We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little getaway to an isolated place of peaceful surroundings”
Review of Country Roads

Country Roads
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Roads
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santiniketan
Reviewed March 17, 2014

pros...
...biiiiiiiiggg room. huge room
...airy with bright lights at night and profound sunlight during the day.
...nice ac.
...daily cleaning with good room service.
...good food quality with perfectly cooked home food,,,just perfect with no variation of taste on alternate days(even my wife couldnt cook better....hope she doesnt see this review)
...perfect surroundings, peaceful, just beside the university and still far from the madding croud.

cons....tiny bathroom, but cant be helped.
....the staircase needs a shamiana or something like that since it becomes slippery during the rains.
.... food may be a bit monotonous but one has a few good options elsewhere.
....the lady of the property is the usp...as she cooks, she looks after the guests and honestly, her male counterpart, although being well behaved,is even slower and reluctant than maybe a slow lorris.

just one negetive point.....i had misplaced and left my digicam there and decided to pick it up sometime later but when i reached,,,,i found all the photos and videos stored erased and formatted.........surprised......

Room Tip: all rooms are ok ish
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank spandan030506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Country Roads
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

The location & exterior of country roads is really wonderful. If u are ready to have a great weekend with complete privacy, country roads is the best choice. There are 5 spacious rooms all named after different creations of Tagore. But try to book first floor rooms (4 rooms in first floor). The rooms have attatched private balcony & the rooms are value for money. There is a little bit of problems with the bathrooms. Actually apart from this that they are small in size, the arrangement is not greatly planned. You have to pass & touch the 'kamods' every time you go to toilet or go for a bath. But the overall atmosphere will eradicate your minor problems! The caretaker stays at ground floor with his family & we found him very helpful & friendly. You may not get huge varieties of food, but you will surely get good foods with homely care.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank arnab1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Want to be terrified every time you enter the toilet? Get petrified with the thought of completing morning rituals? Wish you didn't have to enter the bathroom to have a wash? This happens when you stay at the first floor rooms at Country Road resort.

Excellent rooms - very spacious, modern, clean, well furnished, location slightly out of the hustle bustle of the town, surrounded by greenery (the garden though very unkempt) with serene road for quite walk in the early morning crispy cool breeze - most of these are good. But the very very small bathroom with the commode touching you almost at every step is annoying, disappointing and heartbreaking when you are paying R 1200 per night at Santiniketan, which even now is quite upmarket.

The dining room downstairs is also annoying with loads of stuff lying around including rolled up carpet, mattress being used by perhaps the caretaker at night, dirty looking nets and so on. But the thought behind the resort was modern and customer friendly. The rooms with fairly new ACs, the collection of books a music system lying unused and even a collapsible garden table and sitting contraption now in a box, perhaps never used because the garden area outside is barren. The caretaker lives downstairs with what appeared to be a largish family so staying at the ground floor room (slightly larger bathroom) should be avoided.

We were told of loochi and alur dom breakfast but the caretaker opted for bread and omlette as his family had come back after several days presumably and he was over busy.

The local person acting on behalf of the owners who live in Kolkata was 80 years old and had a take-it-or-leave-it attitude as I felt R 1200 was too much and wanted a R 200 cut. As it was getting late in the day I agreed as I had pre-sold myself on the reviews provided by people who were perhaps okay with tiny bathroom and brushing the commode every time on entering. However, left next morning as the local person (father-in-law of the owners) wanted me to pay in advance for half of my 3 day program. I found that irritating too. I am sorry to write so much negative stuff even as I found the room so nice. Perhaps re-modeling should be seriously considered.

Room Tip: Try Basundhara where we shifted. At same price you get comparatively large bathroom with adequate fi...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank sharebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just back from a wonderful trip from Shantiniketan. Thanks to Mr. Chatterjee for making such a wonderful homestay at such a wonderful location in Shantiniketan. They have 5 rooms in total, 4 AC and one air cooled. I booked late hence got the Air cooled one, no complaints, weather was good so could not run the Cooler for more than 3 hours.
The location is in a residential area within the Viswa Bharati Campus, beside old Mela Math at Purba Pally. Perfect solitude, amidst greenery away from the city crowd.
The rooms are very neat, well kept, airy, nice verandah. Our room being on the backside, there was only greenery visible.
The set menu was nice, but there are options for improvement.
Overall a must visit place for all who loves to enjoy there holidays with family in peace in a home away from home.

The only cons: 1) The bathroom is quite small, though it has all modern amenities
2) The stairs to the 1st floor is quite steep
3) If you do not have your vehicle, its difficult to travel to and fro from this place.
4) Food options are limited, but there are lot of restaurants nearby

Room Tip: all rooms in 1st Floor are good specially AC with verandah on the front side
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soumyajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The property is located in the most beautiful and quiet residential part of Shantiniketan called the 'Ratan Pally/Purba Pally'. It is a kind of homestay with good exteriors and a small maintained garden. The property is 5 minutes walk from the 'Mela' Ground two blocks behind the library building. Though the property has five rooms, four on the first floor and one on the ground floor of which two are big ones, two small ones and one extra small, its bathrooms are almost the size of the ones you find in Indian Railways if not smaller, except the one located on the ground floor. The problem with the ground floor rooms is that the other rooms of this floor are occupied by the care taker and his extended family/friends. There is a small dining area on the ground floor where they serve simple food on prior order. The care taker 'Kestho' is reluctant to serve anything. It seems he would be a happier man if he is not bothered at all by the guests.

For us going and coming out of the nano class unkempt bathrooms was a nightmare otherwise the place has a charm of its own because of its surroundings.

I would recommend the place to people who are okay with dirty train bathrooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bougeotte2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiniketan
18.3 mi away
Hotel Sagar
Hotel Sagar
#1 of 1 in Siuri
3 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House
0.6 mi away
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
#3 of 25 in Santiniketan
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deer Park Eco Home
Deer Park Eco Home
#11 of 25 in Santiniketan
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Panthashala Guest House
#8 of 25 in Santiniketan
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge Lipika
Lodge Lipika
#7 of 27 in Bolpur
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Roads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Roads

Address: Purbapally | Near NCC Office, Santiniketan 731235, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Birbhum District > Santiniketan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santiniketan
Price Range: $14 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The red soil walkway turns and curls to disappear into the blur of moist green landscape. Glittering sunshine floods the greenery; smell of fresh air brings a sparkle in your heart. This will reveal the breadth of poetic vision of rural Bengal with amenities of contemporary living. A picture pretty cottage, perfect settings for a break from the daily grind. It has a collection of cozy rooms, hemmed by lawns and flowerbeds. But most of all enjoy the homely service, the chief ingredients for relaxation. Amidst the rustic ambiance of Shantiniketan, nature unveils herself and Country Roads captures her beauty in a picturesque frame. Impeccable service by a dedicated band of staff more than complements the virgin beauty. Ideally located, the home-stay is just few yards walk from Tagore’s Visva-Bharati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Country Roads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing