We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirknewton
Certificate of Excellence
Cheslyn Hay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Not the first time I've been here and every time I've been it is for a conference. As a hotel it's great. The rooms are very comfortable as you come to expect for a Marriott. The food is good but what I noticed most of all was the friendly and excellent service the staff gave. As a county club it's got it all including a great golf course. As for the conference facilities they were very good as well. Looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    532
    260
    104
    55
See reviews for
366
638
37
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on a business trip. Everything about the place is superb. Lovely grounds, decor and large spacious rooms. Food of an excellent standard and probably the finishing touch would be the staff. Everyone smiling, helpful and professional throughout. Hope to return for leisure trip soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank zacg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked the hotel to use up some Tesco vouchers not really knowing what we were booking but just wanting to go to Edinburgh.
First impressions were great the reception block is a beautiful old building as shown in most photos of the hotel. When we got in the staff were very attentive. They were offering sample snacks so we tried some while we waited to check in. they were very nice and they gave us some to take up to the room. Not a long wait to book in as 3 very efficient staff members were on duty. They offered to take our bags to the room but we didn’t need assistance which was good.
Room was lovely very clean and well equipped.
The hotel is big and spread out so perhaps you should mention when booking if you have mobility issues so you are not put too far away.
We had an evening meal at the hotel 1 night which was lovely but not cheap.
Breakfast was brilliant, everything you could ask for in a nice setting overlooking the golf course.
Staff in the restaurant are all very attentive but not over bearing, they just seem to be there when you want them.
We didn’t try the leisure facilities or the golf course but did have a look around and both seem excellent.
The location is good just on the edge of the city and on a good bus link if you don’t want to take the car in to Edinburgh. Park and Ride 3miles away at £3.50 per person which last all day multi use on the companies busses and parking is free.
To summarise the hotel is lovely well worth 4 stars. The price is not cheap but it is value for money.
As a tip if you do want a cheaper meal, across the road from the hotel is Ratho Park which is part of the Crown Carveries group so good cheap honest carvery food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanC498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was on a trip to Livingston, and this property was close by my destination. I was swept of my feet by the hotel appearance, and old castle. Rooms are comfortable and staff is friendly.
Nice on site pub, and there was a large restaurant and recreational activities (which I did not try).
Would want to come back for leisure one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sclausen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Well presented rooms and restaurant. Food of a good standard. A long way from reception to bedrooms, including a number of stairs - beware! Overall a good venue for a family break just out of the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 696robm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed in a junior suite for my wife's 40th on the DBB rate, we also had afternoon tea. The room was excellent, food in the Pentland Restaurant amazing and service first class. Leisure facilities good, all round a very good stay, great value for money and will stay again!

Room Tip: Only £40 extra to upgrade to a suite which is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a short break, on a Sunday saver deal. Dinner, bed and breakfast and 2 rounds of golf. We were a mixed party of 4 high handicappers who enjoy our golf.
There are 2 courses at this resort, the short West course, and the longer East course, which has hosted the Solheim Cup.
The West course, although the poor relation of the two, was still fun to play. Nice views, some tricky holes, and well laid out. There is one crossover point with the East course, and the starter warned us about this before we started.

The East course is Championship length and was very satisfying to play. It was laid out by James Braid, and it shows. Good use of bunkers, tees mostly adjacent to the greens and certainly no unreasonably long walks between green and tee. Some modern designers should take note! Mostly parkland, the 13th and 14th holes are charming, having been hidden in woodland, completely changing the character of the course, and then its back to parkland for the last 4 holes. I would certainly be happy to play these courses again.

The hotel contains a fitness room, spa and swimming pool which we didn't use. The reception and restaurant are in the old house, with the bedrooms accessible via a walkway. The bedrooms are a decent size, with the usual en suite, tea making facility, fridge and safe. The TV had a decent choice of channels although we hardly used it.
Dinner was excellent. A good choice of food (some dishes at extra cost) and two of us had the Rib Eye steak which was superb.
Breakfast is buffet style, with pretty well all the usual suspects, including haggis and black pudding. Tea and coffee come in small pots which are replaced on demand so the tea is always hot and not too strong.

We were at the hotel Sunday and Monday, and there were always plenty of staff on duty. Booking in and out was efficient and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

All in all, a great venue for a golf holiday, especially if it stays dry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirknewton
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,135 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,855 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club

Property: Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
Address: | Edinburgh, Kirknewton EH27 8EB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Kirknewton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirknewton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its breathtaking scenery, Baronial Manor, incredible sunsets and views of Edinburgh Castle, Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club is paradise. As our resort is set within 1,000 acres of parkland, you would never know you're just 7 miles from the centre of Edinburgh, our lively capital. The resort - a retreat for leisure and rejuvenation - has two 18-hole golf courses, a PGA-approved golf academy, gym, indoor swimming pool, spa and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmahoy, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Dalmahoy Marriott Hotel Country
Marriott Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club Scotland/Kirknewton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing