We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon”
Review of Dartington Hall

Dartington Hall
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Dartington
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a wander round as we had booked afternoon tea at the white Hart. Got a map from the visitor centre. Lovely place and great gardens. Everyone was really friendly.
The afternoon tea was excellent. Friendky staff and tasty food.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank X935FValisonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 103 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights, beautiful surroundings and a lovely setting ... plenty of walks to be had to take in the stunning views. The hotel is beautiful , the room was a little small but was disappointed... would recommend a stay here

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

Stayed here for one night because Totnes was fully booked,i had stayed in a pub the first night but left .So a taxi to Dartington hall about 5km,must admit nice scenic area and countryside all the way up to the hotel.Quite impressive on first view with the lawns/grounds and church.Many old and historic buildings surround the large green courtyard area near reception.Only paying £76 For a double room on a Friday i thought it was quite a bargain compaired to some of the accomodation in Totnes.On entering the room i was pleasantly surprised with the large room/big comftable bed and the old wooden beams adorning the ceiling and down into the room,lots of character age and that medieval feeling ,only a small window view down to the green,but all in all super for the price,only one thing ,there is a wash basin/toiletries in the room but the shower/toilet is seperate a few yards away outside the room you have your own key.Breakfast is extra,and cheaper if you order when you book in.Taxi fare ranges between £7-£10 back into Totnes.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mickknap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

Sadly the Hall was closed for a wedding on our visit but it is such a stunning building that it did not matter. The chapel in the pld church tower is well worth a visit on your walk around the Halls gorgeous gardens. Formal and wild with absolutely stunning trees. In the wild garden there were amass of orchids. WE could not have enjoyed our visit more.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2019

Went for lunch prior to going to the Barn Cinema in the White Hart at Dartington Hall. Reasonably limited lunchtime menu but quite varied. Sat outside as it was a beautiful hot day. Ordered smoked haddock mash and my frined had bubble and squeak. Arrived in good time and was nicely presented. My food was luke warm but tasty. We went for a wander around the gardens prior to going into the cinema, followed by a coffee in the little cafe outside the cinema. The lady serving was miserable and did not speak much. The coffee was nice but my friends espresso was served in a paper cup that was larger than a half pint. When asked for a smaller cup - she was advised that the dishwasher was broken and they were the only cups available. The ginger cake was delicious and fresh. The cinema was great and the lady selling cinema tickets was charming. However, the loos that served the cafe and cinema were old and very well worn/shabby.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LesSouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dartington Hall also viewed

 

Been to Dartington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing