We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot, very friendly staff.........but so dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenleigh House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Marazion B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice spot, very friendly staff.........but so dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at the Glenleigh. The staff were very friendly, breakfast was superb and it wasn't bad value for money. However, I have to say the decor and furnishings were Not my cup if tea at all. The couple we were travelling with remarked that it was a little like staying in a museum but I guess this is the way the owners choose to decorate the establishment. Don't let this put you off though. It's in a great spot and you will enjoy the breakfasts

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
37
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Glenleigh House for three nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. I couldn't be happier with the B&B and town we chose to stay in.

To start with, Marazion is lovely - a very relaxing place with this slower pace of life that you're looking for when going to Cornwall but with all the basic amenities you need. From pubs, Cornish pasty to upmarket restaurants cooking with local ingredients.

The B&B is also perfectly located and it's just a short walk to the main attraction in the region - the St Michael's Mount! We stayed in room nr 1 and we could actually see sea from our bed.... When we got up, we could see the St Michael's Mount. Our room was also lovely decorated. And yes, breakfasts were delicious as well. I loved the yogurt 'teaser' before the main cooked breakfast. Even though we had windows overlooking the main road and kept them open overnight, we didn't hear any traffic. It might be because we were knackered from all the sightseeing during the day, but we actually slept like we haven't slept in months.....

I can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: Ask for room number one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdaInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in marazion again, such a magical town with the causeway to St Michaels mount. Glenleigh is a wonderful b and b with views over the bay and St Michaels mount. Beautiful freshing prepared breakfast and really friendly staff. I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at Glenleigh for ten nights at the end of July the perfect base for touring the South West of Cornwall. Room 5- single room gives fabulous views of St Michaels Mount and beyond,Staff are welcoming and on hand to make sure that you are comfortable,Breakfasts are plentiful and served at your table piping hot by friendly staff.The lounge area is relaxing and hot drinks served on request.
The village of Marzion is a short walk down the hill with bakery,shops and pubs.
Glenleigh has its own car park but is also well placed for public transport bus stops outside the hotel for Penzance and also the 300 service Cornish Explorer which goes around the coast taking in St Ives,Sennen Cove and Lands End.
From Penzance Railway Station there are frequent services to Truro and St Austell for the Eden Project

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Glenleigh for the second time, and just as good as the first! The room was lovely and the view of St Michaels Mount spectacular.Really good breakfast and we liked the choices from the breakfast bar.
We didnt need to use the car, as the bus service through Marazion is really good, so we did plenty of coastal walks but the car didnt move from glenleigh carpark, which was a bonus.
Great location for exploring this area, and lots of places in Marazion to eat in the evening.
We will be back for another visit in 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samcornishmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Excellent value for money with stunning views of St Michaels Mount and luxury breakfast and friendly staff.
Can highly recommend this bed and breakfast, with private parking which is a great bonus for marazion.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Glenleigh and were thrilled by its perfect location, service and quality of the rooms. We had a four poster bed and our room overlooked St. Michael's Mount. A short stroll down the hill to the local pub where we had a couple of awesome meals. Breakfasts were tasty and served with a smile. Not sure how many rooms are in Glenleigh altogether but it was like taking a trip down memory lane as my grandmother owned a hotel in Skegness when I was a child. Lots of antiques and things of interest. A big bonus is the car park behind the hotel with space for several cars. Altogether a happy stay, thanks. Sue and Geoff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
0.4 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Godolphin Arms
Godolphin Arms
#2 of 8 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenleigh House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenleigh House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Glenleigh House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Higher Fore Street, Marazion TR17 0BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenleigh House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenleigh House, conveniently situated overlooking St Michael’s Mount and the sweeping panorama of Mount’s Bay, has been owned and run by the Hales family for more than 30 years. With eight comfortable and well appointed bedrooms (many with views to the Mount and sea), you can be assured of a comfortable stay.Built in 1898 as the home of a prosperous farmer, Glenleigh House retains its original Victorian charm whilst providing guests with modern amenities such as free Wi-Fi and a fantastic, filling breakfast of your choice to set you up for your day. Free car parking is provided at the rear of Glenleigh House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glenleigh House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenleigh House Bed & Breakfast Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing