We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place in Warangal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warangal Fort

Warangal Fort
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Hyderabad Tour
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best Place in Warangal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you have to visit only one place in Warangal, this is the one place worth your visit. The Kakatiya pillars are majestic and the place is maintained beautifully by ASI. It is like a huge open museum and you need to spend time to assimilate the vastness of the place and the extent of the ruins.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Muthuprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    43
    24
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SECUNDERABAD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Kakatiya vaibhavam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

A symbol of our heritage.
I saw it some 30 years before and again recently.
Last time when I saw it there was no boundary, invaluable peaces of art thrown open in a plain vast area.
This time, it was a well guarded place neatly rearranged like in an open museum.
Sculptures are superb.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Nature_is_beautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Indian Heritage....Master class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

It's our Indian heritage. how poerful we were that time in Engineering skill...Watch this fort....You will be in time travel in PAST....

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank KCA_HYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Majestic walled opulence.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

A good couple hours spent in great admiration of the times this fort was built. I had no reason to complain with the ease of driving through and spending time reminiscing the huge stone walled structures that have a class of their own. The underground well is a beauty. The architect's perfect getaway as much as for a commoner. The only minus though is the squatters who have occupied the fort inner space "colonizing" and dirtying the environs. There is a reason for it which my guide explained as hidden treasures aplenty buried underneath the soil, which often goes unnoticed by official authorities. More than worth a visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Sujeet N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot and interesting ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I took a day trip to Warangal from Hyderabad on the train, and it was one of the most interesting days I spent in India.

The old fort is 20 minutes or so from the station by rickshaw. I paid 600 rupees (about £7) for the driver to take me there, wait for around 2 hours and then take me back to the station. There is some very interesting scenery on the way to the fort making the journey worthwhile.

The fort covers quite a large area and is mostly in ruins, but there remain some pillars and statues with some intricate carvings. The site was very quiet and peaceful - just a few Indian tourists and a handful of westerners milling around.

Opposite the fort is a lake with some gardens. This was also worth a visit. Within the gardens is a small temple on top of a hill. From here there are great view of Warangal town and the surrounding countryside.

I was mobbed group of around 50 lovely and friendly school children on a school trip to the gardens. They had not met an Englishman before! Every one of them wanted to shake my hand and tell me their name, and they gave me flowers they had picked from the gardens. It was a lovely experience.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warangal Fort also viewed

 
Warangal, Telangana
 

Been to Warangal Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing