We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Homestay”
Review of Mitali Homestays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiniketan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitali Homestays
Ranked #5 of 25 Santiniketan B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our daughter recommended this place for our short visit to Shantiniketan.Mr Dey sounded so formal when I booked our stay but when we met him and Sukanya we got a warm welcome and they made our stay memorable whether talking about his days at UN or Bengal politics or Rabindra music.They had arranged a lovely lunch for us on our arrival and all our meals were special ones-we felt our time with them was not enough.they helped us in arranging our tour of Santiniketa and made sure that we had excellent brunch before we took our return train to Kolkata-that concern was touching.We have to visit again for at least three days.Deys have very nice bungalow with good garden and beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mehtas1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Mitali Homestays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for just one night over Christmas 2012 and wish that we had stayed longer. The hosts were so welcoming and knowledgeable, with excellent food, and an unexpected performance by a group of Bauls in the evening. Hopefully we will be back for longer. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laxdaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was here during mid-nov 2012 with two other friends. This is indeed one of the most peaceful places to stay. The hosts were warm and knowledgeable. You could spend hours discussing social and political affairs with them. The house also has an unbelievable collection of books covering wide range of topics. The neighboring village is also quiet scenic. We spend an evening going around the village and taking some wonderful pics. For people who enjoy a peaceful couple of days, Mitali is an ideal place. Also, the food was wonderful. I would really like to visit the place again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anirudh_Nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our six day stay at Mitali around New Year 2013 was fabulous. The setting was serene and beautiful, the gracious and cultured hosts went out of their way to make our time with them perfect, the staff was efficient and friendly, and the other guests were very interesting. And the food! It is fresh, healthy, innovative, varied, and wonderfully spiced. The fabulous chicken biryani and mutton curry served at the New Years’ day picnic was phenomenal. It also was impossible to resist buying the expertly designed, hand-made, and hand-woven clothing and other goods in the charming store. On top of all of this we learned a great deal about life and ideals of Rabindranath Tagore from Krishno’s vast knowledge, his wonderful library, and from the entire atmosphere of Mitali, which embodies Tagore’s values on a daily basis. This was our best part of our three week trip to India and something anyone would be lucky to experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lovely homestay accommodation and food off the throbbing Poush Mela activities. Exciting host for in-depth discussions. Lots of knowledgeable recommendation. Very interesting other guests to meet. Pleasant rural neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Tucked away in a quiet lane amongst other lovely houses of Prantik Village , is the Mitali homestay. Our hosts Krishno Dey and sukanya were warm charming people who looked after us .The property itself is fabulous . For people who appreciate the Old World charm and who enjoy gracious living , Mitali homestay is the place. We met some lovely other guests and came away with great memories.
Tips- the cycle riksha is the only mode of public transport.
Do not expect regular tourist-y entertainment like flashy restaurants , big malls , video parlours , shopping sprees etc.This is a quiet place and its charm lies therein.

Room Tip: the lower room in the main house(The nandini room , I think ) is the best choice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anuradharao123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We visited Shantiniketan and stayed at Mitali Homestay just after the Durga Puja last October and we absolutely enjoyed our stay. This is the best place you can get in Shantiniketan. The rooms were wonderful, the service was impeccable and the food was amazing! It's truly a home away from home. The owners took special personal care of us as is the tradition with Bengali hospitality. You ask for it and you get it...with a smile. We had our 3 year old son travelling with us and though I am a Bengali, my wife is not and we have been staying out of India for quite some time now...but once you are in Mitali, everything is taken care of in a manner that speaks class. Mitali in Shantiniketan is truly beyond compare...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuhin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiniketan hotels
1.0 mi away
Country Roads
Country Roads
#2 of 3 in Santiniketan
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House
1.1 mi away
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
#3 of 25 in Santiniketan
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deer Park Eco Home
Deer Park Eco Home
#11 of 25 in Santiniketan
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Panthashala Guest House
#8 of 25 in Santiniketan
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muktadhara Guest House
Muktadhara Guest House
#19 of 25 in Santiniketan
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitali Homestays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitali Homestays

Address: Phuldanga | off the Taltore Road, Santiniketan 731235, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Birbhum District > Santiniketan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Santiniketan
Price Range: $46 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive property (villa) in the Shantiniketan area and guests receive highly personalised attention and service in spacious, natural surroundings. Dining is a speciality, and all meals with accommodation are also available. The emphasis is on maintaining a peaceful and unpolluted base for relaxation. As a Homestay with the owners in residence, care is exercised with the process of guest admission. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing