We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing time”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Having read previous reviews I booked fours nights between Christmas and new year and I had a very relaxing time. They phoned me before my visit to inform me which cottage I was staying in. On arrival, the cottage was nice and warm, with everything laid out and a small Christmas tree on the table, a nice touch.
The question is would I either book their again or would i recommend the place to a friend, the answer to both are yes.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Manager at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for posting such kind comments about Wheal Rodney Holiday Park. We are all delighted to hear that you had a relaxing stay here over the festive period and also that you would recommend us to others. Best wishes for the New Year from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    58
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
115
133
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, KY
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were very pleased that our beautiful, clean, comfortable cottage had 2 bedrooms, a living room and kitchen as well as a fine bathroom. Coffee and tea were provided, but not expected. There was a heated pool which we did not use, but others did. Also a lending library, small shop, and DVD rentals. The free internet was so great after being in hotels that charge 5 pd. an hour--which I never used. Everyone was friendly and the site was quiet and rural, though only a half mile or so to Marazion. It was a little home away from home and I would love to visit again.

Room Tip: You can tell them ahead if you want a pet free cottage in case of allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheaptravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Amanda @ reception at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Many thanks for writing a lovely review about Wheal Rodney Holiday Park. All the staff are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We returned back to Wheal Rodney after our summer holiday was cut short due to illness. We had such a wonderful stay this time. As always nice clean and comfortable accommodation. Swimming pool lovely and hot, our girls certainly made the most of it. Staff as usual very friendly and extremely helpful. Great walks and fantastic views only a short walk away. Always recommending this hidden treasure. Got caught out by the tide on the causeway - note to self - wear wellies!!. Love the quiet after ten policy, shame a group of others didn't stick to it. Will be going back soon we hope. A great place to stay in or out of season. Thank you all. xx

Room Tip: All rooms nice and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Amanda @ reception at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Many thanks for reviewing Wheal Rodney. We are pleased that you all enjoyed another holiday at the park. Sorry to hear that some guests disturbed the peace after 10pm. If ever there is a problem, do not hesitate to call the telephone number in the lodge information pack (even if it is the middle of the night!) and someone will be on hand to help. All the staff at Wheal Rodney look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future and we will make a note to inform you of the tide information before you visit the Mount again. (Although a little paddle is all part of the Cornish holiday experience!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire,WM
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here with family and friends for a girls weekend away. We had a few reservations when we booked as the pictures looked a little old fashion. When we finally arrived after a very long journey, we were wonderfully surprised at how nice and comfortable the lodge was. There was everything we needed. The beds were perfect with lovely soft sheets and pillows. The pool onsite was a winner and everything that the reviews say it is. The flower baskets outside were a nice touch. The shop was well stocked. The town and beach are within easy walking distance.
We have and will most certainly be recommending this site to others and will come back again in the summer months.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon. Sian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I went to Wheal Rodney with a group of girls for a quiet, pampering hen weekend. The location was far away enough from town to be quiet but close enough for when you want something to do. The pubs in town had fantastic staff (especially the Godolphine Arms) but if you want somewhere to eat the Fire Engine Inn had a lovely selection, well cooked and presented. As for the holiday park itself, the pool was really nice but a couple of loungers would probably make it a bit more like a holiday pool rather than a council pool. The cottage we rented was a family one which was a great size, well equipped and the beds were so comfortable, it was hard to get up in the mornings! Shower was OK if you were the first one in, ayone after that got a hot and cold suprise! Also, there was a wierd tapping outside the cottage every morning which was slightly annoying, but as we was only staying for 2 nights by the time we realised it happened every morning, we were going home! I would definitly come back here in the summer as St. Michaels Mount is closed in the winter months and that is the main attraction in Marazion. One other thing, we thought that we would get fresh towels every day but no-one came on the Saturday so wet towels were every where drying. Take your own if your staying a bit longer.

Room Tip: Room Nº 7 had the wierd tapping noise, check out that it's been stopped before you take this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Wheal Rodney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodation clean and comfortable, and hope you will indeed return to see Marazion in the summer.
I am sorry that housekeeping did not call at your lodge on the Saturday, this was either due to the fact that they did completely miss the fact that they hadn't called, or possibly the do not disturb sign was up, so we apologise if we did miss it - reception is open until 7p.m. daily and are always happy to repace all towels daily if required - & if we are informed housekeeping didn't come in someone will immediately come to the lodge and attend to it, please just let us know and we will do anything we can do to help. Tumble dryers are available 24 hours for any guests laundry that needs to be dried. We will cetainly monitor the tapping sound outside Lodge 7, though we have no idea at present what it might be, & haven't heard about it before, so thank you for letting us know. We hope the wedding went well, and thank you very much for your visit. Kind regards, Sian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Staff were very helpful,especially Amanda. Disappointed in the view (or lack of it) from our Motorhome pitch! Swimming pool didn't open until 10.00 am, so an early morning swim was out of the question! Also lots of locals with their children visited the pool most days so I was put off using it. The toilets and showers were kept very clean by the staff but I was surprised that the toilet cubicles were larger than the showers, perhaps the plumber did them the wrong way round! The showers definitely need an update-would I stay at Wheal Rodney again? I doubt it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueOC106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the helpfulness of our staff here at Wheal Rodney and we are glad to hear that the toilets and showers and general cleanliness met our usual high standards. We are sorry that you were dissapointed with the view from your pitch - i have looked into which pitch was allocated to you, and i believe that due to the larger size of your motorhome and the fact that you brought a doggy guest, we were only able to offer you a pitch close to reception during this particular time. Many regular guests request this particular pitch, but obviously the same thing doesn't suit all, which we appreciate. There are good open views available from other pitches, but i think in this case it was not possible to place you in this area. We are always happy to try and help by moving you to another pitch that you may prefer but were unaware of the problem at the time of your stay and would have done our best to help if we had known. At just £8 per person per night at this time of year, including electricity on the pitch, hot water/showers and use of the pool we are trying to offer the best possible value for money that we can, and consider ourselves to be offering exceptional value for money. As a small site with just ten lodges and 30 -pitches we count ourselves as extremely fortunate to have such a lovely warm pool which we are happy to make available to our guests free of charge. Due to this being a tiny site, it would be impossible to keep the pool open in the low season months without some help from locals who pay to use the facility, indeed, without this extra help in income, it is likely that the pool would be non existent - however, locals rarely use the pool in the summer months when most are on the beach and in the sea, so perhaps this is just an issue that was highlighted due to it being half term in most of the schools around us during your stay, which maybe saw a few more locals coming along than usual. On most days the pool is extremely quiet, particularly in the middle of the day. Our opening hours are 10a.m. to 7.30 p.m. each day throughout the year. Unfortunately due to the fact that the pool must be manned constantly for safety reasons by the reception staff, it is difficult to extend these hours, and in the lowest season, with just a handful of guests staying,we try to fulfil the wishes of our guests, who tend to use the pool in the late afternoon and evening. We do of course appreciate that some would like to have an early morning swim, but the extra costs involved with staffing would of course push up the overall costs and affect the nightly charges that we are trying so hard to keep to a minimum particularly during what has been a difficult year for everyone in Britain with the country struggling in recession. We do appreciate that we cannot be all things to all men, but welcome comments that we may be able to work on and so improve the overall visitor enjoyment.
Whilst we are regularly overhauling and updating many things on site, the shower blocks are due for a makeover this winter, and work will begin shortly. Its true- our toilets are larger than average. I once measured them and they are twice the size of a standard motorway service station loo - i know not why, but better larger than smaller, hopefully. We are sorry for the disappointment you say you felt, that makes us as a team extremely disappointed too, as we genuinly want everyone to have a good time and to consider that they have had extremely good value for money. We are sorry that we couldn't have done more at the time to help, but we had no idea. Kind regards, Sian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for three nights in a small self catering chalet whilst visiting some of our relatives in Cornwall. Although fairly basic the chalet was comfortable, well equipped and more than adwquate for our needs. All the staff were friendly and helpful and welcoming on our arrival. There is a small shop to purchase basic essentials and the heated swimming pool that is of a reasonable size. The holiday park is some distance from the centre of Marazion but the weather was good during ouor stay so the walk down to the centre was pleasant. There is no club room but to us that was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Manager at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Good afternoon,

We would just like to take the time to say thank you for such a pleasant review and that we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you here in the future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marazion
3.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
321 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
246 reviews
2.6 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 19 in Penzance
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Godolphin Arms
Godolphin Arms
#2 of 8 in Marazion
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheal Rodney Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheal Rodney Holiday Park

Property: Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Address: Gwallon, Marazion TR17 0HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marazion
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Marazion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheal Rodney is a beautiful campsite and caravan park. It is just a 10 minute walk to a stunning view of Saint Michael's Mount, the local pub and the shops and centre of Marazion is just a 15 minute walk down the hill. Wheal Rodney has a very warm and well maintained swimming pool on site which kids and adults alike love. The site is very family friendly and quiet and also welcomes dogs. We provide some great off season prices and our self catering bungalows/holiday cottages are always very popular so book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wheal Rodney Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park Marazion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing