We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant

The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Here at The Little Crown Inn we pride ourselves on making your visit as enjoyable as possible, whether you’re just popping in for a quick bite to eat, or staying for a 4 course meal and a relaxing night in one of our 5 en suite guest rooms. . Located in the heart of the valleys and situated next to the cycle track, we are ideally situated for cyclists and ramblers, and are able to cater for large groups as well as small parties. The pub boasts a large bar area, with a restaurant and function room, and is equipped with a pool table and dart board. We’ve themed the corridor leading to the new restrooms on a mine shaft, equipped with real miners’ lamps and gas masks! It’s definitely worth a look! For more information, why not follow us on Twitter or Facebook, or please visit our webpage!
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been here on a few different occasions and always found the food fantastic. Staff are welcoming and helpful and the pub is clean and nicely decorated.
we would recommend this for anything for an informal meal with friends to family celebrations - will not disappoint.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ellerees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for taking the time to write your glowing review of The Little Crown Inn...

It's so lovely to hear not only that our customers loved the food, but that you appreciated the service you received as well...

We hope you visit us many more times and continue to enjoy dining with us!

Best wishes,

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    56
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

visited the little crown as they do a very good early bird menu with lots of variety and choice for around £6,there is also a specials board for the day and a regular menu.I ordered off the earlybird menu and opted for the miners pie even though I wasn't entirely sure what it was but was I glad I did fantastic ,my other half opted for the venison burger off the specials board which was also good home cooking at its best,i would recommend this restaurant but only if you want top class food at a great price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolag080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Nicola

Thank you for taking the time to review The Little Crown Inn - we love to hear what our customers think so that we can improve on our high standards!

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Miner's Pie - it certainly is a favourite with the regulars!

We'd love to welcome you back in the near future...

All the best,

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
“great value home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have visited The lIttle Crown Inn several times.I organise social groups as part of my work we have had a group of 35 and pre ordered. The food is great quality proper home cooked food which is great value for money. Service is good and and i feel the Manager and the staff go the extra mile to ensure dining at the little crown is a good experience and for a large group it has all been very efficient and we cant wait to go again in June Anne Carpenter

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Anne

Many thanks for your lovely review of The Little Crown Inn... We welcome all feedback as it helps us to continuously improve our services.

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoy the occasions that you celebrate here at The Little Crown Inn, and look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future.

Best wishes,

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Local business that serves amazing home cooked food. Good value for money with daily specials! Highly recommend paying a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikkibainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi Nikki

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Little Crown Inn, we welcome all feedback as we are constantly trying to improve on our standards.

We're so pleased that you enjoy our home cooked food (I'll make sure to pass your compliments onto the kitchen team!) and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Visited for the first time today and hoping it won't be my last. Had a fantastic meal......venison ragu, and it was one of the best pasta dishes I've ever had! The service was good and the atmosphere relaxed, making for a great lunch time venue, although I would certainly head back for an evening meal, given the standard of the food. My only complaint would be the people at the table next to us asking if my meal was as good as it looked, but I guess that is an extra compliment to the chef!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lgaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Little Crown Inn; we are constantly trying to improve on our standards and welcome all feedback!

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, especially the Venison Ragu ~ we pride ourselves on our game dishes and love to hear that people enjoy them as much as we do!

We hope you'll visit us again in the near future,

Kindest regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Pontypool, Torfaen
 

Been to The Little Crown Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing