We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream of a stay...!”
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highfield House
Ranked #3 of 3 Kirknewton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Close to a quaint rail station in the charming village of Kirknewton, Highfield House was an easy 15 minute train ride from Edinburgh. Although in town, the high stone wall ensures privacy and makes one feel completely removed from the outside world! The beautiful grounds full of mature and stately trees, whimsical shrubbery, artful flower gardens and a fruitful, luscious and organic vegetable garden, made for quiet reading spots or peaceful strolls. The tennis courts beyond the main manse made me wish I had packed my racket! The house itself was a dream and felt quite surreal like I had been transported into a movie set. Beautifully appointed throughout, with the guestrooms and ensuites equipped with only the best of bedding, amenities and graceful little touches like local histories, nonfiction from Scotland and lovely juicy mysteries just made us feel spoiled. The room also came with a tea/coffee service and biscuits, a hairdryer, TV and DVD player and 2 carefullly chosen movies! The bathroom offered fluffy towels, baskets of toiletries and great heat and water pressure for shower or bath. Our lovely host and hostess were beyond reproach and completely approachable! While amazing portraits of their ancestors grace the walls of the dining room, Jillian is graciously cooking and serving you a full English breakfast and sharing her vast knowledge of the area and her vibrant sense of humor! Overall, I would have to say that this was a highlight of the trip for myself and my daughter. If you are going to Edinburgh in the future... take a moment and think about staying just 15 minutes out by train and having the experience of a lifetime at Highfield House...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V4mation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Highfield House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Highfield House in Kirknewton in June. It is a brief walk to the train station so it is convenient for taking the short ride into Edinbough. The accommodations are comfortable and the surroundings are lovely. Hostess Jill prepared delicious and hearty breakfasts which were served in a roomy and historic dining room. She and her husband were very gracious and very helpful in answering questions about travel and even providing various schedules. We highly recommend Highfield House for a delightful and reasonably priced stay while in Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kseable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We arrived in the afternoon but no one was home. After two land line phone calls and two mobile phone calls (at this stage it was 5pm) - none of which were returned we sought other accomodation.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank touring_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I stayed at Highfield house for two weeks during some work in Edinburgh and I found the whole experience very enjoyable. The house is lovely and there is lots of parking, and with the train station close by and the A71 going straight into Edinburgh the location is ideal. I would have liked to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SupraJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We had made a direct booking over the internet. Arrived early in the day to an empty house, went sightseeing and came back expecting someone to be home but alas no, no one was to be found.

Suggest if you are brave enough to continue with a booking you confirm several times to ensure that someone is there to greet you.

Found a very friendly establishment down the road "Glenalmond B & B" if you want to stay in this location.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank amotogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyoncar, owner at Highfield House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2010

I am sad about these reviews as in neither case was a final confirmed booking completed.. Our guests are most important to us and it is unfortunate that misunderstandings occur. In the previous review, an email offer was made and then the room was booked and confirmed by another guest telephoning. In this review no final confirmation had been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We spent our last night, September 22, 2006, at Highfield House in Kirknewton about 10 minutes from EDI airport. We were warmly greeted by Jill and her husband. We were shown to our rooms. The twin room was en suite and the double bed room had a bath across the hall which was not shared with anyone. Jill's husband did his best to help carry the luggage upstairs. The rooms were clean and bright; both Jill and her husband very friendly and helpful. Jill booked us at a pub for dinner and had directions written out. When we arrived back at the house, they had built a fire in the living room and had a table ready for us to play bridge....breakfast was delicious...we all ate well on this holiday! I would highly recommend staying here!

We toured the gardens in the morning..someone puts in a lot of work. They were lovely!
MMinteer Knoxville, TN

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bridgebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Thibault C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirknewton
4.0 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
6.4 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
544 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
300 reviews
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Address: Station Road, Kirknewton EH27 8BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Kirknewton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kirknewton
Price Range: $96 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Scotland/Kirknewton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing