We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its only a "bed" hotel and not a "service" hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House
Ranked #2 of 25 Santiniketan B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you want to hear "no, cannot be done" for any request you ask for, as a guest, then please make RTDR as your choice. A hotel, which has the most unfriendliest and the most-sly helping hands. . .

It is not at all a user-friendly hotel and a big no-no for children, as you will not get mineral water (the reason given is - stock over) and neither will they cook anything for children. They have a set menu and that is it. Remember, if you are one of those guests, who are eating towards the later part of the evening, you may be surprised as you may not get food either. If you ask for an extra pillow, you are told - you are not sleeping now, we will give it to you later; in the most condescending tone!!!!

Their so-called Manager - Ranjeet, is the most cunning staff member one has ever met. He will buy local jaggery from outside and insisit selling it to guests at double the cost; and ward away local vebdors. He will also be keeping food aside for himself/staffs and not serve guests.

The owner is a decent gentleman, who covers up the gaps with his one-off-odd gifts and pleasant conversation with the guests - but honestly, does that cover up for his unprofessional staffs???

HORRIBLE SERVICE, BAD FOOD, CUNNING PEOPLE - if thats what you want, please book your stay at RTDR!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sagaree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTDR, Owner at Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We are surprised to receive such a comment about our service and dealings as we always very courteous to our valued guests and we have told our staff to provide best possible services to our guests keeping in mind "Athithi Devo Bhavo" but guests also should keep it in their mind before booking that ours is not a hotel, it's a guesthouse though we provide facilities what are available in a star category hotel. We provide personalised services between 7.30am to 9.30pm and we served breakfast, lunch and diner within specified time as decided by us from time to time and informed all our guests well in advance and we only served meals as per our prefixed menus, which we can't change as per desire of our guests and this limitation always we inform our valued guests prior of their booking. We always served fresh food and that too we purchase all items freshly from local market to provide quality fresh meals to our guests always. It's not true that we don't prepare food for children, for children and old persons, we take special care and beside our limitation, we served food in the rooms for old persons and children on their special request always. Generally we served food in our dining hall as this is our policy and every one know this aspect during the time of booking. We take undertaking from the guests on the following points before entering the rooms:
xx. Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner are supplied only in the dining hall. Foods are not supplied in the rooms under any circumstances. Cooked food or cooking is strictly prohibited inside rooms or compound.
xx. Alcoholic Drinks is not permitted in guest house.
xx. Pet animals are not allowed in the Guest House.
xx. During power-cut or any electrical break-down, Inverter will work and only one fan and one light connection would be operative in every room. In case of prolonged power cut or failure, only candle would be provided and no fan and light would be operative.
xx. The main gate of the premises would be closed at 10 pm everyday.
xx. Identity & Address Proof (Xerox copies of either Voter Id or Valid Driving Licence or Valid Passport or Adhar Card or any other documents approved by Govt.) of the lodger must be given before occupying the room. Original must be shown during handing over self attested copies of Identity and Address proof. For foreigners, copy of current Visa and Passport to be given.
xx. Present rates will not be applicable during Basanto Utsav, Paus Mela and during other important festivals/ holidays.
"HORRIBLE SERVICE, BAD FOOD, CUNNING PEOPLE - if thats what you want, please book your stay at RTDR!!!!" I totally disagree with the quoted text of the guest and we only take special care to the areas as mentioned as mentioned above by the guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 158 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Best place if you visit shantiniketan. The place is awsome, rooms are beautifully decorated and tidy, staff is very helpful. They arrange private baul shows, something thats worth your time and money. Been there 3 times, would love to go back again

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mantoo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were very apprehensive about our visit as we did not what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the warm and friendly reception and the beautiful garden. The rooms were nice with a balcony that overlooked the garden. The place looke d just like the picture on the web. and we enjoyed our days with wonderful food and service.

All in all a great weekend and looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room that opens into the balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I and my wife spent two days 18-19th Jan 2013 in RTDR. We chose it by going thru review in trip-advisor. Our expectation was met. We got room no 4 (Ela) on the first floor.

Advantage:
1. Very nice home cooked food. Though a bit pricey. Breakfast - tea, coffee, biscuits, poori-bhaji, rosgulla. Lunch - Fish and some vegetable items with rice, Dinner - mutton, chicken, egg, vegetable,rice. Lunch - 200 rs, Dinner - 200rs per head. Breakfast is included in the room rent. Our rent was 1600 for NON AC ( in January we do not require AC). They can also provide boiled/hot water to drink if required.
2. Open space in the first floor: A spacious open verandah is there. You can sit and enjoy the garden sitting there. It is a very good experience.
3. It is around Prantik. And you can go for a morning walk in tribal village. Khoai river is just some 100 metres away. rich experience.
4. Bathroom had geyser and all modern facilities. It was neat and clean.
5. People were good and very helpful.

Disadv:
1. The doors of the batroom was too much noisy.
2. The taps in the bathroom can not be closed properly. It continues to throw water in slow pace.
3. It is a little bit tricky to find out the guest house.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soumyadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Located a stones throw from the Visva Bharati University grounds, RTDR is secluded enough to allow you to enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of Shanthiniketan, while not so far out as to be inconvenient.
The rooms are simple and clean, yet spacious, but by far our favorite feature was the garden. Though I've seen in other pictures on trip advisor that the garden is ever-changing, when we were there, it was divided between a lush varieties of roses and massive dahlias. Exploding with color, the garden even attracted some local birds which we watched skip from tree to tree as we sat on the front balcony with our afternoon tea. There is also a vegetable garden, some of the produce from which made it into each of our meals there.
Aside from the scenery, the staff really made our trip. We came with a rather large group, including my grandparents and the staff bent over backwards to ensure that our every need was accommodated. For instance, as an off-hand comment my grandfather joked about the papayas on the trees and if we ever might taste them. The very next day a member of the staff gave us a bag of four, saying he had climbed the tree and cut them down that morning!
All in all it was a wonderful experience and a I would definitely recommend that if you're planning a trip to Shantiniketan, that you inquire about the availability of rooms at RTDR, during the busy seasons they go fast we were told!

Room Tip: If available, I'd look for rooms 4 or 6 as they have a view of the amazing front garden. But mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

While deciding on where to stay at Shantiniketan for my trip in January I was pretty confused with the multiple options available.Thankfully I relied on Trip Advisor and chose RTDR. It turned out to be a perfect 2 nights stay for our family.It is about 15 mnts away from Bolpur Station(by car) but within the vicinity of all major tourist spots at Shantiniketan.Away from the main town and the crowd you can enjoy nature and silence at its best.The guest house has a beautifull garden and the rooms are clean and very tastfully decorated.It was like a home away from home.On the first floor there is a nice and spacoius verandah with a large sitting area and an overview of the garden which you can always enjoy.It is not the typical "hotel" where everything seems so mechanical.The staff are very helpfull and courteous. Please do not expect a fancy menu to choose from.Basic but delicious bengali food is served and it is cooked just like food at home.This was perfect for me as I have a 4 year old daughter.
Thank you RTDR and all its staff for making our first stay at Shantiniketan so memorable.

Room Tip: Choose first floor front side if available ( rooms 4,5,6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjsanbui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Rater Tara Diner Rabi truly deserves the no. 1 rating. It doesn't seems to be a hotel but a beautifully decorated Villa with each and every little thing placed with thought and aesthetics...
Its is one of the coziest, tidiest and cleanest places i have visited !!! Very good food. u decide the menu and they make it for u. staff is very helpful and courteous !!!! THE CATCH IS THAT IT PROVIDES THE BEST FACILITIES AT ALMOST HALF THE PRICE OF ALL THE OTHER HOTELS IN THE LISTINGS. Without a Second thought, just don't browse the list anymore and go for Rater Tara !!!! Mr. Banerjee and his staff have been exceptional !!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adolf_Dsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiniketan
0.9 mi away
Country Roads
Country Roads
#2 of 3 in Santiniketan
10 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel Sagar
Hotel Sagar
#1 of 1 in Siuri
3 reviews
0 mi away
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
#5 of 25 in Santiniketan
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Deer Park Eco Home
Deer Park Eco Home
#11 of 25 in Santiniketan
29 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pubali Homestay
Pubali Homestay
#2 of 17 in Bolpur
11 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Panthashala Guest House
#7 of 25 in Santiniketan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House

Address: Taltore Road, Behind PHE Bungalow | Fuldanga, Santiniketan 731235, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Birbhum District > Santiniketan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Santiniketan
Price Range: $28 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A double storied garden Guest House with all modern facilities is available just with in 1km from main campus of Santiniketan i.e. Uttarayan Complex and very close to Khoai & Prantik Station. Bolpur Station is 4km away. 11 double bedded AC rooms are available on daily hiring basis (1pm to 12 noon next day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing