We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
Nearby Hotels
Highfield House(Kirknewton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,916)
Filter reviews
1,916 results
Traveler rating
795
609
313
131
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
795
609
313
131
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursecocktail barpentland restaurantplay golfbeautiful hotelleisure clubmain restaurantpark and rideafternoon tealong weekendthe main housepublic areasleisure facilitieschanging roomstwo double bedsbeautiful groundsbirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
1,261 - 1,266 of 1,916 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband redeemed a 'Red Letter Days' voucher for a long weekend in the Dalmahoy in June 2013. We spent 2 nights in the 'Lady Mary's Room' in the main building and the stay exceeded our expectations. We had a beautiful high ceiling room with a luxury bathroom and views over the golf course. Breakfast was standard Marriott quality with a good choice of continental and cooked breakfast, the breakfast room had stunning views and you could eat on the terrace in the unseasonably hot sunshine we were lucky to enjoy!

Our evening meals were also included and we tried out the formal restaurant (posh nosh), and the sports bar/lounge for classic/simple grill menu. Both meals we had were very good, and we were glad to have a choice of restaurant. The hotel seemed very popular with Americans touring Europe, and couples on weekend breaks. We had a nice walk around the grounds and there were several benches and outside seating areas.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room in the main house with a sunny aspect and a view of the golf course!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsdavies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights as a family of four. We found the check in quick efficient and very friendly, the rooms were bright well equipped, spacious (we had a twin double room) and well decorated. The breakfast was very good and I had no issue paying for this as the range of items was extensive and very well prepared (the breakfast restaurant also had a lovely setting overlooking the gold course). The gym was well equipped and my kids loved the swimming pool.

All in all it would be a struggle to fault this hotel. We stayed during the Edinburgh festival and found it easy enough to drive to the local park and ride in Herminston and catch a bus in to town (rather than try to find parking spaces). The hotel gave us so much more than a city hotel ever could, the views, the extensive facilities. Being able to use the hotel jogging trails in the mornings was one of my favorite highlights. Would definitely recommend for any fun loving family.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toadster72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had a nice 2 night stay at this hotel property while on an escorted tour. The rooms were comfy and the grounds were lovely. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that it's not convenient to intown Edinburgh. Fortunately, we had a coach to get us around, but even at that it takes time and Edinburgh traffic is heavy in August.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkling011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very recently, we stayed a few nights here in one of the turret suites. While the suite was spacious, it did not have a separate room. It was also located in the farthest location from the front desk. The bed was a standard comfortable Marriott bed.

Where this property shines is in its facilities. Of all of the hotels I’ve stayed at around the world, the leisure facility was easily the amongst the best that I’ve ever experienced - easily the best at any Marriott property. The indoor pool was sufficiently warm and the gym had a nice selection of equipment. The locker facilities were clean and comfortable. While I did not golf this time, the course looked wonderful. The breakfast buffet was decent Marriott fare. The bar was very nice as well.

Driving into downtown Edinburgh took about 15 to 20 minutes. We also traveled around the Edinburgh area and this location turned out to be quite nice to visit the various areas by car. But it was nice to be able to return to a quiet relaxing place after a day of sightseeing.

The service throughout our stay here was wonderful.

I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bt_mpls_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed on a golf break at the Dalmahoy 3 years ago and were bowled over by the quality of the food and choice of menu. After a couple of years trying other golf breaks (we like variety, not returning to the same venue too often) we were keen to go back and so booked a 2 night golf break in June. Unfortunately we were really disappointed. The first night we perused the menu and actually had trouble finding a dish we wanted to order, the following night was even worse as the menu does not change. Four of us were in the party and all struggled to find something we liked which is very unusual as we are all foodies and will try anything. The food was beautifully presented but quite bland. We played both courses and the "B" course was actually in better condition than last time but the Championship course was nowhere near as good as before, probably due to the amount of use it has had and we had had a lot of rain before our visit so it had probably been difficult for the greenkeepers to get out and repair the divots and keep the grass and rough cut. On the positive side the pool area is good and the rooms are a good standard.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews