We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothers Day”
Review of The Goytre Arms

The Goytre Arms
Ranked #10 of 49 Restaurants in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At The Goytre Arms, you will receive a warm and friendly welcome from our friendly staff.The ambiance is warm, relaxing and cosy. All meals are freshly prepared by our experienced chefs. Our food is locally sourced, from our fruit and vegetables to our meats. We have an extensive selection of meals and deserts to satisfy most peoples needs. We also have a large enclosed rear garden with a children's play area and plenty of tables and seating to enjoy your food outside (weather permitting). We welcome families of all ages. There is a free car park at the front and rear of the pub.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mothers Day”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had a great Mothers Day at The Goytre, nice staggered seating so it never felt too full and more food than I can personally manage. Thanks to all at The Goytre Arms, I'm sure I'll see you again

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RevDrDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    59
    23
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, comfortable seating but slow service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We did not book a table and we were able to choose a seat in the restaurant. We were given menus when we asked for them, but not given them at the bar when we ordered drinks. The food was slow to arrive, 40 minutes from ordering in our case. The table next to us had the same problem and they like us chose not to order a dessert or stay any longer. The food was well cooked and tasty. I dont know why there was a delay, but I would not rush back here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SJones60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service,excellent staff and management.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very good value for money.Staff were very polite and food was good value for money.Second visit and many more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteerKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Goytre Arms..the definition of incompetence”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

firstly on arrival for mothers day lunch; they could not find our booking made 5 days prior. Then eventually when we were taken to the table it was dirty from previous customers' meals.
One of the meals was delivered to the wrong table then oneof four of the correct meals was delivered a considerable time before the other three. Luckily this gave time for the frozen potatoes on the plate to partly defrost. The frozen yorkshire pudding was soggy and the meat tough and tasteless and the gravy watery.
The plates went back looking pretty much the same as they came out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank horsey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torfaen
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent local food with amazing service”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a fabulous meal, well cooked using local butches and produce, we had garlic mushrooms to start and they were delicious servied with warm rolls and steak to follow with allthe trimmings, the service was excellent and so was the food, will definitely be visiting againsoon

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK2985, Bar Staff at The Goytre Arms, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goytre Arms also viewed

Pontypool, Torfaen
Mamhilad, Monmouthshire
 
Pontypool, Torfaen
Pontypool, Torfaen
 

Been to The Goytre Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing