We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone in our Party loved it at The Old manor Hotel”
Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
1 review
“Everyone in our Party loved it at The Old manor Hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2009

An excellent experience dealing with the reception team for our 17 room booking from start to finish. The bar staff, waitresses and the 'behind the scenes' Chef and staff provided an excellent evening meal including lots of delicious choices to the large party and breakfasts were tasty and well served too, We definitely intend to return someday soon

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NiblickandJigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    248
    87
    22
    12
See reviews for
158
561
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gwent
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed @ the Old Manor Hotel for our 1st year wedding annivesary and booked room 1 the four poster suite & wow! When we arrived @ the old manor house our 1st impressions where oh this is not what we expected but it turned out to be a million times better! The staff there was very friendly and very welcoming, the head waitress was lovely having a chat with us asking where we were from it there was anything in particular we fancied visting that she could let us know where to go, the bar man was also very chatty and helpful advising on the local wine, the manager of the hotel was very friendly when showing us around the hotel. When he showed us the suite both me and my husband where taken a a back is was so unique and cossy, and the bath tub in room 1 is a deffinate must!!!! You can not vist room one and not experience the bath tub, the meal in the evening is gorgeous and very good porttions. Breakfast was also stunning with a lot of choice and again you didnt go hungry! The four poster bed was very comfy and the view from the room was gorgeous. there is not a negative point to say about this old manor house it was the perfect night away, my husband had some reservations about room 1 as we were adjoing to the bar and resturant but the walls are made with stone and you could not hear anything in the bar or resturant. Bath is only a short drive away but we went in on the train which was running every 20mins so no hanging around. We would deffinately go back to this hotel again and would deffinately recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJN-JLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

At the end of a perfect day... you know the sort of day when everything seems to fall into place ....... the sealions performed their acrobatics right in front of our eyes, the lions roared just as we cruised past and the gorilla stood up on his island just as the boat past by, even the heron decided to fly up into the air, change his mind and land again in the pond just as the little train we were traveling on chugged on by....... The sun shone as we unpacked the picnic ..... yep! we were happy bunnies..... and arriving at the Old Manor following a straightforward 20 min drive was equally impressive.
Reception area was small but the welcome big.... we were whisked across the coartyard to the Old Stable Block and ushered into a more than adequate large room. 6' Bed looked very inviting and when we finally retired into its enveloping covers, were not disappointed. Bathroom was beautifully furnished, walk in shower, bath, quality products, fluffy towels. The mini bar in the room had a honesty pot above with a request to pay what we thought reasonable value.......... AND the dinner was delicious.... I had Breast of Duck with Berry Sauce on a bed of Roast Butternut Squash with Rosemary...... hubbie had Fillet of Seabass and roasties....... and a huge bowl of hot, fresh veggies........ followed by Choc Pud with melting centre and vanilla icecream........... and a fair, reasonable price the meal was too................ we slept well and woke late...... hopped over for breakfast - full english.- which was cooked to order and arrived piping hot..... it was substantial and extra toast arrived with a smile............... fruit juice, coffee, fruit, cereal ...
This place is close to major attractions - Longleat, Stonehenge, Bath, Lacock Abbey........ Great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendymcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Without doubt, the Old Manor House is quite the best accomodation available in the Bradford-on -Avon area. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, whether in the house itself or the converted barns and outhouses. A well-stocked bar tucked into a corner of the main lounge keeps the evening hours pleasantly relaxed, and the restaurant serves unpretentious but tasty country fare. To cap it all, there is Tim, a man for all seasons, who welcomes his guests with gentle courtesy and a ready wit. Our advice is...don't miss this one. True value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank posadasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2009

This is a real gem, it exudes charm, warmth and style. Good sized rooms, an unpretentious restaurant and a great location make this ideal base to explore Longleat, Bath and all that West Country has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RH122EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed one night at The Old Manor Hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean. The gardens are lovely. Its a shame we couldn't of stayed longer. Beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2009

It is such a pretty hotel and has been furnished and decorated beautifully combining comfort and style; the perfect antidote to the corporate chains. We enjoyed great service and proper home cooked food and my only regret is that I didn't have time to borrow a selection of the fantastic books and sit in the lovely gardens and just relax and enjoy the view - I'll have to come back to do that!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliafromBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
19.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
524 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
2.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
533 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Property: The Moonraker
Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing