We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel(Pontypool)(Great Value!)
$123
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Parkway Hotel & Spa(Cwmbran)
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Llansantffraed Court(Llanvihangel Gobion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
309
96
27
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
309
96
27
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharvester restaurant next doornight's sleepfamily roomgood nights sleepvisit familyeasy accessbudget hotelcomfortable staybreakfast roombusy roundaboutwould definitely stay here againcomfortable roomsbig pitno liftexcellent stayexcellent breakfastshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 447 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stay here quite alot due to work.

Staff always greet you wiith a smile, Gina is a star, but cant fault the others either.

Car park is busy at times due to the harvester, but never had a problem with parking.

Breakfast is made to order and not long to wait.

Harvester gets VERY busy, been told that this one is the 2nd busiest in the chain. but food always hot and fresh.

Always had a good nights sleep and would stay here no problem if it was for personal use. The Team are a credit to Premier Inn

Dave

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukdave1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was the 1st time I have used a Premier Inn and was very impressed. The location was not exactly scenic but it was very convenient for what we wanted. I booked the room well in advance and got a very good price. Check in was very welcoming and the room clean and comfortable and we had a peaceful couple of nights. The full all you can eat breakfast was excellent, with a friendly and efficient waitress. We did make the mistake of eating in the Harvester next door one evening. It was noisy and crowded, the food was not good and the service very indifferent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodgedodge1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

On the outskirts of Pontypool, and next to an extremely busy Harvester restaurant, this hotel has a car park with tiny spaces designed to ensure your car doors get banged at every opportunity.
Rooms are standard Premier Inn, although mine had a small air cooler which was unusual for PI.

The wi-fi is charged at £3 for "24 hour use", and whilst most hotels are now giving it free, Premier Inn deem it something they can add on - that's fine if people are willing to pay, but I wouldn't stay here unless my company used it as a policy.

Breakfast is in the hotel dining area (not the Harvester) and is cooked to order - better than the usual buffet, as it's piping hot, but drawback is, it takes 20+ minutes to arrive..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with family this week. Unfortunately, i arrived by train. Having looked at the map, it was clear that the hotel was only a short walk- but nothing tells you that it's almost impossible to walk it in less than 45 mins, without scaling a railway or dual carriageway.

Then, we had the saga of the room- i called 3 times the week before to check on the location of their family rooms, to see if it was possible to be nearby in a cafe, within 'baby listener' distance. On each of the three occssions, i was told that it was fine, they'd sort it, i could have a room next to reception etc. So on that basis, i booked.

On arrival, they showed us to the room, which was 40 yards down a corridor from reception, with two sets of closed fire doors in between. I immediately asked to be moved to a room closer (as promised on the phone) . The guy on reception said he'd try, and leave it with him. fair enough.

We went for dinner next door and came back an hour later. He hadnt sorted it. "Only option is the room you've got" he said. "What about the rooms close to reception?" I asked. "All taken already"he said. After a long debate, the only option was to take the room we didnt want, as it kids' bed time.

So, we put them to bed. They were just dropping off when there was a knock on the door. Reception guy turned up with the "good news" that a room next to reception was now free because someone hadnt shown up.

All we had to do was get the kids up, move the beds down the corridor, along with all our stuff that we had now unpacked. To move to a room that was clearly free all along and could easily have been switched in one of the earlier discussions. It was the same size as the 'family room' we had come from....

To balance up this review Id also say- the Premier Inn booking service and text reply service is excellent and efficient, the hotel is clean and rooms in decent nick and the Harvester next door does good grub at reasonable prices.

But unfortunately, my memory of this hotel will be its inability to be reached by any means other than car and the poor service we received

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing.

Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Thank you for your time.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night as I was singing at a party just down the road, the check in staff were very friendly, and changed my room without problem as I had been booked into a disabled room by mistake. Unfortunately this hotel doesnt have a lift so you have to carry your case up stairs which isn't too bad. The room was average Premier Inn, clean and comfortable and I had the usual fantastic nights sleep. Met a friend for breakfast the next morning and they told me it was on the house which was such a lovely surprise and treat !! Would definitely stay here again, as I had previously stayed in the Travelodge across the road and the Premier Inn is far superior to that !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews