We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I traveled with a group of 4 adults and 12 teenagers to Wales and England, using this hotel as our base.The rooms and main areas were immaculate, beds comfortable, and the breakfast offerings were amazingly diverse and well prepared. By far what impressed our group about this hotel was the exceptional staff. They truly overextended themselves to make our stay perfect. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Not one disgruntled person. Gina, Denise, Sue, Jane and Garreth are names I recall, but I must say that everyone made our stay memorable. Cheers!

Room Tip: There is no lift--stairs might be an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poodlecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInn08, General Manager at Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Your comments are very much appreciated and we at Pontypool Premier Inn would like to say Thank you for your kind comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    85
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
131
126
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Excellent stay for the long weekend and very conveniently location just across the main point where you can start your journey for the next day in either direction to experience beauty of Wales!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harsimran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInn08, General Manager at Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are pleased that you felt our staff looked after you and made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Your kind comments have been passed on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2011

If you are traveling alone, this is a terrific value inn. The staff are highly helpful, informative, and sociable. The lodgings are no frills, clean, and quiet. Parking can be a bit of a problem at certain times.

Room Tip: This is a good place for solo travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agapeguy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInn08, General Manager at Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you were comfortable and well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights on the £19 deal to do some walking in the local area. Were greeted by Gina who immediately made us so welcome. The hotel is by a busy road but it was not a problem and inside the hotel it was very quiet. I have stayed at the Premier Inn chain before and have always been impressed, but the Pontypool hotel is the best so far. The Harvester next door was convenient for evening food but there are several other pubs not too far away. We loved being able to join the Monmouth and Brecon canal, which is about 150 meters from the hotel. For those that cycle, walk or boat this is just an excellent facility. Turn right on joining the path and within minutes you are in really beautiful countryside where you can stroll for miles. We shall be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busdriver604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInn08, General Manager at Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Your comments are very much appreciated and we at Pontypool Premier Inn would like to say Thank you for your kind comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We always look forward to our stay at Premier Inn, Pontypool, because we know we will have a lovely clean, cosy room and bathroom, with friendly staff who always go out of there way to be help. This weekend we saw the arrival of a grandaughter and one of the staff members, Gina, took the trouble to buy us a card a little present. In the morning we can enjoy an excellent breakfast before we go off to spend the day with the family. It is the perfect arrangement.

Room Tip: As a Harvest Restaurant next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInn08, General Manager at Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We strive to make sure all our guests have a comfortable stay. I am pleased to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and your comments have been passed on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I went with a 5 year old. We had a lovely welcome and were given an activity pack for my son, which he loved. The breakfast was fab, with amazing service, especially for my son. It was his first visit to a hotel and he loved it so much he cried when we couldn;t go back a second night! Not so impressed with the Harvester next door, but that would not affect us using the hotel again, we'd just eat supper elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagofscraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInn08, General Manager at Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments here on trip advisor. Although it is not our intention to make children cry, on this occasion it is very heart warming that such a young child can enjoy their first hotel experience to which we are very pleased that you chose Pontypool. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2011

we booked pontypool premier inn last minute under the £19 per room per night deal and actually booked 3 rooms as we were going as a family of 7, the directions text to me were really quick and easy to follow, the location is brilliant and less than a minute from mcdonalds, kfc and a petrol station so all your essentials are in one place :) checking in was easy and Gina even arranged different rooms than were originally booked for us so we could all be on the same landing, Gina and Gareth were really helpful and friendly, the reception area and all our rooms were clean and well equipped and despite us having a few problems working out the electrics and needing extra towels nothing was too much trouble. We were looking for somewhere specific as part of the reason for our trip was to find some family heritage and Gina knew exactly where we needed to go and the directions she gave were spot on and made finding where we needed to go really easy! on ur second night we were looking for somewhere family orientated to go and Gina suggested the Cywmbran leisure complex and we had a brilliant evening, got a nice meal, game of bowls and some entertainment, parking was free and once again the directions she gave were really easy to follow and wheere we went was exactly as she had described it - it made such a difference having someone so friendly and knowledgable to hand. having had such a wonderful stay we are already planning several more trips back to pontypool premier inn in both larger family groups and also as a couple, we couldnt have hoped for better and will definiteyly be back, none of us wanted to leave today and would have been more than happy to stay a week or more!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresaclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInn08, General Manager at Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are pleased that you felt our staff looked after you and made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Your kind comments have been passed on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypool
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
5.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Address: Tyr'felin | Lower Mill Field, Pontypool NP4 0RH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Pontypool
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Pontypool
Holiday Inn Newport
Premier Inn Newport
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing