We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good takeaways”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tale of Spice

Tale of Spice
Ranked #16 of 93 Restaurants in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good takeaways”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We order once a month and have never been let down on the quality or quantity of food delivered.

We cheekilly call 10 minutes before they are officially due to open and they will always answer and take your order

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank caroline_n735762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    43
    15
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very disapointed with our takeaway!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We ordered a take away from Tale of Spice on Friday 2nd Nov. We had a Chicken Pathia, Lamb Jeera and Lamb Madras as mains. Madras and Jeera were tasteless and were nothing like what they should have been. We are avid indian food eaters and regularly eat out at indians every fortnight. We had a mediocre curry from them last time but seeing as the other 5 times had been good, we decided to give it another shot. So i phoned them up to give them feedback and complain about the quality only to be told that if i didn't like it, i should go elsewhere. When i challenged this repsonse i was then told that if i had phoned up when i placed my order and told them that the last curry was not 100%, they would take extra care on this one and make sure it wasn't s**t!! So basically unless you give them hell they serve sub standard food as normal!! Then he said that it could be that the chef got the curries wrong and we had the wrong order but that they were not prepared to change it. The further he argued with me the more he dug his grave. Needless to say when critisised he decided to take the offensive. No thought of customer service. I asked him whether the chef maybe didn't take so much care on takeaways Vs Restaurant covers, to which he said and i quote "I cannot comment on how the chef prepares covers".

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryanair919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

All the ingredients are top quality and prepared/cooked to perfection. All truly authentic. The price is also very reasonable with drinks being at good prices also. This reastaurant is to be highly recommended

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank caprontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The BEST Indian restaurant in the county town - no doubts at all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have eaten here plenty of times, the staff are always very polite and friendly, the service is quick, the food absolutely excellent! the restaurant isn't huge but comfortable and I have been there with a party of ten before food was still perfect and service quick. The place itself is nice, everything is clean and bright and there are smiles every where you look! a lovely evening with perfectly cooked wonderful food.

My Partner and I enjoy the tale of spices food so much that we only ever order from there if we are indulging in a take away too! ( and as it goes the take away food is just as brilliant... piping hot, perfect and tasty with fast delivery, they even throw in poppadums, onion salad and dips with no charge... fab!!)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chellehoney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Lovely food and atmosphere, conveniently located, friendly staff, tasty house specials. Will definitely be going back

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank WelshladyWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tale of Spice also viewed

Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 

Been to Tale of Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing