We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Ben's Cornish Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Marazion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cornwall,ENGLAND
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I live 3 miles from Ben's, I visit 2-4 times a year (birthday, anniversary etc). Tonight's visit was no different, if anything the best yet!! Scallops starter, Hake main and poached pear with fig fritter and pannacota, all beutifully cooked and presented. Excellent service as always.

1 starter, 2 mains, 1 dessert, 2 glasses wine = £50 very good value for the quality of food being served.

Looking forward to the next time, sooner rather than later I hope.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    81
    27
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Ben's Gem!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place in a little gem, top class brunch with great service. Fine dining in Marazion, easily the best place for miles.

A very fancy evening menu at a reasonable price. Not many covers so booking is advisable.

Marazion is a great place, Ben's Kitchen has made it even greater!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigwaverider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm, intimate and entirely satisfactory”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ate here with 4 others on Nov 27th. We'd never been before, but decided it was time to check it out. White painted granite walls, low ceiling, quiet music and discrete lighting make for a comfortable space, probably large enough for 25+ covers at a push. This makes it ideal in the Winter months when fewer diners mean you can feel as though you're rattling round sometimes, but it probably means turning the tables in the Summer given its location. Tables well spaced and cushions thoughtfully provided for extra comfort. We all ordered differend dishes, as we're all in the buisness and wanted to really see the range of what was on offer. Although local, we're not of the pile it high & sell it cheap taste, and more of the eat delicately through several courses types. This menu suited us all very well. Bread and oil/balsamic brought first. Dishes quite continental in their construction, never overfacing & beautifully executed. I had crab and languistine dumplings to start, definately one to repeat, and fillet of beef to follow - this was a little more done than the medium/rare I asked for, but it must be fiendishly difficult to time as it's roasted, and was not too dry, followed by Stollen bread & butter pud. For me this was a meal made in heaven. The others had variously the pigeon and John Dory to begin and the Turbot Venison and Sea bass mains and the cake and the curry for desert. Everyone happily drinking as they went from SA Pinotage and Aus Chardonnay. If I had to make a suggestion, it might be to consider an additional offer of salads/vegetables as they were very minimal on the plate,[great for a low carb diet] and there was no suggestion of any other drinks than the wine list we were presented with although there were plenty of different wines by the glass. Total cost inc 2 bottles of wine £220 exc tip

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kehribar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Two duds then a winner”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had looked at the menu in the window but had decided we only wanted a light lunch rather than the full menu so moved on. However, having failed to get a crab sandwich in two other Marazion establishments we went back to this restaurant and told our story. Oh boy! Was that the right decision! Chef very kindly offered crab rolls (not on the menu). We also chose to have the pumpkin soup with goats cheese beignets. The soup was superb with micro leaf garnish and tasty beignets, but the best was still to come! The nicest crab rolls (2 each) we have had for a long time and extremely good value at £12 per head, including the soup! The garnish with the rolls was so fresh and we think included tarragon micro leaves which we loved.

The waitress was very pleasant, the wine superb, the decor pleasing. All it needed and deserved were more customers but it was late November and the weather not brilliant. Can't speak highly enough of this place. We will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a lesson I learned!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having had a one to one cookery lesson with Ben, I was pleased that he allowed me to return with my wife to eat what I had prepared! Ben made sure that it reached his exceptional standard (probably by chucking mine away) and that means that it is as good as it gets. We returned another evening to enjoy the full menu and had Ben's choice of wine with each course. Everything was sublime. How he and Toby produce 60 perfect dishes during a service from such a small kitchen beggars belief.
Every course was of the highest order and I also recommend the cookery lesson. Ben has as much patience as he has skill.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Cornish Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Ben's Cornish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing