We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to dine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben's Cornish Kitchen

Ben's Cornish Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to dine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Good service, nice ambience and great food! Easily our best meal out in Cornwall. Not cheap but well worth paying for quality. Thanks to Ben and his great team!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philgyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    79
    25
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Went here on the last night of our holiday on the basis of the fantastic tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. The online booking via the website was very useful and we found the food, service and general ambience were all excellent.

Slightly pricey compared to other restaurants, my wife and I both had an innovative 3 course meal with a bottle of wine for ~£80. However, this is certainly near Michelin star quality so good value and I would certainly highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nabraham316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“2nd Time at Bens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just great from the start,polite staff good service.The food is so well
Cooked,so fresh the flavories are amazing.Cant wait to go back.You got it right

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Food taste & presentation -10/10
Wine quality/choice-10/10
Atmosphere & ambience - 10/10 lighting just right
Seating- sufficient spacing from other diners 10/10
Service- attentive & informative 10/10
Restaurant temperature- 10/10 just right- not too warm
Would recommend the wine paring menu which was delightful!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonfromsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“We travelled to experience this and would do it again like a shot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I love food and cooking, and have been following Ben's for some time on Facebook, so when I had a birthday recently we decided to have a few days at the other end of Cornwall (as we live near the Devon border) and build our trip round a visit to the restaurant.
I loved the ambience, the service was delightful, both friendly and knowledgeable and the little things like cutlery and glassware were lovely and carefully chosen.
The most difficult part of all was trying to decide what to eat! In the end I had mackerel to start, which was utterly delicious, and the duck- oh my word, how delicious! My husband enjoyed his John Dory but wished he had chosen the duck- hard luck mate, get your own!
Although at this level of cuisine of course portions are not huge, the intense flavours mean they are large enough to savour, and yet leave room for the next course so unusually for us we managed dessert as well and were so pleased we did.
Rhubarb poached in champagne on a crisp shortbread with duck egg crème brulee and strawberry sorbet- utterly divine and worth going just for that!
We felt it was extremely good value and actually less expensive than a nice hotel meal the night before which was only 2 courses and we wonder when the Michelin star man will come knocking- a really lovely evening, thank you everyone and especially Ben!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Cornish Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Ben's Cornish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing