We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing time with the best people :-)”
other travelers have booked this property
View of back of Caithness from bottom of garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of back of Caithness from bottom of garden.
Front of house with parking area Front Door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
View of back of Caithness from bottom of garden.
Front of house with parking area
Front Door
Kitchen Diner
Kitchen
View from dining room
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Downstairs Toilet
View from Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom with Super King Bed and TV
Master Bedroom with Super King Bed and TV
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Bedroom 2 with King Bed and TV
Bedroom 3 with King Bed
Bedroom 3 with King Bed
Bedroom 4 with Double Bed and TV
Shower Room
Shower Room
Bedroom 5 with Single Bed
Bedroom 6 with Single Bed
View of rear garden and canal from Balcony
view of rear garden
A family of ducklings on the canal
A barge boat passing by on the canal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Pontypool, Torfaen, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tamsinmat...
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing time with the best people :-)”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a wonderful weekend stay here! The house is immaculate and the views from the Windows and balcony onto the canal are so pretty. Had a yummy BBQ and the balcony is perfect to sit outside and enjoy the countryside. Had an amazing evening with friends :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevieala...
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a place !”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed for the night for a birthday celebration with a group of friends.

This property is totally flawless to say the least. A classy looking building on the outside with plenty of parking space, and it boasts a luxurious, comfortable and plush style on the inside. I would like to add that it was absolutely spotless also. It has a large, picturesque and private garden area that overlooks beautiful Welsh countryside and a lovely flowing canal. You can view all of this from the comfort of a large balcony/decking area.

The facilities are top draw, very up to date and modern, it has everything you need and more.

I would recommend this hidden treasure to absolutely anyone.
100% satisfaction
100% comfort
100% relaxation
100% style

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy H
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for more :)”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Chose 'Caithness' for it's location to Bike Park Wales (only 40 mins away) House is immaculate with the 'little touches' making all the difference, hand soaps in bathroom, complimentary tolietries, tea and coffee and all towels provided. It was a perfect size for our 2 families to share. The children made excellent use of the kayaks and row boat and loved the canal at the bottom of the garden, there was lots to do inside in the games room as well with pool, air hockey and ping pong but we struggled to get them off the water !!! Took the supplied bikes up the tow path to Goytre Wharf, lovely cafe. A lovely weekend away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wow! What an amazing place Caithness is. We have just returned from a 3 night stay (26th-29th may) and can honestly say it exceeded my expectations.

Aside from the wow factor of the house on arrival, the interior is equally as beautiful and tasteful. Comfortable beds, amazing shower and bath, well stocked kitchen, lovely relaxing lounge area, gorgeous decked area which was perfect for a cheeky glass of wine in the evenings and a games room were just some of the best bits! I also loved that there were board games to play
The addition of the canoes, bikes, spacious garden and canal view were also wonderful. The owner has literally thought of everything!

The town is lovely, with a trampoline centre, bowling, cinema etc for rainy days...the kids (and me!) loved Kaspas dessert bar and ventured here for an afternoon in the town when the weather wasn't so good. Luckily for the most part the weather was fabulous and the house is made for lazy, sunny days on the decking with a bbq on

We have already talked about returning and even making it an annual half term getaway, the children loved it so much as did we.

I would highly recommend Caithness as a place to relax for a long weekend or just to get away from it all - thanks to John for accommodating us so well on arrival and we look forward to visiting again in the near future!

Many thanks for a most enjoyable stay, see you soon Caithness!

Kelly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannajon...
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 Star”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a fantastic house! Had an excellent weekend here in April with all the family.
Will definitely return for another holiday. Very high standard accommodation. The weather was lovely that weekend so we were able to use the boat and bikes which made the stay even more enjoyable.
The furnishings were of a high quality, comfy beds and good quality bedding and towels.
The games room was a big hit with all ages of our party.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenso...
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing holiday home!”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Caithness is amazing. It's extremely clean, modern and spacious and is very well equipped. Our ages ranged from 78 to 9 and everyone loved it! The kids made use of the bikes when we had a walk along the canal path. The games room was great too and again was a hit with the kids. The decking area is a bit of a sun trap and we made use of the sunny weather for one of our days, sitting out and enjoying the excellent view. We ate at the local harvester for our evening meal every night, it's only 5 mins away by car. We also visited the 'Royal Mint' to see all the coins being made - I would definitely recommend this, it was really interesting - about half an hour by car.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrinlew...
Bala, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal house for family weekend”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I can highly recommend this house. It was an ideal place for a birthday weekend for our group of 8. It was well decorated and spotlessly clean. It was very well stocked with high quality appliances and equipment. The owners had thought of everything.
Easy access from M4. Close to Cardiff. Spent an enjoyable afternoon in Abergavenny.
The stand out feature of the accommodation was the views from rear of property to garden and canal. We all enjoyed the kayaks and boat. We enjoyed breakfast on the balcony on a warm spring morning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing