We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of The Lower New Inn

The Lower New Inn
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Description: Enjoy award winning dining at our 17th century coaching inn situated in the village of New Inn. Locally sourced produce with the warmest of Welsh welcomes.
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy award winning dining at our 17th century coaching inn situated in the village of New Inn. Locally sourced produce with the warmest of Welsh welcomes.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in as a walk in we hadn't pre booked., instantly welcomed and a table was found for us. Good selection at the bar all served by great attentive bar staff. We opted for the Sunday Roast and we weren't disappointed the beef was superb and the vegetables perfect. The staff were excellent . All in all a good meal at reasonable price in nice surroundings we will be back.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank mrcard41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had yet another enjoyable lunch. Great choice of menu at outstanding value. Nice relaxed busy vibe. Our waiter was very professional, attentive and polite throughout. Thoroughly enjoyable visit yet again. 5*

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank blackbeauty12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was delicious. Staff were polite, friendly and attentive. We will definitely be returning and recommending the Lower New Inn to friends and family.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NMcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First quite a lot unavailable on menu. My husband ordered the mushrooms to start and the only steak left, a rib eye. I ordered the sea bass.
My husband enjoyed the starter.. Mine was minus the broad bean salsa so was a dry. My husbands steak at first bite was fine. On cutting into it found more sinew and gristle than meat. For the first time ever experienced a tough mushroom and couldn’t eat that. When we complained was told should have complained earlier, when asked when we started our food, if it was ok. Well it was then we explained it was only after cutting into the steak that it was discovered to be inedible. But the young lady, after a lengthy discussion, said she was sorry that was that and there was nothing she could do about it. Well we protested we are not going to pay for it. She asked if we would like to speak to the chef and we said yes. He said he was too busy! She then said she would have offered a drink or a dessert free (a little bit too late). Why didn’t she do that when we complained in the first place! . We declined and persisted we would not pay £20 for rubbish as a matter of principle. Told her to call the police if she so wished.
They did take the steak meal off the bill but still charged for cheese sauce. We were both upset and what we thought would be a pleasant night out to leave a bad taste in our mouths literally.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank mossie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
614daynew, Owner at The Lower New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Mossie47,

Thank you for your review - we were expecting it as you were quite aggressive on the evening you visited. Obviously this review is highly exaggerated but I feel it’s necessary to leave a response so other diners aren’t fooled by your 1 star review.

We have double checked our CCTV footage as sometimes reviews like this make us question our own sanity. We can confirm you were given two check backs (not the one that you have stated). During both check backs not once did you have any issues - only at the end of your meal did you complain that your steaks was fatty.

You ordered a ribeye steak - people who are knowledgable with their steak cuts will know that they are marbled with fat with a piece of fat in the middle. When your plates were cleared all that was left was the middle piece of fat. If you have a dislike of fatty cuts may I suggest you order a fillet steak when visiting other restaurants. You were very rude and aggressive to our waitress when she said you had to pay for the steak as you hadn’t complained during check backs and only left a minimal amount of fat from a 10-12oz ribeye.
The seabass comes with a broad bean salsa - the flavours are fresh and crisp and work wonderfully with our fresh seabass. I guess you were expecting a wet salsa?

Other diners that were sat near you kept asking our waitress if she was okay as you were being so rude and aggressive.

We know we can’t please every person that visits us as people have different tastes. When we receive a genuine complaint we will go out of our way to ensure it’s rectified and ensure the customer leaves happy.

In this instance we obviously failed to meet your very high expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

Fabulous afternoon at Lower New Inn for my daughter's baby shower. The picnic benches were delicious and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything was perfect

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lower New Inn also viewed

 
Newport, South Wales
 

Been to The Lower New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing