We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful location”
Just 300m from Marazion beach and St. Michael's Mount
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Just 300m from Marazion beach and St. Michael's Mount
Castle View Cottage Great views from inside the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
15 reviews
Just 300m from Marazion beach and St. Michael's Mount
Castle View Cottage
Great views from inside the property
Enjoy the views from the private garden
Plenty of space inside for relaxing
Satellite TV and Wi-Fi is provided
Comfortable dining
Fully fitted kitchen
Vaulted ceilings help to create the light, airy atmosphere
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TheCatCaf...
Wincanton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is ideally situated away from the road with its own parking space. Accommodation is laid out over two floors - bedrooms on ground with open plan living/kitchen area on the top offering the most amazing views from each of its many windows and again from its delightful little terraced garden to the rear. The house is nicely furnished, clean, warm and comfortable.

The village shops and local pubs are just a few minutes walk and it's an easy stroll to the lovely beach and St Michael's Mount.

The warm and friendly owners met us on our arrival and were very happy to help should we have needed any.

A lovely few days - we'll be back! Highly recommended...... Thank you..

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skivacanc...
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Quite conveniently located - at the end of East Cliff Lane (cul-de-sac) with its own parking slot by the lane. Generally well furnished with everything that you could want for a holiday let (although no dishwasher). The owners (Richard & Sarah, who lives right opposite) are very friendly and helpful. Everything is included and that contributes to a really relaxed and enjoyable stay. A small garden to the rear has views across Mounts Bay (and the seagulls nesting on the rooves!).

The seating in the lounge area is of the 'slab' cushion variety and rather slick (polished leather?) so that we tended to find ourselves gradually sliding off the seats. Otherwise this place would probably have merited top marks. If you don't mind the 10 minute walk to the centre of Marazion (downhill - so uphill coming back, although only moderate) then you will be hard pushed to find something better. Although it will accommodate four it is ideal for a couple (only the one bathroom) who want plenty of space to spread themselves out.

Clearly a lot of thought has been given to the design and facilities - and it shows. Well done and thank you!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and facilties
Liked least: Slippery seats and walk back after eating in the evening!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2012
Thank you for your review and for your compliments, very much appreciated. If we could clarify a couple of points.
We have never ever had leather sofas, always large fabric-covered sofas with detachable fibre-filled back and seat cushions that can be plumped up to make more comfortable if needed. We can only assume that you have confused our cottage with another one!
Our cottages are 400 yards from the centre of town so, while you can take 10 minutes to gently wander along there, at a normal walking pace it should take no more than 4 or 5 minutes.
Also, the walk into and back from town is on level ground, with a slight incline for about 100 yards when approaching the cottage. It can't seriously be called a hill, so uphill and downhill don't really apply in this instance.
The possible implication that the cottage is best suited for a couple we feel could be misleading. We have had plenty of families staying who have remarked that it is spacious and and well laid out (see other reviews), as has sometimes not been their experience in other cottages. That said, we do get a good number of bookings by couples like yourselves, who very much appreciate the extra space that a cottage designed for four offers.
So, thanks again for the overall positivity of your review and, as you have kindly re-booked, we look forward to welcoming you back later this year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinasunbu...
Middlesex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good but basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Stayed for a week with husband and friends
Was our friends first time at cottage type holidays
Sorry to say that this did not live up to the standards of others that we had stayed in previous years for the same money.
Accommodation was clean and well furnished, although found double bedroom damp and musty.

Location was good base. Good views of St Micheals Mount could only be seen. But only from very top of garden. Garden furniture was bench seating only so take picnic chairs with you if you are looking for a bit of comfort.

Cooking in cottage restricted as only four of everything. Lacked serving dishes and extra plates.
Luckily we had good weather, but if you come in rainy season suggest bring video/board games or books as unlike other properties we have stayed in this has none.

Make sure you have a breakfast at Delicious just a walk away - best in the Cornwall
Also recommend The Fire Engine Pub and a trip on the open top bus. (Service 300) .

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Plenty of room, Good base
Liked least: Seating in garden to restricted for four adults, Only seating for views was at dining table.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2012
A number of the review comments were most helpful and, as a result, we have now added serving dishes and plates to the range of crockery, as well as magazines and games. The handbook lists a selection of DVDs that are available to guests (without charge). Garden chairs are now provided for the terrace in addition to the picnic bench.
However, we have to strongly refute the claim that the double bedroom is damp and musty, which it is not. Unfortunately, not everyone is aware that bedrooms in older cottages generally need to be aired daily, to prevent any build-up of condensation. If the double bedroom window and door are kept closed for a whole week, as has happened here on a couple of occasions, by the end of that week the bedroom may well seem damp and musty, but that is due to condensation caused by lack of ventilation. If bedrooms are aired every day, there should be no problem. We have now included this advice in our cottage information handbook and also mention it to guests on arrival so that, hopefully, the situation won’t arise again.
We want our guests to get maximum enjoyment from their holidays and so we do our utmost to ensure that everything in the cottage is just right for them. We always mention to guests on arrival that, if they have any concerns or need anything, all they have to do is ask (we live close by). Our cottage handbook offers the same advice. We also check with guests, usually on the first or second day of their stay, to find out whether everything is to their satisfaction, and we did so in this instance. However, if guests don’t let us know their concerns until after they have returned home, then there’s not a lot that we can do. Had these guests let us know, we would have happily done something about it at the time and presumably they would have had a more enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abitgaga
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I wish I lived here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This has to be the greatest little gem you could find. Lovely, clean, comfy, well kept and nicely decorated. Good spacious bathroom with shower. It also has what has to be one of the most magical views in the entire country. The beautiful raised garden at the rear of the property looks out to the sea and St Michael's mount. It's a Hypnotic view, you could stare at it forever.

The owners, Richard and Sarah are very nice, friendly and helpful people. They live close by and are there if you need them. They will give you tips on other things like places to go etc..

The cottage has the living quarters upstairs which enables you to just open the double double doors leading to the garden and enjoy the view. The downstairs is the bedrooms and bathroom leading out to the front of house and parking area. There is enough parking room and at first may look a little daunting, it's not that bad at all if you just take your time, after all, there's no rush is there? More than likely you will be shown the best way to park on arrival by Richard, so no problem.

I stayed alone in this cottage at the end of May, it is designed for and easily big enough for 4 people but the Richard and Sarah let me rent it alone for a very competitive price, which was good of them. Some hotels in Marazion are very expensive if you want a balcony and view, so the price of this cottage beats all those hands down for what you are getting for your money.

If you are staying in Marazion, this is a must.

Thank you for the wonderful stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: All of it
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$618
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing