We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average”
Review of The Poplars

The Poplars
Ranked #2 of 94 Restaurants in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Poplars is a family run country pub & restaurant, offering delicious home cooked food, a friendly atmosphere & great service. Situated in the lovely Wiltshire village of Wingfield between Trowbridge & Bath, whether you wish to enjoy a quiet drink in the bar or dine in one of 2 restaurants, you're always welcome.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very friendly welcome, reasonable selection of starters and main courses, service felt very rushed leaving no time between courses. Pate dish was awful, very sloppy with no taste, we ordered the slow roast lamb which was poorly presented but tasted nice, the duck however was overcooked to a inch of its life and the vegetables were tasteless. The Bar Manager and senior waitress were extremely friendly and genuine however the other staff should be working in a fast food restaurant. We eat out on a regular basis and always recognise good service and food by leaving a gratuity however on this occasion we did not leave a tip as it was not warranted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    99
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Pub food and nice staff too”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Have eaten here several times of late and always been satisfied. The standard dishes are typically British such as cod, chips and mushy peas or liver and bacon plus vegetables or cottage pie etc etc. Portions are ample and food well presented. The menu also includes various steak dishes and the Specials board has a large selection of more exotic dishes too. The puddings are jummy and portions ample. The staff are very pleasant and anxious to please. Altogether a nice dining experience especially at weekend lunchtimes when diners in the conservatory may well have a good view of the local cricket team who's ground adjoins the inn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice pub, great food”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Excellent food and attentive staff. Very large specials menu makes up for the limited standard menu. I had the Swordfish steak which was delicious and my companion had the fillet of beef, both were excellent. Nice pub in a nice location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuranda, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“My aunt's favourite dining spot”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is tradition now that every time we visit our elderly aunt we have to do lunch here at this very English pub, and it is a good place to know about. Good quality food, good size portions, cheerful service though we had a bit of an incursion of wasps at one point just to liven things up. The eccentric landlord was fined recently for having too many lights about the place, and apparently one of his cars has bizarre illuminations too, i'm thinking Kurt Russell "Escape from New York" style chandeliers on the limo maybe? All in keeping with the place anyway, so watch out for him, sounds like a real character!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great staff, not blown away!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Popped here on a fine Sunday lunchtime. Lovely surroundings inside and out. Friendly staff and quick service.

I just wish I could rave more about the food. My husband had a ploughmans, now he may be a simple man but the choice was ham or cheese. He would have liked both and observed with the lack of apple and cheese it was just a rather expensive ham salad. I had a crayfish roll which was rather nice and freshly made, the side offering of wedges were oil all the way through and tasted like the had been cooked and reheated.

Not major grumbles no, and we would go back if passing but I would enthuse over the food on this occasion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enjoylife_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poplars also viewed

 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Poplars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing