We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pasties and always a must stop”

Philps Famous Pasties
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent pasties and always a must stop”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Have eaten pasties from this shop for may years and have never been disappointed once with what I have bought. My only disappointment is that I have never been able to get what I wanted because they have sold out. This I feel is due to popularity where demand outstrips supply so I try and get there early. Large traditional are the best I have tasted for a very long time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CiderMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    44
    13
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Looking forward, a little disappointed”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Looking forward to a pasty as I had one at Senna in a cafe and it was jolly good. But o' this one well not so good, mores the pity that I persuaded my wife to have one and she din't like it.
First time I reported on a pasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hopefull-guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oh dear......”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My dad used to make Cornish pasties and I was expecting something like his: full of delicious vegetables, chopped tasty meat, great flavour. Philps had been recommended by our tour guide so we were full of anticipation. From memory we chose the standard steak pasties, but regardless all three of us were bitterly disappointed I'm sorry to say: the filling was very, very salty which overcame any flavour the vegetables and meat may have had, though I doubt it was pleasant. The one positive was the pastry which was light and tasted fine. Two of us could only eat half a pasty, my husband ate all of his because he was hungry but says he wouldn't bother with another one. It was a pleasure to get back to New Zealand and a good old steak and cheese pie - fans of Cornish pasties need to try them if they want a tasty feast, don't bother with Philps pasties. It takes alot for me to give a negative review but please Philps, lift your game (and a bit more enthusiasm from the staff wouldn't go amiss either).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliNel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Pasties, particularly the Cheese and Veg!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Whenever I visit my Aunt in Penzance I am on the look out for the best Pasty. Philps' are very good and you shouldn't be disappointed, but I'm sure someone somewhere must make a better one.
The hunt goes on!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim-Chorlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Never been to philps in marizion but have had pasties and cream teas from the main factory shop in hayle and all I can say is OMG their the best won't eat any other pasty

Helpful?
Thank Badger1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philps Famous Pasties also viewed

 

Been to Philps Famous Pasties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing