We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and comfy hotel.”
Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and comfy hotel.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We rolled up to the hotel on a wet and windy night and were greeted by friendly staff and made to feel very welcome. We had bought our stay with a voucher as we were wanting to explore the area and it was a perfect base.The hotel is very attractive and our bedroom was superb. Our bed was extremely comfy and we slept a treat. The hotel is full of interesting things to look at and we were impressed by a great stack of games for guests and a selection of books in the bedroom. We would ceratinly come back.

Room Tip: Suggest upgrade to a room with a four poster bed which was really comfortable and quirky - worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank croydonflightpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    247
    87
    21
    12
See reviews for
158
559
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Unfortunately The family and I had to travel home for a Family Funeral but just through chance found this hotel.

First impressions are that its a little dated but that only adds to the experience. We stayed in the original house with quirky rooms with the old beams and latches on the doors

House is full off stuffed animals and other artifacts - would have loved the time to explore more

Didn't sample the restaurant or the bar but the breakfast was good cooked to order with local products. Home made preserves on the table and available to purchase - the pink grapefruit is great

If the needs be I would book again without any thought and at £35 p p for B and B its good value as well

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berks
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and our 23 month old son have just returned from a 2 night stay at the old manor hotel. We were using a living social voucher. The staff were excellent, the hotel is very nice and our room was lovely and they had put up a travel cot for my son. We had dinner on our first night and it was very nice, again the staff were fab. The breakfast is delicious, they even have homemade jams and marmalades ( these are also available to buy) . Overall we had a excellent few days and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skerby25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here with a hotel voucher.
We were greeted warmly and shown to our room. The room was quite small but absolutely lovely, had all facilities and a very comfortable bed. The TV didn’t have the best reception, neither did the Wi-Fi but you don’t come away for a few days to watch TV or use the internet.
We chose to eat in the restaurant that evening, the food was delicious, no complaints at all.
The bar did close very early and we managed to ask a lady who happily supplied us with a bottle of wine, we sat in the lounge area playing supplied games which was lovely.
The breakfast was served the next morning was lovely and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
We were out for the whole day.
Again, the bar closed very early so we could not get a drink when we arrived back, which was a shame.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel, it is very pretty, quirky, with lovely staff members and it would be a pleasure to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereissummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed one night on a special offer. Was disappointed with the fact that Room 17 was not available to us. It was explained to us that the window was broken and Room 10 was allocated. The only thing wrong with the room was the bed it needed a new mattress it felt like sleeping on the hard board. It was very a uncomfortable nights sleep. Everything else in the room was OK except lightbulbs not being replaced when they don't work! I thought this would have been a simple task to rectify. The main disappointment was the evening meal. My husband ordered the salmon to start and found the skin hadn't been removed very disappointed as he didn't eat it. I ordered the steak and it was cremated. Not the best. Should have been provided with a proper steak knife to cut it. Overall very over priced for what we received. The breakfast made up for it very nice. Staff very nice. Would stay again but not eat evening meal there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapidoBradfordonAvon, Owner at The Moonraker, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Emma, unfortunately the window frame in Rm17’s bathroom was broken.
We tend towards harder beds at The Old Manor, if the mattress had been worn out, I fear it would have been soft or lumpy.
Skin on fish is a difficult subject. I love it but it is a simple matter to remove it. It also adds flavour during cooking.
We have received two complaints about overdone steak and chef is looking into it. I would always ask guests to bring issues to our attention. Cooking another steak is no problem. Please tell us before you tell tripadvisor! We can put it right, Tripadvisor cannot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We took advantage of a special voucher offer for two nights bed and breakfast last week and loved every minute of our all too brief stay at the Old Manor. From start to finish (and despite the cheapness of the deal) the staff were totally welcoming, friendly and smiling and each and every one couldn't have done more to give us such a memorable visit - nothing was too much trouble. On arrival we were shown to a room in the annexe and were amazed to find it was really luxurious - beautifully furnished and presented, immaculately clean and with every mod-con we could possibly require. It was lovely and warm on a chilly January afternoon and so comfortable too. There was a gorgeous, roomy bathroom for us as well. We simply couldn't have asked for more. Breakfast on both mornings was also a delight with an excellent range of choices whatever your taste, prepared to perfection and served with a smile. From start to finish we truly couldn't fault the Old Manor, its hospitable owner, Tim, and his brilliant staff, especially Ryan and Linda. The location too is great with so much super walking in the area, the chance to hop into Bath by bus (foc with our passes!) and with so many other lovely towns of interest to explore. Heaps of history too, of course. We'll return, that's for sure! And, having read some of the earlier reviews, we have to wonder if they actually stayed at the same hotel!

Thanks once again for looking after us so royally, Tim - much appreciated and enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed in an anexed building. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was clean and of high quality. That is where my good review ends. Carpets were dirty, cold water was warm, hot water was like lava. The shower was very poor, no markings, very low pressure and temp varied greatly.

Breakfasts were good but evening meals were poor. Steak was very over cooked and sauces tasted like they came from a jar / packet.

Most of the staff were very good and friendly.

At this price I expect a lot more.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mbusiness2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapidoBradfordonAvon, Owner at The Moonraker, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Ok, here goes. Your review is largely unfair. I agree, my staff are great, so are most other things:
1. Our carpets are vacuumed every time we service a room.
2. I’ve never had a complaint that water is too hot. If the cold supply runs warm, it just needs to run for a minute and it goes cold. Or call reception. Simple.
3. The showers are sometimes sensitive, like your good self.
4. I was always taught that if you make a mistake you should have the opportunity to correct it. You chose not to give us that opportunity with your steak. We would have gladly cooked another one. I do not recall an uneaten steak returning to the kitchen. I have yet to meet a chef who gets it right every time. I am sorry if he did overcook it.
5. Our sauces are home made. We do buy in Heinz Tomato Sauce, Hellmans Mayonnaise etc, as does the Claridges(probably).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
19.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
524 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
1.8 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
439 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Property: The Moonraker
Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing