We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned but good food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cutty Sark

Cutty Sark
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Cutty Sark restaurant and bar offers a relaxing place to unwind, with a good selection of local beers and wines. Our food includes favourites such as steak and ale casserole, homemade pies, duck breast in plum sauce, nut cutlets, Cornish steaks, bar snacks, delicious sandwiches and a range of local fresh Newlyn fish. Enjoy our homemade desserts including scrumptious raspberry cheesecake, fruit crumbles, piglets delight and chocolate pot. We only use the very best selection of local produce and have built up an excellent reputation for the quality of our meals. In addition, our warm friendly atmosphere makes us very popular with both guests and locals.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Called in here on our way back from Lands End, thought it was a lovely place with friendly staff who quickly found us a table for 5.
Just one downside, they had ran out of steak, but after another quick look at the menu found ourselves something nice.
I would eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    58
    19
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
penzance
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a frequent visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

been there for sunday lunch many times, always good, good service, tasty main courses with fresh veg., tempting sweets, good coffee, comfy and quiet but friendly ambience; and it's in MARAZION! Lovely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming with lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in Marazion last weekend on holiday and ate here because it was the nicest place we found. The food was really lovely, we had a bottle of red, a main course each and I had the most delightful home made raspberry cheesecake with clotted cream!! it was the only dessert I had whilst I was away and it was gorgeous, I'd go all the way back down there for another one!! Service was excellent and the atmosphere nice and relaxing even thought it was Saturday night. I'd definitely recommend eating there if you're going to Marazion.
I found out next day the owner is called Stephanie and she makes the desserts, I said I would mention them on Trip Advisor as mine was top!! Way to go Stephanie!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sal1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Popped in without booking a table and although the restaurant was busy they managed to fit us in. The menu had a good selection of starters and mains to suit everyone and very nice local ales. Our waitress was very friendly and efficient even though they were busy. Food was excellent couldn't fault it at all. Would definitely recommend eating here. Sticky toffee pudding and ice cream was scrumptious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening with friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in Marazion for a week and ate out here twice, partly because of the lack of competition. The restaurant was full on both nights and the waiting staff were firiendly. Service was slow the second night as they were understaffed. We both enjoyed our meals although we felt the starter portions were enormous and the vegetables provided for the main meals were inadequate. The chicken with ginger and honey and the trio of fish went down well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mockingbird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cutty Sark also viewed

 

Been to Cutty Sark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing