We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Godolphin Arms Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Food served throughout the day Eating at the Godolphin Arms is a relaxed and informal affair and we offer an all-day menu to be enjoyed whatever the occasion or mood. Our food philosophy is simple; we want to provide freshly cooked food that tastes delicious, is beautifully presented and showcases the quality and seasonality of local Cornish produce. From hearty Cornish breakfasts to relaxed lunches and intimate dinners, our menu is inspired by living and working by the sea and produce grown and farmed locally. Fresh daily bakes of the most delicious desserts and cakes are also offered up, to be enjoyed alongside the perfect cappuccino or latte. Where to eat? Lots of natural, light bathed and restful spaces - all with far-reaching views out over Mount's Bay and St Michael's Mount. Sit in the new glass and zinc extension, with doors that open out for al fresco dining during the summer months. Celebrate with family or friends around the intimate Captain's Table that seats 9 or alternatively, relax in our upper deck that has easy sofas, comfy chairs and a logburner. On the lower deck, walk straight in off the beach to the colourful and chilled-out beach bar and dining area. Outside, the beach terrace remains a place to linger, absorb the astonishing views and simply watch the world go by.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

10 out of 10! Friendly efficient service - scrumptious food and of course THE VIEW ... Splendid- especially after a day out and about!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sapata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    549
    242
    124
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great view but....”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This place has been redone in a vanilla, no offense kind of way, it's bland and unimaginative, but it does have amazing views and an abundance of outside seating so I it's well worth the visit for that alone, but as far as the food is concerned don't build up your hopes as it's all pretty average, an anaemic club sandwich and other sandwiches which are dull and under filled, bland crab and average squid. That said the fish and chips was very good.
Food arrives quickly but staff are slow to clear.
It's kind of just about ok, but you wouldn't go back for the food....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJL802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Venue, Good Food, Great Service, Beautiful Location.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We visited this venue twice between July 22nd - 25th, once around 5pm and once around 6:30pm. We are a family of four with two children currently 10 & 7yrs.

The venuie has recently been refurbished from all accounts and has a modern, clean fresh feeling to it but retains a welcoming feeling for the visitor.

We were greeted on arrival by very friendly staff when we enquired if they had space. We were led in to the building and seated very quickly and we were lucky enough to get a window seat upstairs overlooking St Michaels Mount as the sun was beginning to set on our 6:30pm visit. Our second visit was equally as good and we sat in the shade inside downstairs with the concertina doors open so we could still see the sea and St Michaels mount. (it was 26c and full sun outside - nice!)

On both occasions we were served by different staff but all were equally welcoming and helpful. Our food was perfect for us and the children's menu contained enough to satisfy most children with simple favourites. The Salads are huge by my standards and very nice , whilst the main courses generally will be enough to satisfy most people but leave room for a desert. The Club Sandwich I had on the second occasion was the perfect filler and tasted scrumptious! Previously I had the Fish of the day served with potatoes and side vegetable which was equally as enjoyable.

There is outside seating too right by the sea if you prefer and the weather is kind enough.

The venue is popular and I'm not sure if you can book reservations for the tables. It woudl be prudent to make a phone call if you are travelling far to make sure they can accommodate you or prepare a "plan b".

We recommend The Godolphin Arms for Staff, Decor, Location and Food. It's all good.
I would definitely visit this restaurant again with my all generations of my family.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Splitpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A fantastic lunch.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We live relatively locally to Marazion and have visited The Godolphin Arms on many occasions over many years. We had refrained from eating here over recent years, only having a drink on an early evening as we were not impressed with the food. Giving it a "go" after the refurb is our best move! Wow, is all we can say. The transformation is unbelievable. Well done, you have made the absolute best of this venue and the stunning view. To boot, the food is lovely, the staff so accommodating. We cannot wait to return. We usually take our guests to St Ives, but Mz and The Godolphin, you are on our visitors list! We will also be back ourselves. One suggestion - the lower level of your restaurant area could do with a bit of shade at lunchtime, perhaps some cream umbrellas.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandkPenzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Had lunch here today, walked in without having booked and were seated with no problems even though it was really busy. We were in no rush as it was raining and as it was so busy we were prepared for a wait. Our order was taken very quickly and our food came just as quickly and was excellent. I would recommend the Fish and Chips to anyone.
Thanks to all the staff, we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank CornwallJoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godolphin Arms Restaurant also viewed

 
Marazion, Cornwall
 

Been to Godolphin Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing