We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inviting but disappointing”

Ben's Cornish Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $46
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inviting but disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Shame nice place but very average over all, good menu, but expensive for what you get, could have done better.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallPerry, Owner at Ben's Cornish Kitchen, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Jason
Really upset to see to didn't enjoy your self would love it if you could email me with anything in particular that wasn't up to scratch for the money.

Hope to hear from you soon so that we can make improvements and encourage you to come back another time.

Kind regards Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    79
    25
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited this restaurant with friends after reading recommendations on trip advisor.We were not disappointed and had an excellent evening.
Conveniently situated in the Main Street of Marazion and within walking distance of our bed and breakfast, St Michaels.
The tables are well placed with plenty of space between them.
The menu was varied, beautifully cooked and presented and the service was excellent.if you are in this area, it's a must to visit and even if you are not, make the trip!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Ken_Frogmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Restaurant was a little quiet the night we dined, however loved the décor, food was excellent and friendly efficient service. Would definitly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sars121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous - a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited Ben's with high expectations, which is never good as can lead to disappointment. However it was as good as it's reputation and more....... We had a 3 course meal and wine, starters and mains were totally amazing. Starters and mains were beautifully presented and the flavours were superb. We are not pudding people but as the first 2 courses were so good we opted for a pud. My husbands was fabulous in presentation and taste, however I was a little disappointed with mine, it was an ice cream mix in a big glass. This didn't spoil our experience and we would definitely come back again. Bill with wine was c£100, given the quality and standard this is extremely fair, you would pay far more for this in the city. Overall a fantastic experience, gave eaten some of the best placs and Ben's is up there with them, it is definitely worthy of a Michelin star.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First class lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We've just had a wonderful gourmet lunch after a good walk to St Michaels mount. All I can say is that the food is a delight to the taste buds. I want to come here again in the evening for the a la carte menu. Ben certainly is a craftsman who is at the top of his trade.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Cornish Kitchen also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Ben's Cornish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing