We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pasties, particularly the Cheese and Veg!”

Philps Famous Pasties
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Pasties, particularly the Cheese and Veg!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Whenever I visit my Aunt in Penzance I am on the look out for the best Pasty. Philps' are very good and you shouldn't be disappointed, but I'm sure someone somewhere must make a better one.
The hunt goes on!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim-Chorlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    45
    13
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Never been to philps in marizion but have had pasties and cream teas from the main factory shop in hayle and all I can say is OMG their the best won't eat any other pasty

Helpful?
Thank Badger1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good pasties, poor service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Buy pasties from here on a regular basis, they are usually well cooked and tasty and I would recommend eating a pasty from here if you are in Marazion.
Service is always disappointing, staff are miserable and quite unhelpful which does impact on the experience!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good pasties marred by laziness and indifferent service”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have been to Marazion loads of times and have bought lots of pasties at Philps. Service has always been indifferent but this time the quality of the standard traditional pasty warranted comment - it's clear that there is some laziness creeping into the manufacturing process. The meat, which is of good quality, was lumped together in one unappealing mass in the middle of the pasty, rather than being equally distributed and it suggests that whoever is making this is failing to take the trouble to adequately mix the ingredients before sealing and baking. Philps traditional pasty was the worst we had for this while in Cornwall. More care is needed as the other pasties (cheese and vegetables) are delicious. The staff could also smile a bit and be a little more welcoming to customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Couchiedemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“That good, I now look like a pastie!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Really nice pasties, always red hot due to the high turnover. I had a few of these whilst on holiday. They do a few different flavours, but I stuck with the steak as I like mine traditional. They also sell cream tea kits which were also very nice to take home for tea. I wouldn't say they were the best ever, but were still very good non the less.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevinperree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philps Famous Pasties also viewed

 

Been to Philps Famous Pasties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing