We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff make all the difference”
Review of Godolphin Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Godolphin Arms
Ranked #2 of 8 Marazion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff make all the difference”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

From being received through meals and checking out, all staff were friendly and helpful special mention of Geoffrey and David fabulous gentlemen always cheerful. Clean rooms, well insulated from gusts and cold winds that we had during our stay. Gorgeous views of the mount. Food was great including room service. Great local produce and ales. The bar area is dog friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wedphotographers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    95
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
108
251
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wow - this place is amazing. This is a large old pub set right on the coast with the most amazing views of St Michael's Mount. We stayed in a room on the lower floor. The room was spacious, well appointed, quiet and of course had that great view.

There's not much to do in the tiny village, but the walk across the causeway and back at low tide is great. The food at the Godolphin Arms was excellent (but see below), as was the service. Big high five to Ben on reception who sorted out a booking problem for us (hint: don't ever use booking.com).

We were pretty stunned that they let dogs into the dining room. Fortunately this happened after we had eaten otherwise this would have been a very different review! Needless to say we didn't have breakfast there.

This is a great place for some R&R or as a stopover when exploring Cornwall. We would consider staying there again (it's the dog thing that bothers us).

Room Tip: View view view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msdcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Godolphin Arms in early June and found it a very relaxing place to use as a base. Staff were very helpful and courteous. They do though need to exercise some control over patrons with feral children.

Our first night was in room 2, I think and it was really great with views of St Michaels Mount. The next two nights we were located downstairs, and while the room was very good one has to get there via a very smelly and grubby passage, with a laundry I believe and store rooms. Definitely a bit of a disappointment.
That aside it is a good place to stay, and has a good carvery. As part of a larger group we had a dinner for some 25 one night and although there were some minor issues with some meals, it was a good night and the staff did well.

The Hotels location is right opposite St Michaels Mount, and a short distance to Penzance, and Lands End, with some excellent walks available.
Another day we visited St Ives, Using the "park and ride" and train to get there.
While it was an interesting place, the seafront is a bit of a let-down with tatty shop fronts, and a "hodge podge" of down market shops. Basically a bit tacky!
The back streets though are very interesting and more in keeping with a small village atmosphere.

A good place to visit and a Hotel to recommend.

Room Tip: Ensure you are upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maesteg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the Godolphin. Our twin room (room 2) was comfortable, with a walk-in shower and a marvellous view from the window - the beach and St Michael's Mount. The food was good, with large servings, and the staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble - and they were always pleasant. Can't wait to visit again. There is a large car park and buses run frequently if you wish to leave your car. There are art galleries and small interesting shops plus, of course, the mount, which has access by walking over the causeway, or by boat, both so near to the hotel. Various places of interest are accessible form Marazion.

Room Tip: Being disabled I asked for a walk-in shower and easy access, since there was no lift, and all was as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mardave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in Room 2 with a wonderful sea view. The staff were outstanding and really made us feel welcome they couldnt do enough for us - we hope to return some time in the future and will do so knowing what a great time we will have.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view its well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanjonesmaesteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Together with our English Springer we have just enjoyed a comfortable and relaxing 3 night break in this great little hotel. We had room 11 to ourselves, even though there is space for two children, and to wake in the very large and comfortable bed to the amazing view of St Micheals mount through the round window was very special. The decor and furnishings were of an excellent standard, and would echo the comments of others about the extra touches.

What really made our stay however was the genuine friendliness and warmth of the staff who all made us feel so welcome and were withouth exception cheerful and helpful. I spent most afternoons on the terrace enjoying a coffee or a drink taking in the late summer sunshine in what is a unique location

Are there any downsides? There is a price to be paid for taking your dog with you, and at £10 per night this is one of the highest charges in the area but it is nice for the dog to be greeted as enthusiastically as we were. Also the restaurant was certainly disapointing, ordinary family pub food at above average prices but with so many other good places nearby to eat this was not a big issue. We found that the Kings Arms offered really great pub food within a couple of minutes walk and they also were happy to welcome our dog as well.

Overall The godolphin deserves it's consistently high Trip advisor rating

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view as that is one of the hotekls main assets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

You want room 5 or 6, you pay more for the balcony but it is well worth it. 6 has the bigger balcony and slightly better view. We were in room 5 and it was spacious and very comfortable. You can eat downstairs and while the food is amazing the service lets it down at times, it can get very busy and you might end up waiting.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane10981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.1 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
321 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
5.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
470 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godolphin Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godolphin Arms

Property: Godolphin Arms
Address: West End, Marazion TR17 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Godolphin Arms is on the water’s edge of Mount’s Bay along a two mile stretch of beach in the historic market town of Marazion, West Cornwall. It overlooks the beautiful St Michael’s Mount, with one of the most magnificent beachside views in the country.Following a major renovation inside and out, the Godolphin Arms has recently reopened its doors unveiling a warm and welcoming beachside inn – a place to eat, drink or stay and explore the unspoilt beauty of the South West coast.Our stunning coastal location has inspired the design, bringing the natural beauty of the beach outside in with relaxed, mellow living spaces and a stunning centrepiece - a two storey light-bathed glass and zinc dining area opening out onto a balcony upstairs and a terrace downstairs. Walk straight in off the beach to our colourful and chilled-out beach bar, linger on the beachside terrace with friends or relax and unwind on the comfy sofas and chairs by the woodburner. Eating at the Godolphin Arms is a relaxed and informal affair and we offer an all-day menu to be enjoyed whatever the occasion or mood. Our food philosophy is simple; we want to provide freshly cooked food that tastes delicious, is beautifully presented and showcases the quality and seasonality of local Cornish produce.Whether you choose to eat, drink or stay in one of our ten en-suite bedrooms, the team will be delighted to welcome you and will do all they can to ensure your stay with us is both memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Godolphin Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godolphin Arms Hotel Marazion
Godolphin Arms Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing