasses as they forgot to bring them out but overall besides the lack of accompaniment to the main the meal was very nice and the staff very pleasent.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cheznewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cognac, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

In August found out about this restaurant, with 2 adults and 1 child we had lunch here. The setting along the Charente is superb. If you want to sit outside, make sure you'll be on time because the terrace is very small. The lunch menu costs 12€ incl. a glass of wine, we never got. Kids menu also 12€ incl. a glass of something....; we never got. Some explanation..as aperitif we wanted a caraf of wine and kid a cola. Then we asked for the glass of wine which was in our menu and we didn't get it because they kept on saying that we already had our wine. Same went here with the children's drink. Very disappointing.
Food was average, nothing really special. Children's menu was not good and far too expensive. Starter 2 slices of meat with peppers (kids don't eat that), chicken nuggets with chips, but very very dry and very nice icecream.
Very focussed on British people. I will give it the benefit of the doubt.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarnac, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food, pretty location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We have been to La Tonnellerie for lunch 3 times since it re-opened in July and each time the food has been very good. Their 'menu du jour' - at €12 euros for 3 courses and a glass of wine - is good value and, although there is no choice, we have always enjoyed what we have been offered. The location is pretty, right by the Charente and close to the lock at Chateauneuf.

We have not yet been for dinner as there is no fixed-price evening menu and the a la carte prices are quite high.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chalky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tonnellerie also viewed

Chateauneuf-sur-Charente, Charente
Chateauneuf-sur-Charente, Charente
 
Chateauneuf-sur-Charente, Charente
 

Been to La Tonnellerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing