We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel zur Post garni
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Andechs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is the third time i have stayed at this hotel over the years and it just gets better every time.
The breakfast gets better every time with lots of different cheeses and meats, yogurts, fresh cakes and breads.
Rooms are fastidiously clean and tastefully decorated in the typical bavarian style.
The owners are friendly and obviously take pride in what they are doing

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the church tower as possible, it chimes every 15 minutes, or try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r1wantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 96 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

This hotel is in a superb location for visiting the Andechs Monastery area. It is a short walk to the Holy Mountain, and all the holy beer served there !!
The hotel is clean, the breakfast was the best we had in 11 days in Germany. We were in the second house, about 50 yards from the main hotel in an apartment setting for our 4 person family. Rooms were spacious, bathrooms clean and nice, and everything was very nice. The only comment would be the price was a bit higher than experienced most other places for bed and breakfasts, but was still reasonable and probably due to the superb location it offers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scattershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The room was absolutely clean and even if it was at the ground floor, I spent a couple of really quite nights there. The bathroom was newly furnished and clean. Breakfast is luxurious compared to most 3 star hotels. Location is really awesome, even if it could not be advisable for people interested in visiting Munich downtown or enjoying the nightlife. A couple of restaurants are in the nearby but they close pretty early in the evening (you can have a meal not later then 9pm).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salvy_aq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

The owner has a real sense of beauty and you can see her touch in everything from the gardens out front to the decor in the rooms. This was the nicest hotel of our entire 2 and a half weeks in Europe, and it was an excellent value. The room was enormous, fitted with everything one could need, and the bathroom was the same. The town is quiet; I don't think there is anything there for tourists other than the famous brewery. It was so peaceful we could hear the mooing of the cows in the barn down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRVLR1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We recently stayed one night at the Zur Post Hotel in Andechs, Bavaria. This family run hotel is delightful with large, clean, quiet rooms. The picture board in the hallway shows the massive project required to change this tired country inn into the pristine family hotel you now find. The inn is a short walk through the village from the famous Andechs Kloster. A large breakfast buffet is included and is served in a nicely decorated breakfast room on the first floor. The hotel also hosts a small Bavarian clothing store and meat market.
The friendly staff speaks limited English and we spoke virtually no German but this was not a big problem.
This cute Country Inn is the "real deal". You can hear the sounds of the country and catch an occasional whiff of silage on your stroll up the hill to the Kloster Andechs.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dakotah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Magichuelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andechs
1.8 mi away
Ammersee Hotel
Ammersee Hotel
#1 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
166 reviews
3.2 mi away
Der Obere Wirt zum Queri
2.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof Herrsching
Hotel Seehof Herrsching
#4 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chalet am Kiental
Chalet am Kiental
#2 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
62 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#6 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
34 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Starnberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zur Post garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zur Post garni

Address: Starnberger Str. 2, 82346 Andechs, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Andechs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Andechs
Price Range: $112 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zur Post garni 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel zur Post garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing