We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Music” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fire Engine Inn

The Fire Engine Inn
Ranked #13 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Cuisines: Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Description: The Fire Engine will be going through a tenancy change shortly. The kitchen is closed. However, the fantastic views and bar are still available. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food and Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were made very welcome at The Fire Engine when we called for lunch - good menu. Superb views of St. Michaels Mount. We left the car in the long stay car park and walked so we were ready for our meal, parking very limited. We went back in the evening for the open mic which was fantastic - very welcoming and inclusive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    73
    38
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb pub with friendly staff !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Whilst camping near by recently we came to the pub on a few occasions, staff etc very very welcoming and made you welcome, even Bruno our little scottie dog was made welcome :) if your visiting the area you would be mad not to come here for a drink & enjoy a great meal ..
Thanks for making our stay enjoyable.. Back in August :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was our local while staying at Wheal Rodney. First night we were there was open mic night and it was lovely. You don't have to drink if you don't want. I was really thirsty and fancied a cup of tea, got a really large pot and it was so refreshing, must've had over a pint so I was very happy. Beer good and apparently the food is to die for, but we were travelling around so didn't get the chance. Next time we will.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easy to identify what the dishes contained (diary, vegetarian etc)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

The menu made it very easy to identify what the dishes contained so that the vegan, vegetarian and dairy intolerant people in our group were easily able to know which dishes were suitable for them. The waitress also was knowledgeable on what the dishes contained and if not sure was more than happy to run upstairs to the chef to ask. The views over the bay and the service from the waitress were great, the food standard was not quite as we would have hoped but was acceptable for the price.
The waitress deserves special praise as she seemed to be running the bar, taking meal orders, serving meals, clearing up all on her own and did this all with a big smile.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good friendly pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I visited the fire engine last week every day . We enjoyed a meal twice good friendly staff great landlord will visit again x

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank babasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fire Engine Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Fire Engine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing