We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed.”
Review of The Polebarn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Polebarn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently travelled from the US to UK to charter a narrowboat and cruise the Kennet & Avon Canal. Since this was a bit of an unusual vacation, I knew we would need at least a night to allow our bodies to adjust to the time change, so we looked for a hotel close to the departure point (Hilperton). What good fortune to find the Polebarn. Our rooms were spacious, and the bathroom was modern and immaculate. We were warmly greeted upon our arrival and shown our rooms for a quick nap before we ventured out to explore the town and stocked some provisions for our cruise. The beds were very comfortable, and I can't think of a single thing that we needed that wasn't instantly attended to. Was it ultra-posh and overdecorated--no, but it was comfortable, clean, friendly and convenient. I'd recommen it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, let them know--there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountainboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I needed to stay in Trowbridge for a couple of nights for a family function.

We needed some early breakfasts and needed to change some rooms around at the last moment bu the owners were totally flexible and just a pleasure to deal wi th.

Our room was lovely and felt very homely.

Everything about the hotel could teach some many of the chain hotels a lot about customer service and just ensuring that guests have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_charter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Room was great with a big modern bathroom and excellent shower.
Only stayed one night but breakfast was good
The couple running the hotel are wry friendly and welcoming
Great vale for money.
I would recommend the polebarn hotel to anybody. :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_eli15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the polebarn Hotel in Trowbridge for one night and the hotel is lovely full of character. We stayed in room 8 which was hugh . We had a lovely double bed and our daughter had the pullout sofa bed which she thought was fantastic. THe decor was in keeping with the character of the hotel - lovely antique furniture !!
Natasha and Liam the hosts were charming and nothing was too much trouble - we had an amazing weekend and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.
Trowbridge itself was very quaint and we would have liked to spend more time there to explore further

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

After our long trip from Vietnam and drive down from heathrow airport we received a really warm and friendly welcome from Natasha, it was to remain so right throughout our stay and in fact extended from all the staff.
The hotel has lots of old world charm and we felt at home there, the rooms are a little on the small side but very comfortable and the bathroom was fully modernised so all in all we were very happy.
As my daughter and son in law live in Trowbridge we will be visiting again and we will be more than happy to stay in the Polebarn, thankyou everyone for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My original plan was to arrive in the morning, but flight delays caused me to arrive at 1:30 a.m. They greeted me warmly, simply gave me a key and told me all other checking-in could be done later. Felt just like being at our friends house.

My need was simply a place to sleep as my friend I was visiting lived nearby. This hotel fit the bill beautifully. The room was large enough for myself and my very tall friend, including the bath which was modern and roomy. It was clean and cozy, had a tea pot in the room, large stand up mirror, and they lent me a blow dryer so I didn't have to bring my own.

The breakfasts were yummy, Liam cooks up a mean omelet.

My ONLY negative was climbing to the 3rd floor. From the breakfast area, it's 48 steps to my floor. With bags, it can be daunting for some. Without bags, a needed exercise.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, for the money, it is a great value.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the climb, the third floor has a great breeze at night. Any walking problems a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Writer03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nice hotel in old Georgian building. The owners are currently renovating the rooms to make them look modern but in keeping with the building's age. We stayed in a group and some of the rooms were a little small, but they were all cosy and comfortable.

Hotel convenient and cheaper than staying in Bath city centre (but you do need to bear in mind the £6-7 return train ticket). It has onsite parking.

The breakfast was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for us. I'd definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room size varies, so ask when booking. Rooms on one side have a view of one of the Wiltshire chalk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sairz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
0.7 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
1.7 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
543 reviews
2.7 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
247 reviews
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Polebarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Polebarn

Address: Polebarn Road, Trowbridge BA14 7EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price Range: $79 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning historic Georgian Town House Hotel in the heart of Trowbridge. Owned and run by two generations of the same family. Modern facilities in a grand setting. Fabulous breakfast cooked to order each morning. Serving delicious evening meals in our Cellar bar and restaurant Mon-Thu evenings, room service also available during these times. Our cellar is available for hire for parties, weddings and events. Weekday hire available for meetings, seminars, training and creative thinking! Please see our website or contact us directly for best rates and availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Polebarn Hotel Trowbridge
The Polebarn Trowbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing