We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cutty sark again today”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cutty Sark

Cutty Sark
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Cutty Sark restaurant and bar offers a relaxing place to unwind, with a good selection of local beers and wines. Our food includes favourites such as steak and ale casserole, homemade pies, duck breast in plum sauce, nut cutlets, Cornish steaks, bar snacks, delicious sandwiches and a range of local fresh Newlyn fish. Enjoy our homemade desserts including scrumptious raspberry cheesecake, fruit crumbles, piglets delight and chocolate pot. We only use the very best selection of local produce and have built up an excellent reputation for the quality of our meals. In addition, our warm friendly atmosphere makes us very popular with both guests and locals.
penzance
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cutty sark again today”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

better every time we visit - popped in today intending to have just coffee and buns, had soup and a roll and sarnies and drinks and a dessert, all VERY nice, lovely waitress, homemade stuff, VERY reasonably priced as always. Usually plenty of free off-street parking too, ok today even though the town was packed.
Sunday roast is always good too; well worth anybody's money!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieStevens, Owner at Cutty Sark, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Michael T

Thank you for your super review it is lovely to hear from our local customers.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    61
    23
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good Sunday lunch - book in advance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just as well we had booked ...several disappointed would-be diners were turned away, and this was before the school holidays.
Very pleasant and efficient service. Reasonably priced roast with fresh vegetables, interestingly presented. And wifi too!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank theRalphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieStevens, Owner at Cutty Sark, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear The Ralphs

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you had a lovely meal and liked our new fast WiFi.

Yes booking is advisable most of the year as we have regular locals who can fill the tables on some Sundays.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really good find, will come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Excellent food, reasonable prices. This is not 'pub' food, there's a chef in the kitchen! Tables well spaced, service crisp enough. Very good choice on the menu and everything fresh and well cooked by the chef. Would recommend the fishermans pie, the Confit of duck and the goat's cheese starter. Parsnip mash is particularly good although I would like to see a slightly larger serving. All dishes nicely seasoned, fresh herbs well used and some nice herb additions to some of the vegetables. Desserts are all good and I think home made. Only criticism's, wine list had several wines crossed off leaving very little choice and vegetable portions a little too small. Certainly worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank paxopaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieStevens, Owner at Cutty Sark, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear paxopaxo

Thank you for your lovely comments. I will pass them onto the head chef Giane and his team who take a lot of pride in the cooking.

Wine list is now re-printed with our up to date selection and thank you for pointing this out I had not appreciated we still had the old ones circulating.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Line, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The fish was superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Don't know if I've ever called something "superb" --- or eaten hake, a fish -- but superb is what the hake they served me a few nights ago was . It came promptly; was plentiful, boneless, savory and easy to look at. How many restaurant meals does one remember?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Venturesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieStevens, Owner at Cutty Sark, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Venturesome

Thank you so much for your review.

The hake really is a lovely fish and it is caught and supplied locally from the fishing boats out of Newlyn harbour. I think it is perhaps one of my favourites, though I am particularly partial to sole too.

Coincidentally my son remembers a restaurant in your neck of the woods in Maryland that served the most amazing crabs in a bucket with some Old Bay seasoning, he said too it was one those meals he will always remember :-)

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Fare, Friendly Staff, Even Better if you Book!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Two visit made to an old favourite of ours in Cornwall this week - The Cutty Sark Bar and Restaurant which is part of the Marazion Hotel in Marazion. On Wednesday we arrived on spec after a trip to the Scillies and looked forward to a good meal - we were not disappointed. Marje went for the Prawn Cocktail followed by the fillets of sole which she had been looking forward to and well met her expectations. The starter was beautifully presented on a square plate, the sole was both tasty and plentiful and arrived with new potatoes and a crescent dish of fresh vegetables. I decided to have the soup and was presented with a fresh soup menu! Something I had never seen before. I decided on the tomato and caramelised onion which was delicious, and then went for the pork cutlets in honey and ginger sauce. Again, a lovely combination which worked really well.
We had enjoyed our meal so much that we returned early Friday evening to be to told the restaurant was fully booked, but we were able to dine if we left by seven thirty. No problemo there! We chose the prawn cocktail followed by the chicken in honey and ginger, and the anti-pasti preceding the steak, mushroom and Guiness casserole. As before, the food was freshly prepared, delicious, and beautifully presented. And once more no room for the extensive and varied pudding menu!
With a drink each from the bar there was still change from £40 each night - exceptional value given the quality of the fare. The friendly and accommodating staff also add to the ambience, too. I wholeheartedly recommend a visit to the Cutty Sark - but it's probably best to book early and beat the rush!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_J_Cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieStevens, Owner at Cutty Sark, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mae k Cotton

Thank you for your lovely review it has so much wonderful detail and I loved reading it.
I am so pleased we managed to fit you in on that busy Friday night.

I look forward to welcoming you you back again soon.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cutty Sark also viewed

 

Been to Cutty Sark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing