We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Nights Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Reviewed February 14, 2013

What a lovely hotel..I have visited this hotel for 3 overnight stays and have never been disappointed. The reception staff are friendly and helpful, found that they couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were spacious, cosy and well furnished. The main building has a lot of charm and character. The treatments offered are brilliant and the beauticians were exceptional. The food was lovely with an excellent choice for dinner and breakfast. In the evening the bar was staffed by the loveliest young lady, who was a pleasure to chat with and showed us an old bar that was used years ago that we recalled from a visit years ago....above and beyond!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a fantastic weekend, despite the snow! The staff are extremely friendly, the massage was amazing and so relaxing as was the hand massage and manicure. The bedroom was huge, well worth the money! The only down side was the breakfast which was a little bit greasy but all the other food was lovely. This was our first visit but definately not our last!!!!!

Room Tip: The twin bedroom was huge!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed for one night in single rooms. It was freezing, they don't put the heating on at night at all, even though it was -2 degrees outside. The window was left open all day before we arrived so one room was especially cold. The reception is not staffed overnight so there was no one to complain to until the morning. They simply stated they do not put the heating on at night as policy. I didn't manage to sleep at all from the cold, the windows are not even double glazed so the draft comes through.
I have never written a comment on trip advisor before but thought I should warn you to save yourself £60 per room per night. I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't go, choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay , with four treatments. Myself & both daughters. I found the reception very good, treatments excellent, food really yummy. Very clean rooms, bedding etc. All the staff very helpful,and accomadating. It was my first visit, but I will definately be going again. Yes some areas need a tad updateing,but all was clean.What more could one ask for. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during a friends wedding. Service and staff were great. The hotel sadly needs a lot of investment as it was run down and in need of maintenance. Such a shame as in a lovely location and the building is lovely and situated in lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My 3rd visit to Fieldways, this time with my grandaughter, her 1st hotel experience. We settled in to our rooms before the usual lunch of jacket potatoe, coleslaw, cheese and coronation chicken. Had a quick dip in the hot tub and tested the sauna, before rushing to our 1st treatments. The therapies offered are really relaxing and I couldn't wait for my 2nd Thai foot massage experience with Sarah. Lunch was at 12.00 noon and dinner at 6.30pm, we were grateful for the pack of 2 biscuits supplied with tea and coffee in our rooms for mid afternoon.

Although the main chicken dish lacked sauce/gravy, our 3-course evening meals overall were good, served by a young lady with a pleasant smile. The wine at £10 a bottle good value.

Even though the beds were comfy, both of us slept badly. My grandaughter awoke with a fright - was it a dream? whatever it was, it didn't want to go away and kept her awake for the rest of the night - from 4am onwards. A disturbing experience in room 2, although she would like to go to Fieldways again but in a different room or maybe share a twin room next time.

I agree with earlier reviews about the decor of the Hotel in need of some TLC. Oh, the towel is still mopping up the water at the side of the sauna!! (see August review), the floor near the jacuzzi is dirty and the cloakroom/toilet near the treatment rooms is not flushing properly.

The treatment times advertised did not always match the times taken to complete the treatment, therefore feeling a little cheated of 10 mins or so of chilling time!

Overall, Fieldways offer value for money, with pleasant staff and professional therapists - cheap and cheerful and chilling!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked the hotel hoping to use the health club facilities but an over-run at work meant I checked in late at 8.30pm to be told "The chef goes at 9" which sorted my evening agenda and put paid to any use of the health club!

The hotel itself is a fabulous building (wouldn't like to try and date it but felt like a traditional grand country retreat). I suspect that this is a small business / family run hotel and the struggle to maintain the upkeep of the building must be a never ending one for them. There was nothing wrong with the building at all but just felt long overdue some kind of face lift. My room was quite a hike from reception which was interesting but a touch aggravating carrying a large suitcase. I suspect that disabled customers may experience difficulties in reaching the furthest outposts of the hotel ....... lots of stairs and doors to negotiate, But I am sure that they can offer level access if requested at the time of booking

The evening meal was great, well cooked and promptly served in a lovely oak panelled dining room - perhaps the environment would appeal more to the traditionalists amongst us?

The room was OK - it was small and there was only a shower and no bath, and the TV was tiny I'm afraid. Basic but clean is a reasonable description and to be fair the room rate was favourable so I shouldn't complain. I've certainly stayed in a lot worse and paid a lot more

Overall I wish the owners success and the team there are clearly trying hard, but without a significant marketing plan or injection of cash I don't see much changing on the horizon for them

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocknroller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
2.1 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
1,003 reviews
4.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 34 in Bath
223 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
882 reviews
22.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldways Hotel & Health Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldways Hotel & Health Club

Address: Hilperton Road, Trowbridge BA14 7JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range: $92 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldways Hotel & Health Club 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fieldways Hotel is a small independant family owned Boutique Hotel set in a victorian mansion house. Fieldways is set in its own gardens and in the heart of the west wiltshire. We are in a central location for visiting wiltshire close to Lacock, Longleat, Stonehendge, Salisbury and Bath as well as being surrounded by many other picturesque towns and villages such as castlecombe and bradford on avon, and located approx 1 mile from the beautiful kennet and avon canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Fieldways Hotel & Health Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldways Hotel And Health Club
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club Trowbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing