We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food that sends you to heaven and back!”

Ben's Cornish Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Surrey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food that sends you to heaven and back!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This has to be one of the best places to eat in Cornwall, also the most hospitable.
The food was cooked to perfection, any questions asked about how Ben cooked something was even written down for me and we went to the kitchen after out meal to meet Ben the chef...what a lovely man, and a real wow to the cleanliness of the kitchen and the happy staff

Now if you want to taste something quite exciting...the desert, Marathon |Pudding, it warns a 15 minute wait but oh how exciting this was when you tasted the first mouthful...sheer mouthwatering delicious and unexplainable delight!!!! yes, I would say perfect!
Above excellent...everything was perfect, and all washed down with a very tasty Chianti Classico Reserva 2009
If you walk past here...you will have missed a meal that will never be forgotten

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    80
    26
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosudgeon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous food & excellent service...this place is wonderful!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went to Ben's Cornish Kitchen on the recommendation of our friends who live in West Cornwall and what a choice! This restaurant is a true gem and has some of the most imaginative menu options we have seen for some time! Everything about our visit was perfect....the place is well designed with relaxed & welcoming decor and with tables well spaced (a great touch and too often ignored in some restaurants). The service from start to finish was spot on and as for the food....every course was just so tasty and beautifully presented! Another 'tick' were the prices....really superb value and in London this quality would be at least double the price! Great place to eat and a huge well done and congratulations to the whole team. A great night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALAN105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ben's Cornish Kitchen”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband & I have just had a lovely week in Marazion with a friend who we wanted to take out for dinner. We wandered around the main area of Marazion looking for a suitable venue and came across Ben's Cornish Kitchen. We thought it was probably just open for breakfast & Lunch by the name and appearance. Do not be deceived. this is a 1st class restaurant with a menu that would look good in any top London restaurant. We were waited on by a waiter & 2 waitresses who appeared to be proud of what they were doing (which is unusual these days ) and delivered food and wine with real finesse. We complimented the waiter on the food and he invited us to tell Ben himself (who was the chef), which we did. The food was superb, the décor simple but elegant. Our friend asked how did the chef cook her lamb and the waitress came back with the recipe!! This restaurant is fine dining at its best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Floss856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Game Taster Menu”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Last night we went to Ben's Cornish kitchen as he was offering a game taster menu. I have to say it was fantastic. Delicious flavours and beautiful presentation. Spiced pigeon, hare loin, fish, venison and a pumpkin desert all for £39 Incredible value! The wine flight that accompanied the meal was also fab and I enjoyed every glass!
The restaurant was full and busy, we were glad we had booked. The staff were friendly and helpful, happy to find out any information not at their fingertips.
Next time you hear that there is a taster menu there, you must try it!
What a great night, thanks Ben and team.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and then some...”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely meal at Ben's Cornish Kitchen last week - a perfect night out - helpful, smiley staff - answered all our questions and adapted the meal for my dietary needs. Portion sizes just right - the starter was starter-sized and the main was definitely not minimal. Interesting ingredient combinations, fantastic flavours, all fabulously fresh and the general easy-going, relaxed ambience made it a real occasion. Also the wine recommendations alongside the food on the menu are a real bonus. A meal to remember.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Cornish Kitchen also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Ben's Cornish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing