We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Family Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House
Ranked #2 of 25 Santiniketan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Family Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed at rater tara Diner Rabi from 8th october 2011-11th October 2011. Before going there I was alittle apprehensive about the place , being and guest house and not a hotel, as I am used to a hotel wherever I visit. But after reaching there, I found it awesome, quiet, calm surrounding with lots of trees, flowers and a beautiful garden. The staff were courteous and above all the food was excellent. The rooms were spacious, the verandah in front of the room on 1st floor is awesome. One can have the experience of a rocking chair in the verandah. There are cane sofas where one can enjoy the evenings with chicken, onion pakoras and tea.
If one want to really enjoy the serene beauty, quiet and calm and peaceful atmosphere of Shantiniketan, this is the place to stay. So, just pack your bags and get going.

Indrajit Sen, The Times of India, Response, Kolkata

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KolkataTrapadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    51
    12
    3
    8
See reviews for
98
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

The air-conditioned rooms were very nice. Very courteous staff who were very helpful and they accommodated all our needs. We also liked the food very much. The cook arranged for all the special dishes we requested. We really felt at home, considering the fact that we traveled all the way from Chicago for our first ever visit to Santinikenan.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soumya_BH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We chose this hotel from trip advisor. We got a room in the ground floor which was dark and a little depressing. We had to keep all the windows closed with curtains as there was no privacy if we opened the curtains. I think the 1st floor rooms are better ,so anyone going there please insist on a 1st floor room. The bathroom had no separate dry area for the shower and each time you used the toilet there would be mud prints as the bathroom was perpetually wet if you happen to have a bath. In-spite of the lovely flowers in the garden there were some grotesque plastic flower in the room which was a complete eyesore
The food was simple and good bengali cuisine and the dining area was clean.
The staff was friendly and the presence of the owner Mr Banerjee was a bonus because he was really helpful

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujata_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Excellent place to Stay at Shantiniketan., Rooms are good , staffs are friendly , too good bengali food... A Beautiful well maintained garden everything you need for a short break,Fortunate enough to meet with Mr. Banerjee the owner, a thorough gentleman.Thanks for his effort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikramfrmsibpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Rater tara diner rabi. The rooms are nice and convenient, the garden is full of plants, flowers, kalojam pnepe and what not, the service is warm and caring. You will have very good Bengali cuisine in a cozy dining parlour with Rabindranath smiling down at you from the wall. Mine host Mr Banerjee comes every weekend and is wonderful company. Santiniketan was a favourite and regular haunt of me and my wife Damayanti from 1986-1995 decade due to strong emotional and memory bonds and Rater tara....reinforced that after a gap of some years and will tempt us to come back again.
Very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debashish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

I had been for 2 dys leisure trip to Shantiniketan with Family & stayed at Rater Tara Diner Rabi. Oh! What a hospitality! Unforgotable life time experience of everything good like - Place, Environment, Behaviour, Service. On returning from the place I was feeling that I am going out from my home. Marvellous. I have no words to thank to the whole team of the Hotel who are so heartily connceted with the visitors. Lot of Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank J_Udaipuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

A place to relax, enjoy, build relationships and discover yourself. Considering totality of this one of the finest smallish resort, I have no hesitation to give 10 out of 10 to this wonderful, cozy and mind enriching place to be in.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punyabratabasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiniketan
0.6 mi away
Camellia Hotel & Resort
Camellia Hotel & Resort
#3 of 3 in Santiniketan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Masara Beach Resort
Masara Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Mandarmoni
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rangamati Garden Resort
Rangamati Garden Resort
#5 of 25 in Santiniketan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
#4 of 25 in Santiniketan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vasundhara Inn
Vasundhara Inn
#16 of 25 in Santiniketan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deer Park Eco Home
Deer Park Eco Home
#9 of 25 in Santiniketan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House

Property: Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House
Address: Taltore Road, Behind PHE Bungalow | Fuldanga, Santiniketan 731235, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Santiniketan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Santiniketan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A double storied garden Guest House with all modern facilities is available just with in 1km from main campus of Santiniketan i.e. Uttarayan Complex and very close to Khoai & Prantik Station. Bolpur Station is 4km away. 11 double bedded AC rooms are available on daily hiring basis (1pm to 12 noon next day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing