We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed - First time Diner”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cott Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cott Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Dartington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devonport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed - First time Diner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Previously visited this place which was lovely, warm and staff very helpful and friendly. However the food was disappointing. The meal was bland and looked tired on presentation. We had chips with the meal which looked and tasted like they had been re-fried from the previous day and they were very dry. I will not be dining here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss Flossy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    65
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
54
147
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

My parents stayed here in the 1970's and always said we must go, what a shame we only had lunch - which was posh fish and chips, and delicious, and hadn't arranged to stay the night. Front of house gentleman and lady were delightful, and sounded as though they were genuinely pleased to serve us. We will go again.

Room Tip: We didn't stay, so cannot help here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank residentemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xativa, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here very recently and had a great time. It's very old (1302 and an inn from 1320 I believe,) thatched and is charming and quaint. It has been sensitively modernised with respect to its age. Our rooms were warm, well appointed and so comfortable and that includes the mattresses - nothing lumpy or hard! The owners and all the staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was good and although it is a pub it was not noisy, just a slight, gentle hum. The inn is well signposted and is on a back lane, not a main road. The area has so much to offer anyone who doesn't know it. I'm almost reluctant to share such a delighful place with the world!!

Room Tip: The staff will ensure that you will get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersJoy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely Christmas lunch here and the food was amazing. There was a large group of us which the staff handled brilliantly.

I had beef roast dinner, a colleague had the salmon which looked divine and she thoroughly enjoyed it and the other choice was turkey which everyone loved. Pudding, I had the creme brulee, others had the brownie and frangipan which we all devoured! Clean plates all round!!

Fantastic food, warm and inviting venue, attentive and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dons24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This place is what it SHOULD be all about!! People who LOVE their job and take pride in what they do. NO comparison to the recent dissappointing experience we had at the Halfway House. We stayed for 2 nights and cannot fault anything! Warm welcome from the start, plenty of delicious, piping hot food, entertainment. They made us feel special. Thank you all. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Thatched Inn is well located and well signposted. We spent one night there between sightseeing Castles and taking Steam Train journeys. The staff we friendly and the food was good. The room being in the old part of the inn was uneven which was part of its charm. The breakfast which was included was hearty. We enjoyed our short but welcome stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We came across this pub by making a quick Internet search when we were travelling back from Cornwall and it was truely wonderful.

We were greeted by the most helpful and happy staff who went out if their way to help us feel comfortable with their outstanding service.

The food was simply amazing, so tasty. Great selection of dishes and a seasonal specials board too. Great veggie food options.

We will definitely return next time we are in the area and would totally recommend as a fab meal out.

The whole experience was made special by the attention to detail, from the vase of fresh roses on the tables to the rely friendly staff who made us feel do welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SarahC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartington
1.4 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
5.3 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.3 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#7 of 26 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Steam Packet Inn
The Steam Packet Inn
#5 of 26 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cott Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cott Inn

Property: The Cott Inn
Address: Cott Lane | Cott Lane, Dartington, Totnes TQ9 6HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Dartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous Cott Inn in Dartington is one of the oldest thatched inns in Britain. It is reputed to have been built in the reign of Edward II (1307 to 1327) and has been an Inn / Pub since 1320. More information here.Situated in the village of Dartington near Totnes with beautiful countryside all around, The Cott Inn is a charming traditional family run pub. We are proud to serve excellent locally sourced seasonal food, fine wines and well kept ales, including daily fish specials and fabulous Sunday roast lunches. Perfect for romantic dinners and evenings out with friends, The Cott Inn is also a great venue for private parties with a separate dining room for up to 30 people. Come and enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere, with cosy log fires in the winter months and a large, pretty garden and patio area in warmer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cott Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cott Hotel Dartington
The Cott Inn Dartington, Devon - Totnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing