We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“made very welcome”
Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

we stayed for two nights, while visiting bath (caught train from nearby bradford on avon, as parking is expensive). we were made most welcome. the rooms and hotel interiors are superb. the food and service were excellent and we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we set foot in the door.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here just the one night to break a journey and what a lovely place this was. Although quite near to a main road and between towns you feel none of this once you enter the grounds of the hotel. With fields and sheep there is a real feel of the countryside and the place is quite fitting a beautiful old building with plenty of character and charm.
Our room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated, warm with a comfortable bed and a choice of bath or shower.
Breakfast was served in a beautiful old building called the milking parlour and was fresh and homemade. The fruit and yogurt was scrummy. I didnt have cooked breakfast but my partner enjoyed his and aid it was fresh and tasty.

Staff were helpful and friendly in reception.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marysunshine156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just like many reviewers we had taken advantage of the offer of a 5 course tasting menu and a night's stay. We arrived before 2pm but were shown to a room that had been prepared already. The room was opposite the bar & restaurant but we heard nothing once we were inside. Lovely comfortable bed, super bathroom with loads of hot water and most surprising, at least 9 double power sockets!! The service in the bar and restaurant was just right, a couple of quiet drinks before we were shown to our table, plenty of room between diners, very efficient service and a really nice ambience. Breakfast was on the same level, great service and lovely food. Home-made bread and preserves, help yourself to cereal and bread/toast and then order from the cooked menu. Very nice relaxing break, thankyou to all concerned.

Room Tip: We had room 7, outside of the main building overlooking open fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just returned to the Old Manor after a few months away and wow what a difference - it's been revived, and it was a real pleasure to go back. The dinning room has been beautifully re-crafted. The public areas and bar are so much more welcoming. It looks so clean and cared for. Well done all.
One minor (and I mean minor!) point - ditch the self service toaster at breakfast time. Or provide pre sliced bread that toasts. But I will be back :)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

What can we say....from the moment we arrived, everything from staff to food was superb. We were on a one night stay offer through Travelzoo. On arrival we were upgraded to the most beautiful bedroom. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very friendly - a real asset for the hotel. The 5 course tasting menu was delicious. The only negative were the baked beans at breakfast - thin, watery sauce - need to buy Heinz!! Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Just wish we lived nearer!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to Room 17 - beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 33Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We attended the restaurant last night for a 5 course taster meal. We enjoyed both the food and the romantic atmosphere. We hadn't been before but will certainly return, and would recommend to others.
(Our only suggestion would be to sort out the wobbly chairs and maybe a little more heat as was a little chilly)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LucyHarryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

All staff were friendly and enthusiastic and made us feel welcome. The renovations of this old Manor and various out buildings achieve a charming, if somewhat ecelctic, style of of an old country style character.
The quality of the food at dinner was exceptionally good and breakfast wasn't far behind. Breakfast had a good and varied menu and nothing was too much trouble.
Will certainly be tempted to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristchurchMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
19.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
3.9 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
756 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range: $79 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing