We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night at Laponia, Arvidsjaur”
Review of Hotel Laponia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Laponia
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arvidsjaur
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One night at Laponia, Arvidsjaur”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Whilst the hotel is some distance from the station (we were travelling on the Inlandsbanen), it is in a pleasant location opposite a lake. Hotel was very quiet. We were given a very large room with plenty of comfortable seating and a very large bathroom. Venetian blinds on the many windows kept out most of the Arctic midnight sun.

Breakfast was comprehensive in a dining room overlooking the lake.

The hotel runs a luggage collection and delivery service to and from Arvidsjaur station. We used it when we departed the town. It would have been very good to have known about this service so we could have used it on arrival ! To be fair, however, perhaps I should have said we were arriving by train in the comment space on the booking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mothmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    53
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
44
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monthey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Nice hotel in the small town of Arvisdjaur.

The location is great, just in front of the lake.

Hotel was good. Room was ok, we had enough place for two, the room was clean. I have tried the sauna, that was great, but have not tried the swimming pool, really to cold.

We had dinner at the restaurant, it was very good, despite the lack of choice on the menu (probably because we went during the low season).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blake130381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Very friendly staff and cosy interior! Extremly good gym/fitness center! I work out a lot and i have seen to many fancy "hotel-gym". This is something else - I could call it real work out :-)
The hotel is situated in the nice small town (or villige...?) Arvidsjaur. We have been snowmobiling, skiing (cross country), dogsledging and ice fishing. Everything was better than I've expected!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We were greeted by the stuffed reindeer and a friendly receptionist. Our room was clean, comfortable but no real design. Being the summer there are mozzies and there was a mozzie net on the window, but is was taped down with plasters! We took advantage of the sauna but avoided the ice cold pool, which was also a bit cloudy. Breakfast was ok. The hotel overlooks a small lake and is a short walk into the town.

The town is tiny and I expect this was the best hotel. We found a great restaurant called Jonas's Grill which served excellent food. Lena at the tourist board was really helpful. She also provided the tour of Lapstaden and talked through Sami culture and issues. I found this really interseting.

Please note if you are travelling by Inlandsbanan and are expecting to hire an Inspection Trolley then you will be disappointed. They do not have them on the tracks during the summer even though Grand Nordic advertise this in their brochure. You will have to go somewhere like Mora or Vansbro at the start/end of your trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smultronpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
447 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Hoteliers kindly collected me from the airport after a mix-up, saving me from what felt a bit something out of The Shining - no one except for me there with snow piled high outside in the dark! So, top marks for service.
Large, quiet room, with beautiful view over the frozen lake towards the low hill.
Cold pool / hot sauna!
Good breakfast. Other food a little mixed.
I would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
637 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

When we were in Arvidsjaur it was pretty warm. It was also mosquito season. This hotel, like most in Sweden, had no screens on the windows. Your choice was to be hot or bitten. We chose hot. With no moving air, it was fairly miserable.
The weather was no fault of the hotel, which was a pretty standard hotel that seemed to cater to large bus loads of tourists. We were quite thankful that we were checked in already when a bus full of people lined up at the desk to check in.
Our room was not large but European rooms rarely are. It was modern, clean, and well maintained. The free WiFi worked well and it was nice to have the hot water pot available. Dinner was being served in the Sami hut annex on the lake across the street. The view and service were lovely but the food quality was uneven. Some parts of the meal were excellent while others were mediocre. Breakfast, served in the main building, was an excellent buffet but because of those aforementioned tour buses it was very crowded. It wasn't easy to find a table and the line to get bread was quite long.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtarfa Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

thank you so much for a plesant stay in your hotel. the town twinng from mtarfa, malta to arvidsjaur, sweden was well worth it. we would love to come back. thank you very much
simon and jane

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janesimjan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arvidsjaur hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arvidsjaur
0.4 mi away
Hotell Edstrom
Hotell Edstrom
#3 of 3 in Arvidsjaur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lapland Lodge
Lapland Lodge
#1 of 3 in Arvidsjaur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Wilderness Life in Arvidsjaur AB
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laponia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laponia

Property: Hotel Laponia
Address: 45 Storgatan, Arvidsjaur 933 33, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Arvidsjaur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arvidsjaur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laponia 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laponia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing