We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with good breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirknewton
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable with good breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed in one of the turret suites and was very impressed: lots of room, luxurious bathroom, comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. I am not sure if I would have been as happy staying in a more basic room as they are quite a walk away from the main part of the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank crazy8234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    513
    250
    101
    54
See reviews for
351
618
35
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great short stay at this hotel. Husband able to golf and I could visit the outlet and shopping centres close by. Good meal in the posher of the two restaurants but disappointing in the other.

Disagree with the review saying staff are helpful at taking you to your room. When we checked in the receptionist gave us the most inconvenient route to our room, especially considering we were carrying luggage and golf clubs. Luckily my husband Sussex out a route taking us straight to the elevator, avoiding the narrow corridor from reception and narrow stairs!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheenaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Revisited Dalmahoy for a weekend break and after 10 years not much had changed.
The rooms were clean and tidy but lack of free Wi-fi other than public areas was poor for a top hotel. However Sky Sports on TV was a bonus.

Breakfasts were okay with good choice although the usual buffet scrambled egg was tasteless.

The Spa changing room had been updated since last visit but the rest of facilities were dated and in need of upgrade. The jacuzzi didn't work both days of visit and I've had a warmer suana in my living room.

The staff were all very helpful and I couldn't fault the cleanliness of the hotel and the well kept surroundings.

If they offered free Wifi and spent a bit of money upgrading the spa facilities then I wold have no problem in returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay here with us. Any kind of feedback is welcomed as it is through this that we can strive to improve the overall guest experience. As with most hotels we have an on-going upgrade of facilities which saw the leisure changing areas, reception & Zest Restaurant being renovated last year. We are due to close our pool facility on the 18th November for 4 weeks to upgrade the pool & spa bath and surrounding areas.
Our WiFi is now free in all public areas of the hotel but in order to maintain a higher level of security for business users the Wi-Fi is chargeable in the bedrooms with a secure and faster connection. We appreciate that this is causing some frustrations and we will be addressing the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel and location are beautiful, a golfers paradise. Our room was lovely when we finally found it. It is a rambling site and very difficult to find your way around. The staff is great about taking you to your room and helping you but it is very confusing. The restaurant staff for breakfast and in the Zest cafe are very helpful, even helped my husband carry back food to room for me. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our three day stay. I wish it had been closer to town but it was gorgeous. It was the beginning of our CIE Scotland and Ireland Tour and a great beginning. Thanks to Angie and AAA we had sparkling wine waiting for us to help us start to celebrate our 55th anniversary.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a map to locate room and find way around hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsJLaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a groupon afternoon tea for 8 ladies and thoroughly enjoyed it. The goodies we had were tasty and very enjoyed. The atmosphere and surroundings were clean very relaxed and the staff very friendly. Certainly one to return to in the future

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zeryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The Dalmahoy will always have a special place in my heart - we got married here 10 years ago. It is a beautiful hotel and just a lovely setting and myself and my husband enjoyed reminiscing. BUT we were a little disappointed with some small things which we feel really make the difference between an ok hotel and a great hotel! We had a cup of tea in the library bar. My husband was expected to make two trips to carry the tea and cups back and also no small token biscuit! It's not about the biscuit really it's just about the service and a feeling of being looked after. The leisure centre is a little tired. The jacuzzi wasn't working but otherwise ok. We didn't spend as long as we would normally have done so. The evening meal in the zest restaurant was ok. Nice service but the food wasn't quite up to scratch. Soggy chips and solid creme brûlée. And finally no free wifi. Really is it that hard especially in an area which has no 3G. Having said all this, our room was lovely and the staff were friendly enough. No issue at all with the rooms not being in the main building and the food was ok. We had a lovely time and enjoyed the memories however a few little changes could make a huge difference. The lady said to me as I checked out that perhaps we could make it a yearly visit but unfortunately we will be heading back to 'The Old Course' - yes slightly pricier but they make you feel very special!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kazmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback as it is with this that we can strive to improve the overall guest experience. As we have not met with your expectations on many aspects of your stay I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. As a previous bride at our hotel we are committed to improving on your experience with us. Could you please contact me directly on claire.dixon@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I took the CIE "Taste of Scotland" trip in September 2013. The tour itself was, for the most part, very good. We had an excellent guide, Rosie Pearson, for the bulk of the tour and thoroughly enjoyed the first two nights hotel stays. The trip was scheduled to end in Edinburgh. Our disappointment was great when we discovered that we were to spend the last two nights in a hotel located well outside the city and apparently designed for golf vacations. The Dalmahoy may have great appeal as a golf destination or conference center but suffers greatly when offered as lodging for those interested in the sights of the city of Edinburgh and not the countryside. The hotel itself has a layout designed to confuse even the hardiest of guests, a long, circuitous walk from reception to rooms, up and down staircases. Dinner was not included on the last night of the tour and we were left with an expensive choice of those eating places within the hotel - the food was mediocre at best. We have taken a number of CIE tours and this was the only one which has disappointed. It was a poor place to spend the last day and a half of our vacation. I do think CIE could choose a better location.

It also seems inappropriate that in a hotel/country club which is also a conference center, free WIFI was available only in public lounge areas. Otherwise a very hefty fee is charged for a connection from the guest rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelj61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirknewton
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club

Property: Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
Address: | Edinburgh, Kirknewton EH27 8EB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Kirknewton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirknewton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its breathtaking scenery, Baronial Manor, incredible sunsets and views of Edinburgh Castle, Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club is paradise. As our resort is set within 1,000 acres of parkland, you would never know you're just 7 miles from the centre of Edinburgh, our lively capital. The resort - a retreat for leisure and rejuvenation - has two 18-hole golf courses, a PGA-approved golf academy, gym, indoor swimming pool, spa and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmahoy, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Dalmahoy Marriott Hotel Country
Marriott Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club Scotland/Kirknewton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing