We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely girly pampering afternoon”
Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had arranged an afternoon at The Old Manor hotel to celebrate various birthdays, including my sister's 30th.
On arrival we were welcomed to our personal lounge room, with a welcoming open fire.
We started with a light lunch. I had a divine farmhouse terrine, apple mustard and homemade soda bread. My friends enjoyed a rabbit soup which they both said was delicious.
This was followed my tea, and the most lovely little cake platter to share, which lasted us the afternoon!
One by one, we went for our treatments with the hotel's wonderful therapist Karen.
I had a wonderful back, neck and shoulder massage, and came away feeling revitalised and relaxed. Karen was so knowledgeable, and passionate about the lovely organic products she was using.
I returned to the lounge whilst my friends had their treatments, and enjoyed further tea and cakes.
The whole afternoon was relaxing, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the Old Manor.
I would highly recommend an afternoon/evening/overnight here for a girly pampering day, or civilized hen party, and look forward to returning for a full evening meal, as the menu looks delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 988 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our mini-moon in August this year. Knowing the owners had only just taken over, and having read old TripAdvisor reviews, I was a little concerned but my husband and his mother had spoken to the owners and were reassured.

Pulling into the car park my stomach sank as the back of the house has some shabby-looking sheds that take away from the beauty of the common, and it didn't make a great first impression. Entering the house though was another matter - the stunning gardens and wonderfully presented rooms enchanted me and the girl on reception was very welcoming, albeit with bad news (a powercut meant we couldn't have our previously chosen room) but she let us choose from the available rooms and we selected one with wonderful views and a fantastic big bath.

The following day we were due to move into our original room but the television in that room was broken, so we moved again, into a fantastic suite with wonderful heavy curtains, a roll-top bath and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The only faults (I am nit-picking here!) are that the carpet is a bit rough in texture, and the curtain rail for the over-bath shower is too small, meaning it does stick to you quite a lot.

The food at dinner was ok, nothing to complain about but nothing outstanding, although I hear a new chef is coming soon. I did love the breakfast in particular (always came with masses of hot toast every day, with amazing butter!) and the staff were lovely. The dining room and lounge have a great atmosphere but the bar could do with better stock, especially of local ales as there are a few breweries nearby that have a great reputation.

The hotel and the rooms are definitely rustic chic, so if you're expecting the clinical presentation of a corporate city hotel, you might be in for a shock. Personally, I love this style, but I can see how others may not like it, but then I can't imagine why you would come to the Old Manor if you wanted urban minimalism.

Location wise it was great for us, as we planned to do a lot of driving around the region, visiting Bath, Longleat, Stonehenge etc. If we had wanted to spend more time in Bradford the location is not as convenient as it isn't quite close enough for a leisurely walk and the bus seemed quite expensive. We ended up driving to Bradford on our last day, and there was plenty of parking in the train station car park during the week (can't vouch for weekends though). Bradford itself is lovely and I wish we'd had more time to explore it. Trowbridge isn't as nice, but has handy supermarkets if you need supplies.

Overall, given the owners had only been in possession for a few weeks when we visited, we think this place is great. So close to perfection; just a few tweaks here and there needed.

Thanks to everyone at the Old Manor we had a lovely mini-moon, even with the power cut and room hiccups, and we would love to come back, especially hearing about all the exciting plans the new owners have. I just wish it wasn't so far otherwise we'd be regular visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SianInScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We decided to stay here following a travelzoo deal. On arrival we received a pleasant welcome and we were shown to one of the courtyard rooms separate from the main building.

The room was furnished with a four poster bed and dated furniture but I suspect that this was designed to be in keeping with the hotel. Whilst the room was spotlessly clean it was unheated and took a few hours to warm up after turning on the radiator.

We ate dinner in the restaurant from a small but interesting menu but we were disappointed when two of our first choices were unavailable. The food, when it came, was well presented and of a good quality.

The wine list was extremely limited and was pretty average and overpriced for what they were. We were told that they were in the process of changing their supplier. £25 for a South African Shiraz should be something a bit special but it wasn't. The house red and white wines were French and at £5 for a small glass were again, a disappointment.

Breakfast the following day was freshly cooked and more than adequate.

The staff were friendly throughout.

Worth considering for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickMaggieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a two night voucher deal which included a three course evening meal on the first night.

Very good food and helpful staff.

We left the car and got the bus from just outside into Bradford-on-Avon.

Walked around the country park and found our way onto the canal, we walked for four miles and passed several pubs on route and had refreshments in the one at Avoncliff.which had a garden going down to the Avon. Saw herons close up on our walk to Dundas Aquaduct and then got the bus back into Bradford-on-Avon.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs above reception so in the old part of the house. There were rooms separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billyboysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very good food, although choice limited (especially puddings) possibly due to pending arrival of new chef. Service careful, quick and meticulous. Staff were all very friendly and exceptionally courteous and helpful - young staff and youngish new owners, who are refittting and redcorating the hotel (3 months in). Our room, as whole hotel, had solid antique to Thirties furniture, not the sort you have to treat with care, but interesting and original. All very clean and well-equipped. Shower pressure a bit low, but no big deal. Wonderful lounge with Listed interior, and good board games. Dining room a little dark, but loads of candles gave atmosphere (tho not much light!). Grounds interesting, with pretty gardens.

Room Tip: Saw three rooms, and all were fine and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCRCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We returned to this hotel following a stay last Christmas. We were very pleased to see that the new owners had made several significant improvements. The reception area was much improved and the lovely lounge in the old building was now open to residents. We had the same room as before, and this had been made more spacious by rearranging the furnishings. The restaurant was much more welcoming, with excellent food at very reasonable prices. All in all we were very pleasantly surprised and may well return in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old building have great character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for one saturday night only on a dinner bed and breakfast package in a deluxe room.
The Old Manor itself is an absolutely fabulous building. The accomodation and eatery buildings are sympethetic and tasteful conversions to match the main building. The staff were friendly, upbeat, and eager to make the stay pleasurable. We have recommended to friends and will be revisiting here personally in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
0.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
19.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
739 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
455 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range: $86 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing