We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was ok, restaurant was quite disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirknewton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a single night stay in one of the suites - dinner, bed and breakfast.
The hotel itself is old but serviceable, the building shows its age with creaky floors, cranky lifts and a maze of corridors going in odd directions. The room itself had all the amenities you would expect including TV, Coffee/Tea facilities, safe, iron and board, hairdryer, decent amount of toiletries, etc. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy but showing their age a little.
We had a meal in the Pentland restaurant which was well staffed and had a nice ambience, but we did have to wait an age to be seated, but once sorted staff we attentive and happy to help. The food selection was small and a bit boring to be honest. If you didn’t want fish or game you were left with steak or vegetarian. I opted for the steak and by itself it was a £29 main course. The steak was dry and lifeless and presented with a lumpy potato side and some vine tomatoes for a little bit of colour, otherwise the meal could have been in black and white. It tasted in black and white like someone had turned the taste down to zero.
The deserts were much better, but the selection was a bit dull too. I felt that there should have been a few more modern dishes on the menu as the restaurant was aiming at the older end of the market and was overpriced for what they were offering.
The breakfast the following morning was much better, it had a wide selection of traditional English/Scottish and plenty of fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, cold meats, breads, etc. If only the dinner menu was more up-to-date like the breakfast.
It’s unlikely I’ll choose to stay in this hotel again as it’s too far to eat somewhere else.

Wifi was £6 per hour - comically expensive.

Room Tip: High up facing main road will give the best phone reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just back from a weekend stay at the Dalmahoy, we stayed on a dinner B&B rate for 2 nights in a deluxe room.

We have stayed at the Dalmahoy a few times and havent been disappointed with our stays, so we decided to go again for a weekend chill out.

Well worth paying for the dinner B&B rate - as prices in the Pentland restaurant are pricey if you didnt have included in the cost. But the food is fantastic, service is excellent and nice atmosphere.

Also if you choose to have breakfast in the room - as long as you are on an "escape" package you dont get charged the normal £15.50 rate as included in cost. Check your breakfast tray though as we had a few things missing from our order - so had to call to get it delivered but wasnt a long waiting time. if you far away obv then your cooked breakfast will arrive mid warm/cold but you cant help that.

The cocktail bar is a great place to relax day or night. Normal hotel costs for drinks.
In the afternoon, rather than pay an expensive cost for afternoon tea (11.95pp or for champagne aft tea £19.95pp)- ask for the fruit scones, you each get 2 warm fruit scones with butter and jam but you also get a tea or coffee included in the cost of £6.95 per person.

We had room 274, deluxe room. very comfortable and spacious - overlooks the back of the hotel so quieter, also away from the rooms for weddings. You can also choose to have feather free rooms if allergic.

You dont want to stay here if you want to be in the centre of Edinburgh - as further out. some prev comments have mentioned this but didnt they read the location/description, quite clearly not in the centre and the hotel doesnt mislead the customer about this. There is a bus you can get into Edinburgh, or take your car to park and ride nearby or pay rates for parking nearer.

Only niggles as previous comments are: £6 an hour for wi-fi or £15 a day. In this day and age and this quality of hotel it should be free - the signal in certain parts of the hotel isnt great so wifi a help. Also most of the pay movies in the room are £8, even for madagascar 3 so not cheap if you want to keep kids or adults entertained if a miserable day outside.
We had a nice chill out weekend as we expected - weather wasnt great but we are in February after all, and we would still return to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We only stayed here for one night on this occasion and the staff were friendly, the room was clean and all we required but the focus of this hotel now seems to be more for businessmen than for families or couples as it has been in the past.
The family restaurant is fairly basic and the whole experience is not value fo money.
Overall fine but can recommend many other better alternatives in the Edinbuurgh region.

Room Tip: Try the wide range of Edinburgh City Centre Hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normski999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Recently stayed at The Dalmahoy Hotel as an all day guest at the wedding of my friend's. Had a fantastic stay, check-in was easy and hassle free and I was able to check in early, staff were friendly and pleasant, was escorted to my room by a staff member who helped me carry my many bags! The room was spacious and clean with tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries. The only problem I had was trying to decide which of the two double beds in my room to sleep in!

The venue for the wedding ceremony and evening reception was fantastic and beautifully decorated and the food served at dinner was superb. Had a comfortable nights sleep and breakfast in the morning was delicious also with plenty of choice in the buffet. Had to wait around 15 minutes to be seated for breakfast but this was due to the hotel being extremely busy and most people heading for breakfast at the same time, breakfast was served from 7am -11am.

Used the express check-out with again was easy and hassle free. The hotel is also set in beautiful surroundings, definitely a hotel I would recommend and would return to.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui270Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed overnight in hotel, as a evening wedding guest, had dinner in bistro, first class and price as you would expect to pay, room excellent , satff couldnt have done enough for you. Having read the previious comments on checking out can only assume that author must have been at a different hotel from me, check out was exceptional, leave room keys at reception and your credit card was chrged, couldnt be easier, would highly reccomend this hotel, facilities were as they say in the brochure

Room Tip: all rooms appear ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is a pretty average Hotel but really struggles with the basics on a modern Business/Leisure Hotel. There is no 3G signal anywhere unless you hang off the balcony in the bar (not recommended), so you are reliant on the hotel WiFi which is poor at best but the Hotel still charges £15 a day for it which is just criminal in modern times.

The food in the two restaurant ranges from pretty bland to terrible, I have had some, ok meal and some pretty poor ones, they seem to change their chefs pretty regular so the food quality varies accordingly. Waiting staff are young and poorly trained, I had a glass of wine dropped over the back of me and the girl just stood and looked, wondering what to do next, we had to tell her to go at get paper towels. It was so bad that I had to break off my dinner and go back to my room to change into some dry and clean clothes. The management weakly apologised and didn’t even offer to get the clothes clean for me nor to take anything off the large bill we had. They thought we were joking when I asked them are they going to pay for my clothes to be cleaned and to have some recompense for tipping a large glass of wine down my back ruining my shirt and trousers. They quite petty and flippant about the whole thing and the restaurant management because we had been calm, polite and good natured about the whole thing just tried to brush the whole thing off. They didn’t try to make any amends for not only ruining my clothes but the dinner party of eight. So wear a bib and always bring plenty of spare clothes to change into.

Checking out can be a nightmare as they only have one or if you are lucky to people on reception but I have had a few problems in the past where additional drinks and food have been adding to my bill, so always check carefully. So the queue can built up pretty fast, so allow plenty of time and be prepare for a long wait.

Room Tip: Ask for one with actual 3G reception and not to close to the gym with the very loud fittness classes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nordeansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just come back from a six night stay here which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Firstly the good points – Good size clean room with the usual features you would expect in a 4* hotel including huge bed! Nice quiet location but within easy reach of Edinburgh city centre, if you have your own car. Great pool, gym and spa area – very clean large changing area. Good selection at breakfast and loved the haggis! The staff were all fantastic, very polite, pro-actively helpful and friendly – Barbara at breakfast (Chef) doubles as a tour guide and is a great ambassador for Scotland, it was a pleasure to talk to her each morning. The Cocktail Bar made a great end to everyday.

Now the downside – these are very minor points but worth noting – Whilst the rooms are attached to the main part of the hotel it’s a bit of a trek to the reception, breakfast and bar area, up and down some stairs – especially if you have heavy cases when you arrive – having said that the Concierge was very willing to take the cases to the room, next time we’ll say yes! The overall quality of the food was just disappointing (except breakfast) not bad but just a lower standard than you would expect. The hotel felt a little bit tired in places (window in our room) but they are working hard to keep the place up-to-date.

So why a 5 and not a 4 with these few niggles – because the quality of the staff made our stay and far outweighed these small niggles!! Would I recommend staying here and would I stay here again – absolutely. Thank you for a great break!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ive-been-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirknewton
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,263 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,979 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club

Address: Kirknewton EH27 8EB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Kirknewton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirknewton
Price Range: $91 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its breathtaking scenery, Baronial Manor, incredible sunsets and views of Edinburgh Castle, Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club is paradise. As our resort is set within 1,000 acres of parkland, you would never know you're just 7 miles from the centre of Edinburgh, our lively capital. The resort - a retreat for leisure and rejuvenation - has two 18-hole golf courses, a PGA-approved golf academy, gym, indoor swimming pool, spa and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmahoy, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Dalmahoy Marriott Hotel Country
Marriott Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club Scotland/Kirknewton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing