We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Marazion Hotel(Marazion)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$349
$315
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tregenna Castle Resort(St Ives)(Great Value!)
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveler rating
251
62
18
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
62
18
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolwashing up liquidself cateringsmall shoptea towelscamping meadowshort walklovely siteexcellent campsitecamper vanwell stocked shopdoggy boxroad noisefire enginegreat facilitiesthe cottageschristmas tree
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 333 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I went to Wheal Rodney with a group of girls for a quiet, pampering hen weekend. The location was far away enough from town to be quiet but close enough for when you want something to do. The pubs in town had fantastic staff (especially the Godolphine Arms) but if you want somewhere to eat the Fire Engine Inn had a lovely selection, well cooked and presented. As for the holiday park itself, the pool was really nice but a couple of loungers would probably make it a bit more like a holiday pool rather than a council pool. The cottage we rented was a family one which was a great size, well equipped and the beds were so comfortable, it was hard to get up in the mornings! Shower was OK if you were the first one in, ayone after that got a hot and cold suprise! Also, there was a wierd tapping outside the cottage every morning which was slightly annoying, but as we was only staying for 2 nights by the time we realised it happened every morning, we were going home! I would definitly come back here in the summer as St. Michaels Mount is closed in the winter months and that is the main attraction in Marazion. One other thing, we thought that we would get fresh towels every day but no-one came on the Saturday so wet towels were every where drying. Take your own if your staying a bit longer.

Room Tip: Room Nº 7 had the wierd tapping noise, check out that it's been stopped before you take this one or it's neighbours!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Wheal Rodney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodation clean and comfortable, and hope you will indeed return to see Marazion in the summer.
I am sorry that housekeeping did not call at your lodge on the Saturday, this was either due to the fact that they did completely miss the fact that they hadn't called, or possibly the do not disturb sign was up, so we apologise if we did miss it - reception is open until 7p.m. daily and are always happy to repace all towels daily if required - & if we are informed housekeeping didn't come in someone will immediately come to the lodge and attend to it, please just let us know and we will do anything we can do to help. Tumble dryers are available 24 hours for any guests laundry that needs to be dried. We will cetainly monitor the tapping sound outside Lodge 7, though we have no idea at present what it might be, & haven't heard about it before, so thank you for letting us know. We hope the wedding went well, and thank you very much for your visit. Kind regards, Sian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Staff were very helpful,especially Amanda. Disappointed in the view (or lack of it) from our Motorhome pitch! Swimming pool didn't open until 10.00 am, so an early morning swim was out of the question! Also lots of locals with their children visited the pool most days so I was put off using it. The toilets and showers were kept very clean by the staff but I was surprised that the toilet cubicles were larger than the showers, perhaps the plumber did them the wrong way round! The showers definitely need an update-would I stay at Wheal Rodney again? I doubt it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueOC106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Owner at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments about the helpfulness of our staff here at Wheal Rodney and we are glad to hear that the toilets and showers and general cleanliness met our usual high standards. We are sorry that you were dissapointed with the view from your pitch - i have looked into which pitch was allocated to you, and i believe that due to the larger size of your motorhome and the fact that you brought a doggy guest, we were only able to offer you a pitch close to reception during this particular time. Many regular guests request this particular pitch, but obviously the same thing doesn't suit all, which we appreciate. There are good open views available from other pitches, but i think in this case it was not possible to place you in this area. We are always happy to try and help by moving you to another pitch that you may prefer but were unaware of the problem at the time of your stay and would have done our best to help if we had known. At just £8 per person per night at this time of year, including electricity on the pitch, hot water/showers and use of the pool we are trying to offer the best possible value for money that we can, and consider ourselves to be offering exceptional value for money. As a small site with just ten lodges and 30 -pitches we count ourselves as extremely fortunate to have such a lovely warm pool which we are happy to make available to our guests free of charge. Due to this being a tiny site, it would be impossible to keep the pool open in the low season months without some help from locals who pay to use the facility, indeed, without this extra help in income, it is likely that the pool would be non existent - however, locals rarely use the pool in the summer months when most are on the beach and in the sea, so perhaps this is just an issue that was highlighted due to it being half term in most of the schools around us during your stay, which maybe saw a few more locals coming along than usual. On most days the pool is extremely quiet, particularly in the middle of the day. Our opening hours are 10a.m. to 7.30 p.m. each day throughout the year. Unfortunately due to the fact that the pool must be manned constantly for safety reasons by the reception staff, it is difficult to extend these hours, and in the lowest season, with just a handful of guests staying,we try to fulfil the wishes of our guests, who tend to use the pool in the late afternoon and evening. We do of course appreciate that some would like to have an early morning swim, but the extra costs involved with staffing would of course push up the overall costs and affect the nightly charges that we are trying so hard to keep to a minimum particularly during what has been a difficult year for everyone in Britain with the country struggling in recession. We do appreciate that we cannot be all things to all men, but welcome comments that we may be able to work on and so improve the overall visitor enjoyment.
Whilst we are regularly overhauling and updating many things on site, the shower blocks are due for a makeover this winter, and work will begin shortly. Its true- our toilets are larger than average. I once measured them and they are twice the size of a standard motorway service station loo - i know not why, but better larger than smaller, hopefully. We are sorry for the disappointment you say you felt, that makes us as a team extremely disappointed too, as we genuinly want everyone to have a good time and to consider that they have had extremely good value for money. We are sorry that we couldn't have done more at the time to help, but we had no idea. Kind regards, Sian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for three nights in a small self catering chalet whilst visiting some of our relatives in Cornwall. Although fairly basic the chalet was comfortable, well equipped and more than adwquate for our needs. All the staff were friendly and helpful and welcoming on our arrival. There is a small shop to purchase basic essentials and the heated swimming pool that is of a reasonable size. The holiday park is some distance from the centre of Marazion but the weather was good during ouor stay so the walk down to the centre was pleasant. There is no club room but to us that was a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Manager at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Good afternoon,

We would just like to take the time to say thank you for such a pleasant review and that we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you here in the future.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here Oct 1 &2 2012. It is a beautiful place and the employees are so friendly and helpful. We booked a family cottage which had a double bed and 2 twin beds. The rooms were good sized and comfortable. There was a kitchen with everything we needed as well as a spacious living room with a TV. It was clean inside and out, the place is in great repair. It's about a 15 minute walk down to Marazion which is not too bad. There was a swimming pool and small store as well as additional showers that any one staying there could use. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a unique experience in a friendly and beautiful setting.

Room Tip: All the cottages are quiet and nice.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genabobina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Amanda. Reception at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you ever so much for reviewing Wheal Rodney and also sending a lovely personal e-mail to reception. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed staying at the holiday park and exploring our beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a beautiful well kept park. We needed accommodation in the penzance area for a couple of nights and thought it better to have self catering chalet rather than a hotel room. We searched the internet and found Wheal Rodney. The park is well laid out and very clean & tidy. The staff were excellent with nothing being too much trouble. Our chalet was very clean with towels supplied and they even offered a FREE daily maid service if required. The pool was really warm and the area again very clean. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetruth2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian L, Amanda at reception at Wheal Rodney Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for reviewing Wheal Rodney Holiday Park and posting such lovely comments. All the staff here are pleased that you enjoyed your time at the park and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews