We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Ty Shon Jacob Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pontypool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ty Shon Jacob Farm
Ranked #2 of 2 Pontypool B&B and Inns
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I loved our room which was spacious with two comfy chairs as well as the kingsized bed. A super big bathroom too. The breakfast was very nice. The views from the farm are lovely, we only wished we could see them from our room.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the balcony if you want to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golden66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
16
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good accomodation, great views to the Bristol channel and hills to the north, great breakfast - recommended. Don't drive too fast along the drive, come up via the north side of the hill where the road is wider. Resident horses add to the ambience. Great car park,

Room Tip: Great bathrooms in double + family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in March. Ty Shon Farm is properly in the middle of no-where. If you are going during a cold period, then take the 4x4 or keep the B&B’s number handy so they can send a tractor to pull you out of the snow (remember that at a high level there is snow here even when there’s none elsewhere and it drifts).

The three bedrooms are set in a bungalow which is separate from the owner’s actual living accommodation. There’s a shared central area with a couple of desks and a seating area which all the bedrooms come off of. There is also a dining room and kitchen. We had bedroom number one which is huge, two double beds and a sitting area which leads onto an outside terrace which had awesome views. The bathroom was large with a separate large bath and shower. The entire place is roomy, so that if you are stuck inside for whatever reason you don’t feel “cooped up”. The bed was firm and comfortable. When we arrived, the log fire had been lit in our room for us, which was lovely to come in to after the snow and chill outside.

The breakfast is incredible. An amazing array and choice of cereals, fruit, bread and the cooked breakfast options were superb with 3 different “butchers” sausages served to us and other equally excellent produce used. So much and so nice we didn’t need to eat again until the evening. They also make use of quaint, quirky and eclectic “best” china and crystal to serve your food and drinks in which is a delight. For other food there are a few places in the area to eat at, but realistically you will want to drive to them if you are going out for an evening meal.

Being in the middle of no-where, it’s very quiet and peaceful. There is some good walking directly from the B&B – just head in any direction across the fields or there is a marked path. Also it makes a good base to head to many other walks in the area.

While we were there, they were organising new LCD TV’s and improving the WiFi reception. Although there is broadband, it’s pretty slow at about 600Kb – but will do for collecting email, facebook and regular web browsing. Phone signal with EE was strong and I was getting 5Mb 3G (HSDPA) speeds.

There are a couple of friendly dogs, a collie and Dalmatian, which are well trained. They are interested to come and see you, in particular the collie that really wants to have its belly tickled but they won’t come into the accommodation and a firm no will see them leave you be.

In summary it’s friendly, welcoming and does one hell of a good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chunkylover53__x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My family and I stayed at Ty Shon Farm on March 17, 2013 and I am so happy we selected this B&B. The drive to the farm was gorgeous and very secluded. We were greeted by some very excited dogs and the owner, Agneta who made us feel right at home.
Our room was massive, the bathroom was gigantic and spa-like. My children wanted to have a bath and play in the big tub right away! We had a huge deck off of the sitting room with breath-taking views of the valley below.
Breakfast was a marvelous full English selection of food, as well as lots of cereal and fruit choices. I wish we could have stayed more than one night and I would definitely like to return to this tranquil setting one day!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynAMacLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River Region, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the farm for two nights in January and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room was by far the biggest room we've stayed in at a b&b- the bathroom was bigger than most b&b rooms! Loved the view from on the balcony. Really enjoyed breakfast each morning especially the omelette. If I ever visit Wales again, I know where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was probably the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in. Agneta is very friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. Very tranquil setting on the top of a mountain with breath-taking views. The breakfast room is packed with lovely old china and glass, some of which is used for serving the very extensive cooked breakfast. Every sort of cereal is also available. The rooms are really comfortable and clean with huge bathrooms. The dogs are very friendly (although not allowed in the house, so anyone with an aversion to animals need not have contact). There are some magnificant horses in the surrounding fields....in fact when we were there we saw a foal being born.
All in all 10 out of 10. We will have no hesitation in staying here again or recommending to anyone staying in the area. It's well positioned for visiting the Brecon Beacons and lovely old market towns like Monmouth and Usk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2012

its the best place you will find plp r fab rooms r so so good .,,,,,

Room Tip: go for the room with the logburnner in fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypool
2.2 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
7.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
7.0 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Shon Jacob Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Shon Jacob Farm

Property: Ty Shon Jacob Farm
Address: Coch-y-North Lane | Tranch, Pontypool NP4 6PB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Pontypool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pontypool
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Shon Jacob Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ty Shon Jacob Farm Pontypool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing