We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a great location !”
Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
North London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a great location !”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights and had a wonderful stay. The hotel staff were friendly and very accommodating. Food was excellent, and the wine exceptional. Breakfasts were freshly cooked to order and we loved the homemade local jams and marmalades! perfect location for anyone! Bradford Upon Avon has a perfect setting and as nearly xmas festooned with lights and baubles, very picturesque. Lovely walks, views, and with Bath just a bus ride away, perfect place for a couple of days out of the city of London - thank you to all the staff at the Old Manor Hotel. Keep those chefs!!!

Room Tip: Superior room was very quaint and warm and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    244
    86
    21
    11
See reviews for
154
548
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It's not often i leave a review but I was so pleased with the quality of my room (really generous in size) the cleanliness of the hotel and the very friendly staff that I can definately recommend it to anyone who hasn't stayed in Bradford upon Avon before, I will be staying there again when the opportunity arises, in short it was a lovely place to stay at a very competitive rate with very helpful and welcoming staff, well done to The Old manor,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STUART N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Found this hotel on Laterooms website, it had good reviews so booked as they gave you the option of having a ground floor room. Friendly reception gave, had a superior twin room which was spacious and clean. Mum liked the fact that we had chairs to sit in (and could watch the telly from), and not have to sit on the bed. Shower and bath available in our room.

Restaurant was nicely set out, log fire blazing, staff friendly and efficient. Pleasant to be able to sit in the lounge area after you've had your meal, rather than at your table all evening. Food very good, can recommend the chocolate brownie! Good choice for breakfast.

Ideally located about 10 minutes drive from Bradford on Avon. Good base to explore the surrounding area. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1111travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I booked into the hotel to celebrate mr birthday and our anniversary. The room (17) was superb both in comfort and cleanness. We ate in the dining room the first night of our stay and the service was wonderful and matched the quality of the food. We were so impressed that we will be taking the inlaws next time.

Many thanks to Chris and his lovely team

Debs and Richard

Room Tip: If possible ask for room 17 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We arrived at the hotel for a nights stay, as soon as we arrived, we were made welcome by the staff. We were shown our room, which was lovely. We had a knock on the door and asked if wanted an upgrade, we were shown the room, which was fabulous. We were upgraded to a superior room. Well worth the stay. The staff in the morning were all helpful, the breakfast was lovely including the home made jam. A lovely choice for breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Well what can I say - my hubby and I enjoyed a wonderful night at this wonderful hotel. We stayed in Room 10 and it was warm and cozy and had a canopied bed. A bottle of Champagne waited for us on our arrival. The room was beautiful the furnishings were in keeping with an old property. I just loved it.
Hubby loved the 6X that was on tap and the lively discussion with the Manager Chris.
Breakfast was a delight. We both decided the full english was going to be too much so we opted for the Scrambled eggs and wonderful smoked salmon all served by a wonderful lady. The home made jams and marmalades were to die for. My husband and I are trying to sort out 2 night stay before Christmas for a romantic getaway. Well done to the wonderful staff at this wonderful hotel!!

Room Tip: There are no rooms that would be quieter as the hotel is in the middle of fields. Room 10 was wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Me and my husband went on a Living social deal for a couple of days away so was fantastic value for money. Hotel was very clean and freindly, excellent breakfast and eveing meal had a pleasent stay only negative there was a frosted window in bathroom that looked into seating area think this should be covered with a blind and would remove carpet from bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapidoBradfordonAvon, Owner at The Moonraker, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Sue, Thank you so much for the nice review. Sorry you missed the curtain in the bathroom, it does completely cover the frosted window! We put a curtain there as we thought it looked better than a blind! Never mind, I hope it did not spoil your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
5.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
512 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
426 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Property: The Moonraker
Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor
The Moonraker Trowbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing