We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem”

The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Here at The Little Crown Inn we pride ourselves on making your visit as enjoyable as possible, whether you’re just popping in for a quick bite to eat, or staying for a 4 course meal and a relaxing night in one of our 5 en suite guest rooms. . Located in the heart of the valleys and situated next to the cycle track, we are ideally situated for cyclists and ramblers, and are able to cater for large groups as well as small parties. The pub boasts a large bar area, with a restaurant and function room, and is equipped with a pool table and dart board. We’ve themed the corridor leading to the new restrooms on a mine shaft, equipped with real miners’ lamps and gas masks! It’s definitely worth a look! For more information, why not follow us on Twitter or Facebook, or please visit our webpage!
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just back from an excellent meal at the Little Crown, it's only 10 minutes from home and we kept saying 'we must go there' - now we are wishing we had gone sooner. Good menu choices, with Tuesday special curries. Starters and main courses were very big so no room for pudding. Guess we'll just have to go back again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Trevorchris,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor - we only promote ourselves on social networking sites, so all recommendations go a long way!

It is with great pleasure that I read your lovely comments regarding the food here at the Little Crown... and we're glad you enjoyed our 'Curry Night' on Tuesday (we have a different themed night in our restaurant every week night!)...

We hope you'll visit us again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    59
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool
1 review
“One of my Favourite Dining Experiences.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Most of the food here is consistently good. However their forte is the cheap meal. it's not everywhere that inexpensive food includes so much delicious home made stuff. The food popular locally so make sure you book in advance at peak times and Sunday lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tickersoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Tickersoid

Firstly, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review The Little Crown Inn - we rely on customer feedback and word-of-mouth, not only to drive the business forward, but to inspire our continuous improvement!

Thank you as well for your brilliant comment about our Early Bird Menu - we do try to provide something for everyone's taste, whilst trying not to "break the bank" at the same time... As a result our Early Bird Menu, which is available before 6pm, Monday - Saturday, is extremely popular!

Everything on the menu is freshly prepared and home cooked, with one of the favourites being our own Miner's Pie, and all dishes are less than £6.99!

We hope to welcome you back many times in the future...

Kind regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Came here a few weeks back. Can honestly say that the food Is absolutely amazing. The staff also very welcoming and attentive. Will definitely be back soon. Thank you all :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerryj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Kerry

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor - we welcome all feedback and love hearing what our customers really think!

The whole team will love hearing your comments on the food, service and staff - it absolutely makes our day when we receive such a positive response!

We look forward to you visiting again in the future,

Kind regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great welcome”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Little Crown is a great pub with a very good restaurant. The menu is extensive and the food is very good. You always feel at home there and the owners are friendly

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank braddyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi braddyWales

Thank for making the effort to review us on Trip Advisor - it's much appreciated!

We do try really hard to ensure that our menu is varied enough to provide a choice for everyone & it's lovely to know that it does not go unnoticed by our customers!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future,

Kindest regards,

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant venue”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We went to the little crown for our sisters 50th birthday the food and service was outstanding we had a fabulous night and I intend to go back very soon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Dawn

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Little Crown on Trip Advisor ~ we don't advertise and therefore rely on Social Media sites and work of mouth to let everyone know about our delicious food!

I'm so pleased that you had a lovely evening celebrating your sister's birthday - The Little Crown team will be so pleased when I pass on your fantastic comments regarding both the food and the service!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kindest regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing