We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home - with Fabulous Cusine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilbury Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Trowbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home - with Fabulous Cusine”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We felt compelled to write a review, something we don't normally do, as We had an absolutely lovely stay at Hilbury court. Its a small family run hotel, complete with Dog and Cat. The owners John and Diane were really welcoming and gave us great advice where to visit, other than Bath. Justine who checked us in was very friendly & even helped us to our room with luggage - that's something you just don't get today. A relaxing lounge, that really does make you feel like your at home , just our slippers missing... although they were provided, along with big fluffy bath sheets in our spacious room. The room we had we loved, lovely bedding,the bathroom a bit dated, although we understand they are going to be updated.

We ate in the Restaurant, and only a handful of diners, and our food was just divine, everything cooked fresh to order, so much flavour in everything we ate, just delicious, we just couldn't understand why the restaurant of such good quality wasn't full.

We were advised that a big chain hotel had recently opened nearby, and they as a hotel, were feeling the impact... What a terrible shame, as this really is somewhere you should stay.
We were made to feel very very welcome, ticked all the boxes and more for us.
Its perfect for visiting Longleat, Bath, Lacock & Castle coombe, which we found incredible, and im in no doubt that if we get another weekend break, , we will definitely be staying at the Hilbury.
thank you to all of you for a lovely break

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, as busy road out the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixonsara0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    32
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
21
36
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
182 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Wanted a halfway stop off on a journey north so booked this based on good reviews. They did let us know in advance that the restaurant was fully booked for a Christmas party. While is was great of them to let us know in good time it has affected my review as part of the reason for booking was the well graded restaurant on site which we were now unable to use. I realise that business is business however no room for guests will affect satisfaction. The room was clean and well furnished and a little too warm. The ensuite was mistaken for a cupboard on first inspection. It did contain a Shower, sink and bog (just) however Tardis it ain't. Breakfast was a little disappointing with the FEB failing to excite. I love B and B's that use local quality ingrediants rather than the budget cash and carry lines. It does have a decent bar on site, and the owner and staff were decent and welcoming. Based on the cost and quality of the following night B and B in a Premium Inn I would say this place is £20 overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilbury, Owner at Hilbury Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are only sorry that you could not have stayed and also enjoyed a meal at the restaurant, however it is christmas, and we have been fortunate to be booked up throughout, and therefore letting our guests checking in, that the restaurant was not available and we assisted guests in finding somewhere else to eat. With regards the rooms, we are very aware the rooms, particularly some of the bathrooms are small and in fact in need of renovation, but we have only been here a short while and the renovation is a long term project,
I would like to advise we offer a good selection of breakfast, with fresh fruit salad, choice of cereals and a good English Breakfast which is good quality, local produce, cafietieres of good quality coffee and selection of teas, and selection of eggs, and freshly cooked to order. . Our room prices are on par with other local hotels, and feel they are an honest price for what we offer. I am sorry that you felt your breakfast was below average.

We are working really hard to make peoples stay as enjoyable as possible and hope this will not deter people from booking hilbury court hotel.
Once again, thank you for youre feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcome. Room cleaned and I liked the deco even though I normally prefer a more modern and minimalist look. En suite a bit cramped but lots if nice toiletries. Breakfast was good value with good choice for a small establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b21r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here one night for our anniversary. I made a relatively late booking and made a couple of special requests which were accommodated. Really friendly staff, great food, spacious and clean rooms, really couldn't ask for anything more. Also was given some advice to go to Lacock village which was amazing. I would definitely recommend staying here and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristian28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here for the night 30th November 2013. The hotel is family run and we had a warm and friendly reception. Nothing was too much trouble, from the owner offering to leave me a key when I rang to say I would be arriving early, to the owner offering to lend my brother some clothes when he forgot his gear for a party we were attending. The rooms were clean and well furnished (present owners fairly new and are in the process of refurbishment so the room was slightly dated, but the price reflected this) The breakfast was excellent. The public areas of the hotel were beautifully decorated and the service overall was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel, far preferable to a chain hotel and very competitive in price

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed at Hilbury Court for two nights this week with a colleague. What a find! The car park is enormous - always a plus in a town hotel. The receptionist was so welcoming - we felt at home straight away. There was a small issue with one single room plus a double room for single occupancy having been booked for us. Not the hotel's fault and they rectified the situation as best they could. It did however bring to our attention that the single room was extremely small! The double rooms for single occupancy are only about £10 more so worth bearing that in mind if travelling alone. The double rooms are very spacious and en suites are a little dated but in the process of being updated although they're quite adequate.
Now to the restaurant and the quality of the food. It was, quite simply, superb. The rib eye steak I ordered was the best I've ever tasted. Everything was beautifully cooked - couldn't fault it. Breakfast too was fabulous. Full English on offer plus so many options of buffet items we were spoilt for choice - and very full! The staff were all so helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
All in all a great hotel and on our next business trip to Trowbridge we will definitely be booking in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommajools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

There were 9 of us for my Dad's 70th Birthday. Hotel is local to us but never been there before but were we pleasantly surprised.

Food was gorgeous and steaks were melt in the mouth. My sister had the chicken nad she was really pleased with her dish too.

Although a little on the pricey side its worth it especially for a special occasion and I think you get what you pay for - quality and excellent food.

Staff and service were also excellent too.

Would definitely recommend and will be returning again. Very impressed!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
0.4 mi away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
1.5 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
512 reviews
5.3 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
208 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilbury Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilbury Court Hotel

Property: Hilbury Court Hotel
Address: Hilperton Road, Trowbridge BA14 7JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilbury Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Audrey & Eddy, welcome you to Hilbury court hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hilbury Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilbury Court Hotel Trowbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing