We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An East India company period resort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiniketan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chhuti Holiday Resort
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This resort looks as if it was abandoned by the builders and the maintenance staff soon after it was built during the hay days of the erstwhile East India Company.

It was late in the evening when we landed up at this resort and confronted the front desk officer who gave us a glance as if we were intellectual inferiors who had no right to enter Shantiniketan itself let alone their resort. He brightened though when we opted for the super deluxe cottage quickly realizing , intellectuals we may not be but had the right stuff in our pockets to interest him.

The super deluxe cottage is said to be the best accommodation in the resort and I am glad I did not take the other cottage for the best is one of the worst I have seen in that region. The room was small and the bath room was small too and the interiors had odd shapes built probably as an artistic experiment. The flooring was dirty and stained. The cot was also stained although the bed sheets looked clean.

false roofing looked like faded mats woven from palm leaves or some such stuff . There were printed papers in the room that made things clear to the occupants that the management was not responsible for power cuts or for non functional electrical appliances. A dress code banning lungis and sleep ware was also included in the set of rules formulated by he management.

Some kind of relief in this uncomfortable surroundings came our way from most of the staff members in the resort. The waiters were very cooperative and helpful and the food was OK .

I would not recommend this resort to anyone in the present condition or at the current tariff.

If you are a well heeled intellectual, impervious to creature comforts you could enjoy a refreshing and enlightening conversation with the members of the management.

Room Tip: Avoid this place if you can
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Chhuti Holiday Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have stayed at Chhuti twice in the last couple of years and enjoyed both my stays there. The food is pretty nice and the rooms are clean and well kept. Though it might seem that they are a bit under staffed, we did not face any problems with the service.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank alaka_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We went for a leisure trip as well as for some work. Three of us - me, my husband and my daughter were there. Service is very poor. Only one person is there who was taking order, doing the room service, working in restrurant. Rooms are not well maintained. Insects are inside the room. A/c machine was not working properly. Nobody was there to set right the room. And most worst was the front desk person and his behaviour was also very rude. Food was also not upto the mark and takes all the time of the world to reach your order to you. The experience over there was really horrible and I suggest others not to go that hotel. My rating (out of 10) are as follows:
. service - 2
. ambiance - 6
. quality - 2
. value of money - 1

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alliswell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We enjoyed the stay in this resort, very nice garden inside, rooms are small but good, batrooms are clean. Food is ok. It would have better if rooms are kept little more clean.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meghroddur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

From Kolkata we took a train to Shantiniketan (Tagore's University). We heard about this resort from a fellow passenger who used to stay there often.
Since we had not done any bookings in advance, we thought of checking out this place as well. We were basically looking for a comfortable place to stay, not necessarily a luxurious resort becoz the purpose of the visit was exploring Shantiniketan. So we took a Rickshaw from the station and we just barged in and asked if any room was available.
The reception was good. They showed us two three rooms as options without any haste. We chose a non ac room as the weather was cool. The service of the staff was nice.
The staff is very accomodating. They helped us get the train tickets booked for our return to Kolkata. The food was served on time. The resort itself is a cottage type Rural set up and you like the experience. It was neat and tidy though not very luxurious (not that we expected it to be).
Tagore's University and the other famous sites are pretty close by. We actually walked down at times but its hardly a 10 minute rickshaw ride. The Saturday Haat was a 15 minute ride from the resort but it was wrth a visit.
Also, when we had checked out we even left our luggage in the resort since the train was in the evening and we wanted to go shopping around the town. They kept the luggage safely. Overall this place is decent enough for a couple of night stays, there isn't much inside the resort to do.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Priyanka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiniketan
0.0 mi away
Country Roads
Country Roads
#2 of 3 in Santiniketan
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yashoda International
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Tarapith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
#3 of 25 in Santiniketan
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House
0.0 mi away
Deer Park Eco Home
Deer Park Eco Home
#11 of 25 in Santiniketan
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chhuti Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chhuti Holiday Resort

Address: 3 Kms. from Bolpur station, Santiniketan, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Birbhum District > Santiniketan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Santiniketan
Price Range: $38 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing